We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GR Caribe by Solaris
Ranked #24 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Manasquan, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This was my husband's and I second trip back to this hotel! Our trip was September 8-15th and it was awesome! We have nothing but great things to say about the Gr Caribe by Solaris....it's clean, quiet, comfortable, beautiful, staff is super friendly and very accommodating and the food is superb! We loved it so much, we became members and can't wait to take advantage of returning as members!

If you are a couple looking for a great experience at an All-inclusive resort, this is the place to go. As guests of this hotel, you also have the privileges of taking advantage of using their other two hotels - one of which is attached by a walkway away and the other is three hotels down. This hotel, the GR Caribe is mostly couples, but there are the occasional family with children and if you want to enjoy a more robust, party atmosphere, you can always venture down the walkway to the other hotel where the music is abounding and the kids are plenty!

A MUST experience!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,394
    916
    292
    170
    128
See reviews for
910
940
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

My wife and I vacationed at GR Caribe the last week of August 2012 to celebrate our wedding anniversary on August 25th. As first-timers to Cancun, we'd received mixed reviews about the city. Now after having the chance to experience Cancun via GR Caribe, we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

GR Caribe was the perfect size for us (not too big, not too small). Our room was spacious and very clean, and the overall property is beautiful (with the exception of the miniature golf course which is badly in need of an upgrade or a complete overhaul).

Excellent customer service throughout our stay really helped to enhance our experience. In particular, the staff at Bogavante treated us superbly! Though there were a number of other dining options available, we found ourselves frequenting Bogavante. The servers were very responsive, courteous and friendly. Special shout-out to Miguel, Gilberto (Joe) and Armando, as they were awesome!

Looking forward to returning to Cancun soon, and again taking advantage of all that GR Caribe has to offer!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPeezy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst,MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I have been members of the resort since 1999 and had been longing to return for several years. We decided to go for our 24th wedding anniversary and bring a couple we have known for 40 years. We had an amazing vacation, so many new changes and we were treated to the best service I have ever experienced at a resort. We travel a lot and have 4 timeshares but none compare to the Solaris hotels. We chose GR Caribe because it was recently renovated and we always preferred the quieter, more intimate feel there but with the proximity to the main hotel Royal Solaris, the dining options and available entertainment are very accessible. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts at the Solaris Cafe and Joe, Jesus, and Jose greeted us everyday with a warm welcome, like we were family. After an early morning walk on the lovely, clean beach we would settle ourselves on comfy lounge chairs or beds around the pool and Abigail and Roberto would make sure we never were thirsty and learned our names on the first day so again, there was that feeling of being at home. Our favorite place for lunch was Bogavante, a special place high above the beach, with open air and views of the gorgeous turquoise waters below. Carlos Garcia was the most attentive waiter, and he was also our server for our anniversary dinner. He brought out 2 bottles of champagne and a special cake to help us celebrate. We also enjoyed our wine paring dinner at Veneto and also dinner at Marco Polo. All-inclusive is the best and the GR Caribe will not disappoint you. As members, we do receive extra special attention and they go out of their way to provide the best possible service in every way. Nonmember guests also receive excellent service as they truly feel service is their priority. As tipping is not encouraged, it is amazing to receive such incredible service without that expectation. Our excursion to Isla Mujueres was a wonderful day, all transportion, with ferry and all inclusive day at Dolphin Discovery included was relaxing and very interesting and we had time to snorkel and shop on the island before leaving. Our chamber maids thoroughly cleaned our rooms each day and returned in the evening to put out chocolate and decorate our beds with different linen designs each evening. Leticia and Judith were the best! After deciding to upgrade our membership we were given 2 massages and opted to have them outside under the massage palapa. Carmen is a gifted massage therapist and I was totally relaxed listening to the waves and birds while she performed her magic. George was assigned to us from member services and he made our stay very special and was instrumental in facilitating our decision to upgrade our membership. No pressure, just outstanding offers that would be foolish to turn down. I have to mention our encounters with the sea turtles and their babies which was a new and very special experience for us. Each turtle lays their eggs about 3 times from May to October and on the strip of beach where the Solaris Hotels are is a popular spot for them. We witnessed about 10 turtles one night coming up on the sand to lay their eggs and we even saw one laying her eggs and got to catch them and put them in a bucket so they can be protected until they are ready to hatch. A friendly security guard at the hotel named Arturo Marvan taught us a lot about the turtles and was there to protect the mother turtles and allowed us to help him count the eggs and collect them. We also got to see the baby turtles that had been incubating for 70 days and held them before they were released. What a great experience it was to witness this process and the way the hotels in the area are protecting the turtles from predators. So If you are looking for a relaxing vacation with lots of things to do, outstanding, friendly service, incredible views of the ocean, clean beaches and water, delicious food and drinks, delightful rooms and amazing value with everything included for a hassle free vacation you must check out the GR Caribe! Watch out though.......it's addicting!

Room Tip: Rooms on the oceanside on higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelwithfam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

My boyfriend and I got a Groupon for GR Caribe and went down with some friends in August.
The pros far outweigh the cons, and I'd highly recommend staying here.
Pros:
- wonderful location, more secluded and quiet part of Cancun, accessible to the action by bus
- staff was so friendly and helpful, especially Jose Gilberto and Armando
- beach was clean and beautiful and literally steps from our room
- rooms were clean, updated, and well appointed
- use of pool and swim up bar at the sister hotel
- complimentary bottled water

Cons:
- walls were very thin
- food was more focused on gourmet looking presentation and didn't have great taste

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KF505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was my second all inclusive trip to Cancun. We loved the GR Caribe because it was smaller and quiet and clean compared to other inclusives. There was access to a larger resort right next door when you wanted more activity. The staff was very, very friendly and courteous. The room was pretty and the bed was comfy. They did not do the hard sell trying to get us to hear their timeshare spiel (much appreciated).

The food was just okay, but I have not stayed at an all inclusive with really good food ever. I think that is how they control cost so you don't overeat. It was adequate, though, and the frozen drinks were good.

I thought it was a very good value and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a lagoon view to save a few dollars. It was very quiet and had great sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drivetopless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
13.3 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.7 km away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#32 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,232 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#33 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
4.3 km away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
10.4 km away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Caribe by Solaris? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Caribe by Solaris

Property: GR Caribe by Solaris
Address: Blvd.Kukulkan, Km 20.5 Lote 64B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 Family Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,395 - ₹ 28,720
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Caribe by Solaris 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Caribe by Solaris, Deluxe All Inclusive Resort, features a unique and elegant Mediterranean architecture, stylish interiors in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. The property features 200 luxurious guestrooms and suites, most of them with breathtaking ocean or lagoon views. Lobster dinner included (one per adult, per stay, min 4 nights stay), imported drinks and use of all facilities and services of sister resort Royal Solaris Cancun (located next door).This private resort is unique in its kind in all Cancun and the Mexican Caribbean. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your GR Caribe by Solaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Caribe By Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing