We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hacienda de Castilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Ranked #103 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
California
Level Contributor
286 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We used this hotel as an over nighter to be able to start our vacation to Isla Mujeres the next day.
The reviews were pretty much on target. The hotel is clean. The AC only works one setting in most rooms so if you are staying more than a night I would get the AC that is adjustable. A small bottle of water is provided and there is a large bottle of water at the reception. The towels were amazingly good. We were tired from flying and did not take the advice of other reviews that suggested NOT to eat there. They were correct. The food was terrible. Even the chips were stale. The food was luke warm and spicy enough to cause a nose bleed and I like spicy. I ate two bites. The beer was cold and cheap and good. The downsize is that you cannot walk to this hotel from the bus station. Next time we will pay a little more money and stay closer to the bus station.

Room Tip: Ask for room that has adjustable AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank painnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    76
    43
    17
    18
See reviews for
45
79
23
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My travel buddy and myself stayed at Hotel Hacienda de Castilla the night of the 13th since we flew into Cancun so late, and again on the 21st since our flight was leaving so early. This is a great overnight hotel with safe gated parking. It is very clean, the beds are firm yet soft, and I like the decor. The pillows can be hard if you're used to something softer, and the wall unit AC can be quite loud. I recommend bringing a travel pillow and some earplugs for a better night sleep. Also, take a shower at a non-peak time of the day and you'll get hotter water. If you shower when everyone else on you're floor is showering, the water only gets warm - but who cares because Mexico is hot :-) The continental breakfast is fruit and toast, coffee and juice.

We drove from the airport in the dark and spent more than an hour searching for the hotel. We finally gave up and stopped at a gas station, where the attendants found a guy who spoke enough english. He called the hotel and found out it was about four blocks away, and then drove us there (he drove, we followed in our car).

Don't use Google Maps to get to this hotel because Cancun is missing a lot of street signs. Here are better directions:
1. Take Carratera Federal Mexico 307 towards Cancun
2. 307 Will become Tulum Ave.
3. At the first round-a-bout (traffic circle) take the first exit right for Bonampak Ave.
4. Stay on Bonampak until you go under an overpass and you will see a Pemex gas station on the corner on your left.
5. Take a u-turn at the first RETURNO, then take a right at the Pemex gas station onto Lopez Portillo.
6. Take a left at the first RETURNO onto Calle 15.
7. Take a left at the second intersection onto Calle 6 and the very next left onto Calle 7 where the hotel is.

All of the staff speak enough English, and they don't mind if you practice your Spanish on them. The morning staff is much friendlier than the evening staff, but no one is rude at all. There is WIFI which is great! We very much enjoyed our stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sngglebnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Edith (Edie) and Armondo took extra effort to make sure I enjoyed my stay. I was treated like family and left Cancun feeling that I had made special friends friends with them and also with several of their diverse clients. Amrondo even insisted on taking me to the airport and "no way could I pay for his gas" as we were friends. I was a definite virtue culturally not to be part of the "Hotel Zone" .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank doylechappell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Small clean budget hotel, great value, short taxi ride from the bus station. We used it for our first night in Mexico and were pleasantly surprised. Good sized room, good bed, a/c, toiletries, water and fruit provided in the price. There is a small pool and restaurant. We didn't have breakfast but we did have dinner when we arrived as I don't think there is anywhere near the area. We were the only customers but the meal was cooked to order and quite OK.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dianagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herlev, Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hotel itself is actually ok - their "restaurant" is a total disaster, breakfast is ok though...

The hotel has almost no english speaking staff which makes it even worse when (as we) one gets stuff stolen by the staff...

The Hotel has no deposit boxes, and therefore everything you bring is at your own risk, and is not ensured... We always take all aour values with us on a backpack - we always have, and have never gotten stolen from before - not even in India... Here - the first time we ever left our room without out backpack was on departure day, we were gone for less than one hour... in that time the room had been Cleaned, or actually only a small part of it, including a part of my belongings, such as Iphone, headsets, pocketnife etc..

Left the hotel with a promise from the manager, who is a Texan lady that they would do what they could.. From then on, it was not possible to contact manager - she is not in hotel or just not available - front desk tells in their mex english..

i am still trying to contact manager or some day hopefully the owner of the hotel...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpuntareal, Gerente at Hotel Hacienda de Castilla, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Mr. and Mrs. Kobenhavn, 3 Febuaray 2012

Although we are a small hotel chain, located in the heart of downtown Cancun, we ALWAYS strive to make our guests feel safe, secure, and at home.
We understand that language can be a barrier when visiting any foreign country, however, we can assure you that our hotel reception clerks do qualify language standards at approximately a level of 70%. Our General Manager, Lic. Armando Flores, speaks English at a 90% level, and our Quality Assurance Director, Edith Baez, is fully bilingual.
In reception during checkout you did in fact comment to Ms. Edith that you could not find your i phone. Shae asked you if you had gone out during the morning and you answered YES. Ms. Edith asked if there was any possibility that you could have left it elsewhere, and you answered that you were not sure.
Following hotel policy, Ms. Edith asked you to allow us a few minutes in order to check your hotel room and interview housekeeping. You said it was not possible due to the fact that you were in a hurry. Ms. Edith then asked you for contact information and you stated that you would be staying at the Bellvue in Hotel Zone Cancun.
We interviewed all staff and reviewed all security videos and found no probable cause to believe that there was a theft occurrence within our property. Ms. Edith attempted contact with you at the Bellvue but was unable to find you in your room and left a message at reception for you.
We are not an “AAT YOUR RISK” HOTEL, in fact we do indeed offer a secure locked security box for valuables. It is unfortunate that you were not aware of this information.
It is also unfortunate that you experienced the loss of personal items; however, in the 3 years of our company operation, we have NEVER had this type of security failure involving any accusation of theft by our staff.
We are confident that everyone on our staff is hardworking, honest and dedicated to proving ‘outstanding customer service.

Feel free to contact us in case of any lingering doubts. We are at your service and empathized with your view point.

Hotel Staff and Management
52-998-843-0620
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
1.6 km away
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#106 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#88 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.5 km away
ibis Cancun Centro
ibis Cancun Centro
#80 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
5.9 km away
Los Cuates de Cancun
Los Cuates de Cancun
#148 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda de Castilla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda de Castilla

Property: Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Address: Calle 17 sm. 64 mz. 23 lote 9-14, Cancun 77524, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,435 - ₹ 2,459
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda de Castilla 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Hacienda de Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing