We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Roxana Lungu
Bridgwater, United Kingdom

Don t come here, choose a better one.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jun 2024via mobile
Nice location, nice view.
All the rooms, from what i ve understand make a lot of noise beacuse of the air ventilation. We traied to change ours, but they told us all the rooms are with the same noise( they are awere of that).
The staff it s verry tired, some of them unfriendly. Someone steel my husband s flip flops(50 dolars) and they can t do nothing about that. I m more then sure they have been stoolen beacuse we ware sitting in a more private area and shoes where under the sun bed. No cameras, no nothing. I don t feel safe here from this point of view. Now i have to take my phone with me all the time. Imagine that if they stole a pair of shoes today, tomorrow defitnely they will steel something more expensie. IT S NOT SAFE!
I ve been before in Cancun, i ve stayed at Hard Rock and the food doesn t compare. A lot of the food it s tasteless and not the best quality. I don t understand why they don t serve drinks at the poll. You need to go and take yours.
I m verry disspointed about the trip.
Luckly the hotel it s recent renovated but they should improve the services, A LOT!
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Online Reputation Director, Owner at Hotel Riu Caribe, responded to this review
Responded 19 Jun 2024
Dear roxanal831,

We appreciate you took the time to leave your impressions regarding your recent stay with us. In our pursuit of excellence, it certainly saddens us to learn about this. Please allow us remark the information provided does not clarify with whom your hotel reservation was made. If it was made through the Riu website and you wish to place a formal complaint, you can do it at: complaints@riu.com

Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for any discomfort. This is not the level of experience that we seek to provide our guests.

Your review will be passed on to the management department.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Hotel Riu Caribe
Online Reputation Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₹13,395
Fully refundable
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹24,255
  • Agoda.com
    ₹12,438
  • Expedia.com
    ₹15,209
3.6 km from Hotel Riu Caribe
Free parking
Pool
₹38,865
₹35,918
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Expedia.com
    ₹35,912
  • Booking.com
    ₹36,284
  • Hotels.com
    ₹35,915
3.3 km from Hotel Riu Caribe
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹13,454
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹17,170
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹11,926
  • Hotels.com
    ₹17,172
3.3 km from Hotel Riu Caribe
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹46,710
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₹46,714
  • StayForLong
    ₹45,630
  • Hotels.com
    ₹46,714
7.9 km from Hotel Riu Caribe
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹53,055
₹43,327
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Hotels.com
    ₹43,670
  • Booking.com
    ₹53,055
  • eDreams
3.5 km from Hotel Riu Caribe
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹29,880
No prepayment needed
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹31,667
  • Wyndham
    ₹29,513
  • Vio.com
    ₹29,880
3.2 km from Hotel Riu Caribe
Free parking
Beachfront
₹46,846
  • Skyscanner.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹46,190
  • Official website
    ₹46,407
18.0 km from Hotel Riu Caribe
Free parking
Pool
₹29,887
  • Hilton
    ₹29,886
  • Expedia.com
    ₹30,105
  • Tripadvisor
    ₹30,105
22.0 km from Hotel Riu Caribe
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cancun
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
299
83
20
15
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
299
83
20
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sports bar maria margarita pizza bar the mexican restaurant quiet pool every night entertainment staff coco bongo main buffet fantastic holiday specialty restaurants make reservations ocean view junior suite buffet style isla mujeres senor frogs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2024

Spent an amazing week at the Riu Caribe in Cancun. Extremely friendly staff and always happy to help. Beautiful and well-maintained grounds. We had an ocean view room and the view was stunning. Rooms were always cleaned daily And fridges were stocked up daily. Food at the buffet as well as the al la carte restaurants were great. Didn’t have to make reservations, just walk in and if they were busy, the wait was no more than 10 to 15 minutes. Arranged a romantic dinner on the beach for a birthday, which was exceptional. Thanks to all the wonderful staff, especially Mayra!! The only downfall (and not a deterrent) is that the staff in the lobby were understaffed, had to wait a while before anyone was able to serve you tea/coffee/drinks/water or even clear the tables. Lots of daily activity and pools were kept clean. The beach was gorgeous and didn’t have to wake up at six in the morning to reserve your seats at the beach or at the pools. Had the best massage on the beach!
Would definitely recommend this resort!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nomad25844736835
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2024

Went to the Riu Caribe in Feb 2024 & had an amazing experience! Hotel & staff were beyond expectation. Riu party zone was really good, food was lovely. Room was great, with an amazing view of the beach & sea. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room tip: Have fun 😅
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jom799
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2024

This hotel refitted is a gem
Good first ,class,rooms 5star,beach to die for,staff so professional other hotels should learn from,this.
Anti,social behaviour,delt,with properly.
The 24 hour bar does have issues with children ,ordering drinks,and although MEXICO will not allow,vapes,into country,vaping happens in this bar.Stricter rules need to be applied ,as smoking is not allowed when gaping is.

Room tip: Take tablets,for tv as no English channels
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K8878NIdavidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2024

I have to start off by stating how bewildered I am at a few of the other reviews below - I have no idea what hotel they were staying at, but it certainly wasn’t the one we stayed at that’s for sure!

A newly refurbished hotel and done to a high level. Once we arrived with TUI from Glasgow, (resort transfer only took about 30 minutes and we were the last drop off), we were seen almost instantly and welcomed by Valeria at Reception who was fantastic. Went through everything with us in detail and were also handed a welcome cocktail whilst checking in. She spoke every day we walked past thereafter and just showed excellent customer service skills.

The lobby was beautiful with a lovely central bar although no air con, so could be rather cosy in there at times. You have the fully air con Sports Bar just off the lobby and was always a welcomed relief going in there when you got too hot. Pool tables were 8 x 5 peso coins to use. Refrigerated snack food to heat up if you wanted like hot dogs, sandwiches and nachos.

We were in Room 937 which was the top floor and couldn’t have asked for a better room. Just wow. The view was absolutely incredible as we were right in the middle looking over the beach and sea with nothing blocking the view. The room itself was immaculate and massive. The toilet was in a separate part to the main bathroom which took a bit to get used to as the sink to wash your hands is in the bathroom. Double sinks. Massive shower with great water pressure. Someone mentioned the hairdryer not being strong enough but I thought it was so don’t worry if you forget to take one. Full sized ironing board and iron in the room with a safe. Huge Super King Sized bed but only 2 small pillows so we had to ask for more full sized pillows to be handed in. Massive Samsung TV with a mix of US channels and Mexican. Warner, MTV, HBO, ABC etc. Nice sitting area and free mini bar and optics that are meant to be refilled every 2 days but we only had it done once because the guy kept coming at 8.30am/8.40am which isn’t ideal when you’re on holiday and want a long lie, not getting someone chapping at your door that early and trying to come in, so I would say that was a slight negative we experienced and one the hotel should maybe look into - that’s far too early for doing that. The balcony was perfect and large again with a table and 2 chairs. We looked over the main bar pool and we never experienced any noise that bothered us in the room due to the excellent sound proofing on the balcony doors. Wasn’t an issue whatsoever and I have sensory issues when it comes to noise so I can sometimes struggle but certainly not here.

There were 3 pools all spotlessly clean along with the loungers around the pool. They always had something going on whether it be volleyball, music games or aerobics. I definitely agree though with people saying it’s not a family hotel - unless you have a really wee one baby age, I’d definitely avoid it (and probably Cancun as a whole as it’s certainly not marketed towards families in my opinion and it’s a helluva plane journey to go to somewhere where there’s not much for kids).

The beach was also immaculate, beautiful with lots of loungers available. Sea was gorgeous too.

The food was excellent and by far the nicest and biggest selection of an all inclusive I’ve been too. I’m not a massive all inclusive fan but I found the food to be varied, good quality and plentiful. Always putting fresh dishes out even if they weren’t empty and never once had to queue for the toasting machine haha! The Steakhouse was amazing - can’t believe people moaned about that either - very good quality of meat used and delicious. The Asian restaurant is actually a buffet and it was ok, not a massive selection but was still tasty enough. We never tried the other two.

We also went for massages at the Spa which were very relaxing but could be seen as expensive depending on how much similar would be at home - I was £90 for a 50 minute “Relaxing Massage”.

The staff were all very friendly, attentive and couldn’t do enough for everyone. Everywhere you look there was staff cleaning. It was immaculate through the whole hotel.

The Rui Parties were out of this world - obviously won’t be everyone’s cup of tea but they were all fantastic. Pink Party, Neon Party, Jungle Party and White Party were all amazing. So much fun, although they did tend to play the same music at every one instead of mixing it up a bit. The Dancers were brilliant and they must have been boiling/exhausted in that heat. Even though other guests can come in from other hotels too, they only come through one entrance so it’s not as if you have scores of strangers running amok through the hotel like some have suggested in their reviews. There is a shot bar that’s obviously free and plenty of photo opportunities with someone doing free face painting etc too. Also Hookahs at £60 with 4 different flavours to choose from.

This has nothing to do with the hotel, but be warned, it’s SO EXPENSIVE for literally everything other than the wee bus outside the hotel. A bag of Doritos out of the shop outside the hotel (not even the one inside the hotel which was even more expensive) cost £11 for the bag. ELEVEN POUNDS. Souvenirs, literally everything, everywhere was ridiculously priced. Avoid taxis but if you want one like we did back from Coco Bongos, don’t pay anymore than 400 Pesos (and hopefully you manage to get that even cheaper but we couldn’t budge them from 400 the twice we used them). Take the wee red bus/Cancun bus down to Coco Bongos/Hooters/Senior Frogs as it’s only 12 Pesos/$1 USD and say where you’re going and they’ll shout when they’re there. You can also get the bus down to La Isla which is where Ripleys Believe it or Not is and shops (NOT outlets!) like Zara, Nike, H&M, but again it’s unbelievably expensive. Literally double the price for the same item as back home. Good to visit to break your afternoon up but that’s it.

To sum up, if you’re looking for a nice, clean, newly refurbished hotel in Cancun, not far from Coco Bongos (10 mins on the bus) with a party atmosphere, look no further. If you’d prefer something quiet to totally chill out, it’s maybe not going to be for you, although that is still possible here too if you find the right spot. Some guests however, need to remember their manners, not think they are better than the people working tirelessly around them trying to make their holiday better and show some respect. One nation worse than all the others, as per usual. You could always tell who was from the UK due to having manners, knowing to hold a door open for people and knowing what a queue is and how it works. Sadly, another nation find it completely impossible to understand any of this and believe that it’s their divine right to be louder than everyone else, jump queues, stack their plates full of food then leave nearly all of it and then let doors close on people’s faces as it’s beneath them to be nice and polite to others. It was getting ridiculous by the time we left. Other than that, which isn’t the hotels fault, we had a fantastic holiday and would absolutely go back again one day. Thanks to all the staff at the Caribe!!

Room tip: Room 937 for a wonderful view, massive room and Super King Sized bed
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MhairiRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2024

NEVER a RIU AGAIN! they will find any reason to charge extra! ruined our vacation. Beds are extremely small its like a twin xl to fit 2 people, really?, and uncomfortable, not a family hotel, only ONE square pool, the others are for adults only, the entertainment team is a joke, food are ok, just one buffet and specialty restaurants are horrible and slow service, poor customer service front desk, kids club small, wanted to leave the hotel from day 1! my family kept repeating: this is the most boring hotel ever!!! it's just party spot for adults/college students, alcohol, cigarettes everywhere... value/price not worth it

Room tip: BORING for families, basic and bad quality entertainment, We love traveling but sadly this was very THE worst vacation ever!
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarayinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Online Reputation Director, Owner at Hotel Riu Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2024

Dear sarayinl,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback on your stay at our property.

In our pursuit of excellence, it certainly saddens us to learn that you were left disappointed with some aspects of your experience.

We have 5 swimming-pools, 3 exterior, 1 for children and 1 for the Riu Party.

It is saddening to know that despite the knowledge of the emergency situation with the environment, there are guests who choose to throw away reusable cups, cigarette butts and waste on the beautiful beaches, which locals work so hard to maintain clean.

Even though it is a public beach, whose cleaning is done by the local authorities, our management allocates staff when occupancy allows in order to help with the cleaning as much as we can.

We regret to learn you left thinking otherwise and could not find anything of your liking.

Your review will be passed on to the departments in charge.

Best Regards,

Hotel Riu Caribe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews