We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I Lived at the Riu!!”
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
Ranked #46 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wish I Lived at the Riu!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is the best place to stay! Clean spacious rooms, beautiful well-kept property. The staff are so helpful and accomodating. You never had to worry about a thing while staying here. The food was amazing...anything you could ever want to eat and good quality too. Beautiful beach, awesome swimming pool, very clean and well maintained. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

7,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,515
    2,442
    859
    360
    285
See reviews for
1,711
2,912
79
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was our 2nd trip to the Riu Caribe and once again we were not disappointed. This time was for our wedding. Prior to the trip we had numerous email communications with our wedding planner, Jose. He was phenomenal. When we got there we had a note from him with a scheduled time to meet and finalize all the wedding plans. We received an upgraded suite as promised and it was amazing. When we met with him we went over every detail from start to finish and when it came to the wedding, everything was perfect as ordered. The only "glitch" was that the steakhouse had been booked for the night of our wedding. So he booked us in the Mexican restaurant which was excellent and to make up for it, he also reserved the steakhouse for the following night for my whole group. All 26 of us. He received 52 big thumbs up from us for that.

As for the resort and remainder of the week....perfect!!! As I said, we had 26 people there and with that many people you might expect even a minor complaint or issue from someone. We didn't have a single one. Everyone had a great time and loved every minute of their stay.

This is our 3rd time staying with Riu and every time they impress. No matter where we decide to go every year, we will continue to make sure there is a Riu for us to stay. And there is no doubt whatsoever that we will be back to the Riu Caribe again for a 3rd time and probably more.

I could ramble on an on about this resort but it just may get redundant after a while. We love it and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dcrabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We went April 13-20. Staff was amazing and rooms where kept clean. The food was amazing ALOT to pick from. The only thing i wish was there was more to do at night at the resort. But other then that it was Great :)

Room Tip: Floor 6 View of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loveseidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This Is my Second Time at the Riu Caribe And This Time was even Better then last Year!!! The Food Has gotten Better the Rooms Have Been Renovated The New Bathroom is AWESOME!!! The services is Always Great and Willing to help This was a great stay for me and my 8 Friends!!! I would Also like to Check out the New BEAUTIFUL Riu Next Door I think it is called The RIU PALACE PENINSULA it looks pretty AMAZING! You also MUST MUST try the massage It was To die for You can talk them Down.. I had a 50min massage near the Beach for about $60 and It was one Of the Best massage I have ever Gotten!!!
feel free to ask me Any questions I just came Back 4/23/12

Room Tip: I would suggest that You indeed try and get a ocean View Suite.. We had a Junior Suite Which was Awe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nia271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We just got back, went from April 16-23. Betty at the front desk was awesome. The hotel was great, rooms were very clean and bright, The food at the Main dining room was always good. so much selection and variety. Best salad bar Ive seen for Mexico, Eva and Josue were amazing, always attending to our needs. The lobby was a great meeting place with good entertainment some nights, free wifi in the lobby but also in the lobby on each floor, none in the rooms. Pizzaria off of the beach was very good, freshly made, great with ice cold beer/lime. never made it to the night shows.. to tired at the end of the day!. Lots of beach activities, volleyball, tug of war, darts, horseshoes, the entertainment staff on the beach and at the pool were also very goodlots of chairs, water was warm clear. Benjamin , the beach waiter was amazing, he was all over the beach with loads of ice cold drinks, he always remembered what we ordered and kept em coming... he must put on miles and miles everyday in that heat and sand always had a smile and very friendly attitude. in the lobby at night Fransisco our waiter-- same thing-amazing. Rubi always had towel animals and surprises in our room and it was cleaned spotless each and everyday. as you can tell we have nothing but praise for the staff that we had at this resort. You always worry about the reviews that you read. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel/resort to anyone. Your holiday is what you make it.. but the staff we had went up and above what was expected to make our stay a great one -- and we are not high maintenance people--one note though.. if your gonna use the hairdryer on high in the room... shut off the air-- or the breaker "may" need to be reset. one call to the front desk and we never had to wait more then 5 minutes for them to reset it...so that being our only negative. The hotel, the staff, the food, the entertainment, the beach end we sat at, all very good. One more note I read about the deep fried ice-cream in the asain al a carte-- so we tried it.. and although it is not something I would order again it was very good niot what I expected at all..... Thanks Riu for the great Holiday.....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.4 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 175 in Cancun
668 reviews
10.6 km away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.8 km away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#31 of 175 in Cancun
9,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,137 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
1.2 km away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#77 of 175 in Cancun
2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Property: Hotel Riu Caribe
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#36 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,407 - ₹ 39,771
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-Story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 Km. /1.9 Miles from a shopping center. 4,5 Km/2.5 Miles from downtown Cancun. 21 Km/13.1 Miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing