We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Costa Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Occidental Costa Cancun
Ranked #45 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Staff excellent, food excellent, service excellent, rooms okay, location 10 minutes on bus to clubs etc but buses around 40p and 24 hrs a day, snack bar excellent, mini fridge excellent, beach small but well maintained, sea warm and blue, beach bar excellent, lobby bar excellent

Room Tip: Upgrade your room to a balcony with a hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ikaz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,015
    1,413
    663
    318
    274
See reviews for
1,036
1,490
140
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Staff are remarkable both in restaurants and bars - service with a smile at all times with us. great beach, small but sufficient, always loungers, free towels, food was okay, plenty to choose from, I especially iked the chicken dishes, Don Quiote was a great restaurant we did go there the most, but we had Paella in the Spanish which was really tasty and Samlon in the Spaish which was yum. Entertainment is short 45 mins in the evening but when they put a show on its a good one, think its enough anyway as everyone got to know everyone else so it was good to see them in the evening. loved it so much, great holiday

Room Tip: We stayed 6th floor, small balconies which we dont bother using but quiet, where you get a small bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Costumer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barcelo Costa Cancun It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,

It would be a pleasure to have you with your family on a longer break soon.
With best regards,
Sandra Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I wouldn't stay at this hotel again. The rooms are nice but if something gets broke dont expect it to get fixed. There isn't a lot to do in the hotel and the foods not great its just ok and everything tastes the same. However i did love the mexican resturant. The staff are fab really nice people except for reception staff they are rude! The only way i would stay at this hotel again would be if it was really cheap. For what i paid i could have stayed in a much nicer hotel.

Room Tip: The mexican resturant is great, get there early to reserve a table
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpgiesemann, General Manager at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Costumer
Receive a warm salute from Barcelo Costa Cancun.
I hope this message finds you well. Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay, because customer satisfaction is our top priority and it seems that you didn´t have an entirely pleasing holiday .

We have strong commitment with customer satisfaction and high quality in our products, we work hard to maintain our property in optimal condition.

I assure you that all departments involved on this claim where well informed about it, corrective measures and evaluation will be taken.

Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter and hope to have an opportunity to change this bad impression and regain your confidence on a future vacation.

Please don´t hesitate to contact me for any further comments.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We booked an all inclusive with a superior room, and were taken to a small, damp smelling room, on the roadside of the hotel. Immediately, we rejected it before our bags arrived, and complained to the manager at reception. He then showed us a much better, bigger room overlooking the pool. This we took, and it was absolutely fine. The hotel is situated right on a lovely white sandy beach with lots of shade available from many palm trees. It was very busy, but we liked it that way, and the staff were very friendly. We used the gym and spa every day. Both were excellent, and again the staff, especially Betty were very helpful. We particularly liked the Don Quiote restaurant, and the staff were superb. they helped create a great atmosphere. I'm sure they'll remember Derek....as my husband became known ?

Room Tip: Rooms near the road-side had not been refurbished. Near the night entertainment (by the pool) is fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tricky Dicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpgiesemann, MArketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Costumer,
Greetings from Barcelo Costa Cancun It was a pleasure to have you with us. We appreciate taking time to review our services, and I am glad you have rated most of our services very high.
I would be checking on the issue related to your room.
Thank you for choosing us.

Sandra Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

If you decide to go to this hotel do not book a superior room.nothing suprior about this choice of room at all.I booked a sea view room to be given a room overlooking the pool when i complained they said that was what they called a sea view because you can still see it in the backround very missleading.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.9 km away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
7.9 km away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
3.9 km away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,591 reviews
5.5 km away
Occidental Tucancun
Occidental Tucancun
#43 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,580 reviews
11.8 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Costa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Costa Cancun

Property: Occidental Costa Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan km. 4.5, | Lote D7 5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Costa Cancun)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,952 - ₹ 27,769
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Costa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo and Prestigia so you can book your Occidental Costa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Cancun
Gran Costa Real
Costa Real Cancun
Barcelo Costa Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing