We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GR Caribe by Solaris
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 508
US$ 493
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 533
US$ 333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 200
US$ 181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 336
US$ 316
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 320
US$ 223
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 409
US$ 328
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beach Palace(Cancun)
US$ 574
US$ 538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 420
US$ 408
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 174
US$ 154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 163
US$ 123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,415)
Filter reviews
3,415 results
Traveller rating
1,698
1,045
343
187
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,698
1,045
343
187
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarco polobogavante restaurantlas fuentesroyal sidesister resort next doortime shareocean viewlobby barnightly showsentertainment staffbottled watersenor frogsall inclusive resorthot dogsa lot of funhave a good timea la carte restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,689 - 1,694 of 3,415 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed for 4 nights with my girlfriend and we had a great time. The food was excellent and the wait staff was friendly and professional. I looked up and down the beach at the other hotels and none of them had the inviting look of this hotel. The pool was small and quiet without entertainment but the hotel next door was a partner hotel and it had the large pool and the constant activity. The hotel is on the end of the beach nearest the airport. All the bars and crazy evening activity is on the other end away from the airport. If you want the spring break craziness then don't stay here. If you want a romantic place then this is it. One suggestion; explore the hotel because we didn't realize what the hotel had to offer until the last day when we took a look around.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Despite the fact that I ended up traveling here with a sociopath - lol - the charm of the resort and great staff actually overcame that fact and I look forward to going back again. I would highly recommend staying at the GR as opposed to Solaris - unless you are looking for a generic Club Med experience. Also - be aware that guests at the GR can use both facilities but that is not reciprocal and the rooms are far nicer at the GR but far more activity at the Solaris

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilFein14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have been home for almost 3 weeks now and still talking about the great time we had. The service was second to none.The staff was very nice and ready to help you with anything you would need. We met people from all over the world and had a great time with all of them. We made some new freinds at the pool bar (Abigail & Vanilly) and we hope to see them again very soon. Victor,Angel,Carlos,Tony,Filiberto,& Joe even made breakfast, lunch, & dinner fun. Joe made sure we learned a new word every day but i dont remember any of them now (lol). Thanks for a great time everyone. Pat & Candie

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is our fifth trip to Cancun, and first time staying here.

Service was excellent, starting with Chris our lobby bar server, she went above and beyond. Abigail and Vanilly at the pool bar, they are # 1. Shout out to Carlos, Victor at Bogvantes, who made every meal enjoyable. Digeo and his assistant at Veneto were awesome as well.

Food in the buffet was passable, typical buffet food, better to eat at the al a restaurants.

Only real complaint was that there are only blinds on the windows, so you are up every morning at the crack of dawn. Would be nice to have curtains. Beds are firm.

There are very few rooms with balconies.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosscoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Just got back from a week stay and enjoyed it very much. The resort appears much nicer than some of the others in the same vicinity. The rooms are spacious and the architecture is quite nice. There are breezy arched walk ways anywhere you go, however it can be kind of a maze. The pool area is small but very relaxing. A tip for the pool area is tip Vanilly 5-10 US dollars the first day and you will not be without a cocktail the entire time you are in the pool area. Also Luis in the Lobby Bar is a doll & very funny. Chris the gal who serves the courtyard outside the lobby is very sweet and I even witnessed her join a group of people she had befriended out on the Cancun scene after her shift. Joe one of the breakfast servers is also someone to get to know. The beach of the resort is fantastic! The food is quite good, Veneto is by far the best of the restaurants, top notch service, and fabulous food. The restaurant by the bar is good for lunch, we did supper one night there and was not as impressed as during the day. Marco Polo next door at the Royal Solaris is good as well, but still does not hold a candle to Veneto. We had no problems getting a table anywhere we went, did not require a reservation at all. The snack bar by the pool isn't bad, the pizza however is akin to Chucky Cheese, so I suggest skipping over it, the pork ribs are pretty good however. The shower in the room was my favorite feature of the room and is a nice size for two. The air conditioning could use and upgrade, as well as the card swipers on the door to get in sometimes they work sometimes it takes awhile. The humidity is very present and even your clean clothes will be damp by the time you leave. Front desk was helpful and nice with all requests and questions. All in all it is a great value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank triviapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews