We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fantastic time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
GR Caribe by Solaris
Ranked #25 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a fantastic time”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have been home for almost 3 weeks now and still talking about the great time we had. The service was second to none.The staff was very nice and ready to help you with anything you would need. We met people from all over the world and had a great time with all of them. We made some new freinds at the pool bar (Abigail & Vanilly) and we hope to see them again very soon. Victor,Angel,Carlos,Tony,Filiberto,& Joe even made breakfast, lunch, & dinner fun. Joe made sure we learned a new word every day but i dont remember any of them now (lol). Thanks for a great time everyone. Pat & Candie

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    984
    319
    178
    134
See reviews for
1,025
1,032
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nova scotia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is our fifth trip to Cancun, and first time staying here.

Service was excellent, starting with Chris our lobby bar server, she went above and beyond. Abigail and Vanilly at the pool bar, they are # 1. Shout out to Carlos, Victor at Bogvantes, who made every meal enjoyable. Digeo and his assistant at Veneto were awesome as well.

Food in the buffet was passable, typical buffet food, better to eat at the al a restaurants.

Only real complaint was that there are only blinds on the windows, so you are up every morning at the crack of dawn. Would be nice to have curtains. Beds are firm.

There are very few rooms with balconies.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosscoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Just got back from a week stay and enjoyed it very much. The resort appears much nicer than some of the others in the same vicinity. The rooms are spacious and the architecture is quite nice. There are breezy arched walk ways anywhere you go, however it can be kind of a maze. The pool area is small but very relaxing. A tip for the pool area is tip Vanilly 5-10 US dollars the first day and you will not be without a cocktail the entire time you are in the pool area. Also Luis in the Lobby Bar is a doll & very funny. Chris the gal who serves the courtyard outside the lobby is very sweet and I even witnessed her join a group of people she had befriended out on the Cancun scene after her shift. Joe one of the breakfast servers is also someone to get to know. The beach of the resort is fantastic! The food is quite good, Veneto is by far the best of the restaurants, top notch service, and fabulous food. The restaurant by the bar is good for lunch, we did supper one night there and was not as impressed as during the day. Marco Polo next door at the Royal Solaris is good as well, but still does not hold a candle to Veneto. We had no problems getting a table anywhere we went, did not require a reservation at all. The snack bar by the pool isn't bad, the pizza however is akin to Chucky Cheese, so I suggest skipping over it, the pork ribs are pretty good however. The shower in the room was my favorite feature of the room and is a nice size for two. The air conditioning could use and upgrade, as well as the card swipers on the door to get in sometimes they work sometimes it takes awhile. The humidity is very present and even your clean clothes will be damp by the time you leave. Front desk was helpful and nice with all requests and questions. All in all it is a great value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank triviapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our 9th trip to Cancun, and this resorts ranking are right on line, we have stayed at a different resort each time. Three other resorts we stayed at were better, and the others we lower, so the rankings by Tripadvisor are correct.
First the positives,
1. Staff is very friendly 2, Bed was confortable 3. Rooms nice and clean 4. Being able to use the Royal Solaris was a positive, we actually used it more than this resort (print out boarding pass, gym area, computers, etc) 5. Food was pretty good overall 6. Not stingy on the alcohol, and will honor any special request for better brands
Secondly, the negatives,
1. Very limited tv channels 2. Went two days without a straw for the frozen mixed drinks 3. Pool area had towels on it fully by 6:30 am for two consecutive days, not enough chairs at pool area for the guest here, had to to to Royal Solaris for a pool chair 4. No liquid soap in bath area, had to go buy some 5. No room has a good ocean view here unless you stand and look out the window 6. No restroom at the pool area, but Royal Solaris had one 7. Music at pool area was like being at a funeral home , terrible 8. Lobster dinner was steamed and had no taste or seasoning to it, it was actually tough to eat 9. Had to ask for a second towel to cover the pool chair entirely and the manager said they only give out one per guest, like this was a difficult request, I said just put down that we have two towels each and we can return 4 cards, not too difficult of a request, never been an issue at most other resorts we stayed at
Even though the negative list is longer than the positive, this resort was pretty good overall, just a few little things that they need to improve on for us to stay here again. It was a good deal for what we had to pay to stay, so I would give it a 6 on a 1-10 scale. The workers at the pool area and restaurants make this resort special, 'A' ranking for them, great job to everyone there, great job by hotel management here on employee training
I would also like to note that if you see a red flag on the beach, do not enter the ocean water, the lifeguard had to pull out 4 people one day who didn't know any better, so be careful of the flag posting on the beach area and be safe.
At this location, you will need to ride a bus or cab to go shopping or go to clubs. The bus is only $1 each way, this will save you a lot of money rather than riding a cab.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakley62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chitown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I just got back yesterday after staying at the GR Caribe from March 20th to the 26th. The staff was accommodating, pleasant and funny, even when you had a bit too much to drink (which happens often because the bar in the lobby is open 24 hours). The pool was small but fitting for the size of the hotel and the beach was large and clean with enough chairs. The food was very good (especially the seafood) and the presentation was creative. Unless you are pressed for time, I would recommend avoiding the buffet altogether and eating at Bogavante or Venuto as they offer a more elegant experience and reservations aren't required. The bar offered Dos Equis beer and call liquors like Bacardi, Malibu, Absolut, Jack Daniels and 1800 Tequilla, although you have to request them or you will be getting hammered off of Skol vodka. The rooms are nearly brand new as is the hotel and everything has a modern, pseudo-Miami/Mediterranean flare to it (see traveler photos). The cleaning staff was friendly and prompt and provided plenty of towels, often arranging them in cute shapes like hearts and kissing swans. On the whole, I really liked the hotel's upscale yet quaint and cool vibe and I'd give the GR Caribe a 95 out of 100.

In addition to having a great time at the hotel, I also met some interesting people, including families with kids, young couples, spring breakers and swingers. The swingers, even more so than the spring breakers, were the most colorful guests and represented between 5 and 10 percent of the hotel's clientele. I have no problem with swinging and they actually made my trip more memorable because of their "Lifestyle." So in closing, if your values and idea of a good time include swinging, wife-swapping, hot-wifing, key parties, group sex, orgies, and cuckoldry, this is definitely your place. Remember to bring condoms and Viva la Cancun.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Barbosa_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
12.6 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#38 of 175 in Cancun
689 reviews
21.0 km away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.7 km away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#33 of 175 in Cancun
4,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#41 of 175 in Cancun
4,606 reviews
10.6 km away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,436 reviews
10.6 km away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#76 of 175 in Cancun
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Caribe by Solaris? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Caribe by Solaris

Property: GR Caribe by Solaris
Address: Blvd.Kukulkan, Km 20.5 Lote 64B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#24 Family Hotel in Cancun
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,170 - ₹ 30,171
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Caribe by Solaris 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Caribe by Solaris, Deluxe All Inclusive Resort, features a unique and elegant Mediterranean architecture, stylish interiors in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. The property features 200 luxurious guestrooms and suites, most of them with breathtaking ocean or lagoon views. Imported drinks and use of all facilities and services of sister resort Royal Solaris Cancun (located next door).This private resort is unique in its kind in all Cancun and the Mexican Caribbean. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your GR Caribe by Solaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Caribe By Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing