We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Quaint, annd Inexpensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #53 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean, Quaint, annd Inexpensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

I like to rate my vacations in three categories, “good”, “better”, and “best”. My week at The Golden Parnassus is classified as somewhere between good and better.
The hotel is small and a bit older than most on the strip, so therefore it lacks some of the ambiance and bells and whistles of its neighbors. However, there are many good things to report. First and foremost, the beach was both gorgeous and spacious...never a problem finding a beach chair. The specialty breakfast and lunch stations were quite enjoyable. I especially enjoyed the fresh fruit drinks, French toast, and oriental stations. Dinners were much more of a crapshoot. The best restaurant was Shangri-La, but there were days when wearing long pants were just not an option. The hotel’s location was very convenient to shopping malls, restaurants, and shops.
The accommodations were nothing to write home about, the hotel has that Jersey shore feel about it, but I didn’t go to Cancun to sit in my room. I was looking for a beach respite on the cheap, and found exactly what the doctor ordered.
Some helpful hints…
• The mini bar is not included
• Bring a reusable water bottle to refill at the many water bubblers throughout out the hotel. If not you will need to buy bottled water at the gift shop or at a nearby convenience store.
• Create a log-in at the internet table for future use
• Check out the spa facilities, nice gym, locker room, and hot tub
All and all, the Golden Parnassus is what it is…a relaxing beach hotel on the strip…clean, quaint, and inexpensive.

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank rickcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,526
    1,911
    815
    351
    249
See reviews for
467
3,190
89
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

A friend and I stayed at the GP from 1st-15th May 2011, having booked through Thomas Cook, our first trip to Mexico. We studied the on-line brochure and Trip Advisor reviews with interest before travelling and thought we'd be in for a great holiday and we weren't disappointed. The hotel entrance is very imposing, but remains welcoming. We were greated with a cold and most welcome cocktail, 'bracleted up' (couldn't wait to get rid of it by the end of two weeks!) and allocated our room key, safe key and pool towel cards. Our room (301) was away from the main reception - a good thing as quiet, overlooking the lagoon. Being at that end of the building hpwever meant that we overlooked the aircon shed, which was noisy with the window open, but better than late night drunken laughter and door banging in my view. Rooms are air conditioned, well equipped with hair drier, flat screen tv and cable tv. Point for visitors who like a tea/coffee to wake up to, there are no facilities in the room so take a travel kettle and your own tea bags/coffee. Room service delivers but takes ages and is often cold when it gets to you. Maid service provides clean towels (3 between 2 people?! 2 or 4 maybe more helpful!) and bed linen every day. The only other negative about a room at the end of the corridor is when the wind blows it howls and bangs its way through the door, and blows off the breakfast request menu/privacy door hanger. Room service got slightly 'fed up' with our requests for the breakfast we'd ordered but which had blown away in the night.
Other features - best restaurants in our view were Shangri La and the Old Barn. 'New York' steak is like UK sirloin, and the best I thought. A la Carte in Shangri La was very nice, although the waiters had a tendancy to rush you a bit. Didn't much like pseudo Japanese restaurant Sumo, Pier 12 was ok, and the main breakfast/lunch restaurant as pretty good with lots of choice and great waiter service. The hotel also has a snack bar serving excellent burgers (not cheap or greasy), good steak sandwiches and fresh sandwiches. There's also a waffle/crepe bar serving from 5pm-9pm next to the Beer Garden bar in the foyer.
In addition to the Beer Garden there are two other bars, one by the pool and the beach bar. Both offer waiter service.
The only expense we had was offering tips to the very hard working staff - bar and waiter staff, and maid service. We took lots of low value US dollar bills and Mexican pesos, both are accepted. Little and often seemed to be the key. We had great service and the staff seemed happy with our offerings.
The entertainment was plentiful if that's what you're looking for. They work really hard, but the focus is mainly on the younger guests - volley ball, basket ball, 'adult themed' games (bit of a no-no for us), drinking games (also a no-no, cos we're boring!) etc. Their aim was also to sell tickets for the numerous club nights if that's what you're looking for.
Downsides - use of animals for photos. Everyday the hotel photographers come around with either a monkey, iguanas/lizards or macaws to photgraph with guests for them to buy. I'm not a fan of exploiting animals in this way.
Drunk guests (1 in particular) screaching in most areas of the hotel. Drunk guests performing lewd pseudo-sexual acts in bar areas - not acceptable even in an adults only hotel.
Music too loud around the pool from 11am onwards. Escape to the beach to avoid.
Up-sides - beautiful sea and sand, great sun lounge area on beach, great cocktails (using brand names), best hotel beds and pillows ever!
Handy hint - Take a higher factor suncream than you usually use - factor 10 and you'll be in hosptal! factor 30 at least, and you won't suffer. Never experienced sun intensity like it. 40 degs in Turkey didn't come close to Mexico at 30 degs
Hope you enjoy your holiday as much as we did!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade at check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sapphire2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

What an amazing holiday. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated like royalty. The staff were fabulous , so pleasant and happy to see you at all times.
Every area in the hotel was spottless and cleaning was constantly going on . Rooms cleaned everyday , fresh towels and water left daily also.
All restaurants were great , we ate breakfast and lunch most days at the buffet , although it was self service the waiters were always keen to carry your food to your table and get you whatever drinks you required , they would even go out to the lobby bar ( The Beer Garden ) and get alcoholic drinks too ( and yes some even had them with breakfast!! ) , nothing was ever a problem for these guys.
The other restaurants were great too , I think our favourite was Shangrila , it was like being in a five star restaurant , with food and service to match but not having to worry about what price everything was , the first time we ate in there we were convinced that we would get a big bill at the end , but no , we left our tip and that was that , amazing!
Great steaks in the Old Barn and the Sumo was great too, ( deep fried icecream is a must!! ).
All bars were fab with the most hard working bar staff ever , again nothing was ever a problem for them, we did tip alot as they deserved it ,but I really dont think it would have mattered the service still would have been excellent.
Entertainment staff were great too , so friendly and funny but not too pushy if you chose not to participate. The tequilla volleyball was a real laugh and the water aerobics was a good way to work off a few of those extra alcohol calories. My husband loved the beach volleyball and football although I think he struggled with the heat a bit , we had perfect weather everyday.Evening kareoke, shows all great too.We also went with Angel and Carlos to CoCo Bongos , they really look after you and make sure everyone gets in and get drinks, the show is amazing.Thanks to Carlos , Danny, Angel, Sexy Sara and Lucianna , we had a blast!!
Pool area lovely , always sunbeds available , towels provided too !
Pool and hot tub both really clean , both perfect temperature.
Management always around overseeing everything , they too were very pleasant and always asking how we were and was everything ok.
The lifeguard on the beach was the best , so good at his job but fun too. He brought me beautiful shells from the sea and on our last day gave me this gorgeous huge shell , he was so kind.
We met such a variety of people from all walks of life , everyone was such a laugh and we hope to keep in touch , A and P from Sheffield , loved your review, biggin up the coconut shrimp as always!!
All in all we had a fantastic holiday and we hope to return as soon as finances allow , heres hoping for a lotto win asap.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hannigan2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

I went down with a group of my friends around the age of 20, with the exception of two that were a bit older. I had never been to cancun before and was just expecting it to be like any other trip down south, which it was not. I had one of the best times of my life and we will be telling stories from our stay here for years.
First off the staff is super nice and not not pushy at all about tips, but tip good and you will never have an empty hand. The rooms were good and clean and the beds were really comfy. We spent a lot of mornings hungover in them so we would know. The entertainment staff was awesome. Margarita made sure we were always having a good time and i am pretty sure my friend participated in most contests.
Highlights were the wet t-shirt contests and one of the water polo matches was pretty intense. The tiki bar was awesome every night and the bartenders there were amazing, especially jose and moses. Definitely try the hot and spicy shot! We went out to the clubs almost every night we were there and never had a lack of stories to laugh about the next day. They were awesome and an easy bus ride down and cheap cab ride back.
Overall this place was awesome and i will definitely be back next year!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnieHall_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

We spent 7 nights at the Golden the second week of May 2011. It was our fourth trip to this resort and the combination of beautiful weather (90 and sunny), the renovations and the fact that we brought friends made this trip our best one yet. The airport and the resort were both busier than in September which is when we had previously visited. At times it was difficult to find loungers by the pool but there was plenty on the beach. It was great to see that all of the bar staff we have known for many years were still there.
We arrived at the resort by 1:45 and our Ocean View rooms were ready. We were in room # 330 and 332 which are pretty much right above the Lobby bar. I thought it might be a problem with the noise from the bar but it wasn't an issue. The bar seemed to be closed by around 11:00pm. These rooms also overlook the roof of the Paradise Buffet but just past was the beautiful ocean so we didn't let it bother us.
We had been travelling since 4 am and were hungry so we had lunch at the Paradise. In addition to the buffet, they have, made to order pasta and mexican stations. The linguini and meat sauce and linguini/chicken/pesto was great. Time to hit the pool and say hello to some of our friends. Fonzie was still manning the Tiki Bar and Guillermo ruled the newly expanded Dolphin Beach Bar. Each took great care of us all week. Karen also did a great job as the cocktail waitress by the pool. At night, Jose and Carlos made sure nobody at the Tiki bar ever had an empty glass and Fermin took care of the 60's bar. The entertainment staff consisted of Angel, Daniel, Sara, Luciana, Carlos and Margarita (whose last day was Wed.). Luciana was our favorite and she made us feel right at home all week. The week pretty much consisted of good breakfasts at the Paradise. Made to order omlettes and french toast were the highlight. For lunch we ate at Pier 12 - great seafood, pasta and soups. We also ate burgers and chicken sandwiches at the snack bar by the pool. We tried all 4 restaurants for dinner and had awesome meals at Shang-ri-la. Beef tenderloin with shitake mushroom was excellent as was the grouper and another white fish. The steaks at the Old Barn were tasty but at times a little tough and the enchiladas in verde sauce were excellent. Sumo was also pretty good with a variety of maki, sushi and japanese dishes.
The recently renovated rooms now have tile showers with glass doors and the bathrooms have smoked glass doors. All rooms have balconies with a small table and 2 chairs. The balconies overlook either the ocean or the lagoon. The lobby bar is now on the wall adjacent to the 60's bar and has a nice more modern look. The miniature golf course is gone and there is shops and a computer kiosk in it's place. You swipe your credit card for computer time. The hotel also now has wi-fi and I believe they charge $40 for the week. The only rooms that have refrigerators are the club rooms.
The pool has also been improved with stairs, wading/lounging areas and an infiniity type wall looking our at the ocean. Other minor improvements were made to the Tiki and Dolphin Bars.
We did visit the Great Parnassus for 1/2 day and had a good time in the adult only area. We took the shuttle over, which is always a hastle.It never comes when they say it will and we usually end up getting frustrated that we are wasting our vacation time. We walked the beach back and it only took 1/2 hour which was shorter than our wait for the shuttle so we'll probably just walk from now on. They had better liquor at the Great - Grey Goose, Jim Beam, Herradura and Casadores. Even so, the atmosphere just isn't the same. The Golden was so much more fun. We used the gym, got a couple of really good massages in the spa (2 for 1 on Saturday), jogged on the beach and the street, took the bus to Walmart (just to see it) and walked to the Kulkonen Mall. At no time did we feel anything but completely safe. We are already looking forward to our return trip next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
9.1 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#45 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
5.0 km away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
4.9 km away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#36 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
0.1 km away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
4.3 km away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#33 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#38 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,695 - ₹ 58,577
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing