We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Michelle & Peter Hermick - Solymar Condos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solymar Cancun Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
Ranked #152 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Myrtle Beach, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Michelle & Peter Hermick - Solymar Condos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

We just returned from an amazing trip to Cancun for a gymnastics meet. Several adults took 13 teenage girls to Cancun for five days and I worked with Michelle & Peter Hermick on our lodging. They live there full time, own a few condos and manage other people's condos so we had 9 of their rooms all at one time. Each room had a great view of either the ocean or the lagoon and a couple of rooms had roof-top terraces to enjoy. The rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes which made it supremely easy to eat a quick breakfast or lunch or heat up leftovers. The rooms were all in great condition and worked perfectly for our group. To top it all off, they were EXTREMELY affordable for Cancun. We would not have been able to do this trip using any other resort because of the prices. Michelle and Peter were also on-sight the entire time and never hesitated to do anything to make our stay nicer. They are extremely pleasant people who are easy to work with and talk to. Most of the rooms are in close proximity to each other which makes it nice if you are traveling with a group. I cannot wait to return to Cancun and I will definitely use the Hermicks again. Thanks for such a great experience Michelle & Peter!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank becunc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    236
    207
    125
    260
See reviews for
208
293
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

I booked the unit through my vacation club TAN. The unit I was given was outdated and disgusting! There was other peoples hair EVERYWHERE!!! The other couple from TAN said they were unhappy as well. The sheets were far from looking or feeling clean and updated. I checked out on the second day. They did not have any other units to offer me, so I stayed at the Fiesta Americana Condesa. The security latch was broken and hanging off the door and when I went to open the closet, the knob came right off. The customer service rep at TAN said all units are different and some people get better units than others and some do enjoy their stay.
I will say a few good things about Solymar. If you rent your unit directly through a owner and see the units photos, you will be fine. The view is AMAZING! the pool is fine and beach is great. So really it is UNIT SPECIFIC! The food was okay. Don't expect luxury or activity. But if you get a good unit, I can see Solymar being 3 stars.
My unit was horrible. My daughter had bed bug bits.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the outdated dirty room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
40 Thank vivedetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

During the 2008 holiday season we returned to Solymar. Michelle Hermick helped us to book the same room from the previous year. There was new decoration and new furniture in the room, with the same great ocean view.

Michelle and Peter were very attentive and tried their best to keep everyone happy. They are a great couple. The maid did the cleaning every two to three days and kept everything in order.

There were more activities in the hotel than the previous year. So if you like pool volleyball or beach volleyball, you will get it there.

Everyone had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous-Traveler-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

I've never written a review before, but since I do read them when searching for hotels, I felt obligated to share my experience. There are too many nice hotels/condos in Cancun foffered at the same price or a little higher...and some even off "All Inclusive (food and drinks)" for just a little more.

We spent 4 nights in a Solymar condo and it was our worst experience out of all of our trips to Cancun. It was a last minute trip and our normal hotels were sold out.

We did not have hot water for four days. The cool water only dribbled out of the shower.

The auto feature of the air conditioning system did not work so we either were too cold or too hot.

There was a very small TV with no remote control and that was disapointing since it was a big football weekend(luckily another resort had large screen tv's).

The beds were not comfortable and the smell of the sheets/comforter were smells we don't want to remember.

There was no ice available and there were no ice trays in the small refrigerator in our room.

It appeared other guests had similar complaints and the resort didn't have the large staff or entertainment that the other resorts had.

The resort staff did not seem to want to help guests who rented condos.

The exterior of the hotel was clean and the two small pools were fine... and of course the view was beautiful, but this will not be a place we'll ever consider for our future stays. Cancun is too beautiful to let your stay be ruined by a disappointing condo.

  • Liked — the view of the ocea
  • Disliked — no hot water for four days.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
37 Thank missflying_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabesz, owner at Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2009
The guest here has not asked for any of the items mentioned in her complaints from management. They filed complaints as they were leaving and asked for refund without giving management any chance to resolve the problems. When all items were checked it turns out that the only valid complaint the guest had was lack of hot water. This was due to the breaking of the building boilers and due to the holidays parts were difficult to purchase to make repairs. However the issue was resolved in the building . All other items that were not working according to the guest were actually working fine, except the guest did not know how to operate the air conditioner controls. The guest wanted a large TV and claims it was old. We never said the room has a large screen TV's and the unit is actually less then one year old.

The guest also tried to make other guests who were due in the room after they checked out not to stay there and therfore destroy our business.

The guest never gave us a chance to even address their issues prior to posting the review, rather they ran to file this review.

The guest also does not tell the fact that they got this room the last second at a discount which is normally not available for holiday weeks.

Perhaps this guests needs to learn to file complaints as they happen instead of waiting till they leave when the management cannot fix any of the issues which all could have been easily resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2008

I have just returned from Cancun where i stayed in the Solymar. The hotel isn't the greatest but the private condos that you can rent from private owners are absoluteley amazing, they have beautiful rooms what you can t really say about the hotel and amazing views. The beach by Solymar is one of the most beautiful i have ever seen and definetly the nicest in Cancun. I recomen renting a private condo and that will give you a 100% gurantee of satisfaction.

  • Liked — The private condos
  • Disliked — the hotel rooms
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KarolinaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.5 km away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
11.8 km away
Las Perlas Condos
Las Perlas Condos
#154 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
10.5 km away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#91 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
0.0 km away
Solymar Condos
Solymar Condos
#5 of 118 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 km away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solymar Cancun Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Cancun Beach Resort

Property: Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,747 - ₹ 17,162
Hotel Class:3 star — Solymar Cancun Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, with a three stars category and splendid five diamonds beach is the perfect place for families and Couples. It's All Inclusive Plan and also Only room ; it will be an unforgettable experience for who looks for quality, economy and service in a relaxed atmosphere.Located on Kilometer 18.70 Hotel Zone, just 15 minutes away from Cancun's international airport to 10 minutes from the main shoppings mall and only three minutes from the Iberostar Cancun Golf Club. 75 Standar rooms distributed in 3 buildings and 10 suites on the ground floor all them with Air conditioning with individual control, Cable TV, telephone service, in room Safety deposit box at no charge. The room counts with either King Size, or two double Beds. The Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Solymar Cancun Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing