We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveller rating
166
259
235
139
274
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
259
235
139
274
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We booked direct with Michelle to stay in her rooms at the Solymar.
Rooms were large clean with aircon, bathrooms and cooking facilities.
We also had the benefit of using the roof terrace which was lovely for sunning
and bbq's in the evening.
Michelle is excellent at sorting out any problems you may encounter during your stay.
We did not use the resort resaurant.
Bus stops outside resort to get into town - very frequent buses. To tourist areas or to supermarket.
Didnt get a chance to swim in the sea as the red flags were always up - but beach is nice and clean with no seaweed.
Did use pool - clean and good area.
We would stay here again - rent with Michelle & Peter.
Thank you Michelle for making our stay comfortable

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solyowner, Manager at Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2011

Having just returned again from London to Cancun...where I was overwelmed with the British hospitality, it is so nice to see that we also gave these kind British guests warm hospitality.
They did not stay in the hotel of Solymar, but actually in the condos, of which there is a separate section here in tripadvisor.
We are happy to be the only property managers that make our full time home here at the resort so that we can look after you that much better
It is our pleasure.
Thank you
Michelle Hermick
Solymar Resort resident and owner/manager since 1996

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My daughter and I recently rented a Condo at Solymar from Nancy and Larry Cousins who provided us with a clean, very comfortable condo over looking the ocean. Nancy was most accommodating and sent us detailed information before we left Canada. I found her to be very caring and genuine-something very valuable to us as this was our first trip to Cancun. We loved having our own kitchen to prepare our own food while enjoying the air conditioned room after long hot days in the sun. The managers, Carolyn and Ajehandro were lovely people. Both were so helpful and even organized our day tours while also providing us with coupons for different stores and restaurants in the area. We had free WiFi and a flat screen-not that one would ever need it in such a beautiful setting. The condo over-looks the ocean and pool area and we enjoyed having a drink while basking in the ocean breeze, particularly at night.-we had the best sleeps as well. The location is excellent and just stone's throw from the bus stop which is very easy to travel by. I would highly recommend this to anyone and I know we will be back! Cancun has a lot to offer!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Lesgo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Three girlfriends rented 2 condos from Nancy Cousins at the Solymar Beach Resort in Cancun. The complex is older but it had everything we needed and Nancy's condo's were clean and stocked well.
We bought groceries at Walmart and cooked most meals in our full kitchens so I can't commment on the food in the all inclusive option.
Solymar is right on the white sandy beach and beautiful baby blue water. Bus transportation is really easy and stops right out front of the Resort.
If you like lots of sun, beautiful white sand, a baby blue ocean, long walks on the endless beach and an affordable vacation for friends, kids, couples, Solymar is a good place to check out.
Thanks Nancy! We hope to be back!
Julie, Jen and Cathy. (Vancouver BC, Canada)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tortuga777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I have just returned from an amazing, relaxing Cancun vacation. The weather was hot and wonderful in the ten days we were there. (April 11-21, 2011) We had the pleasure of staying in Larry And Nancy Cousins  Penthouse condo unit #3807, in the Solymar hotel. The penthouse itself was extremely well kept, very clean, and updated with a 40" flat screen t.v., a double & king size bed (new king size bed, with memory foam-incredibly comfortable). The kitchen had everything you could possibly need i.e.: blender, toaster, pots, pans etc. The room had an incredible view of the ocean, and pool area. We woke up everyday, made coffee and sat on the balcony enjoying the view. We felt very safe and comfortable during our stay. The unit has a warm, homey feel to it.  

The Solymar is a fairly quiet hotel, closer to the airport side of the hotel zone. The beach is beautiful with a life guard on duty from 9-5. The pool is great and very clean.  All amenities including restaurants and nightlife are a ten minute bus ride and bus runs literally every 2 minutes.  The Bus stop is right in front of the Solymar and  is less than a dollar per person. (8.5 peso while we were there)   An important side note about this hotel: renting from a private owner is the way to go! All the bad reviews you see about the Solymar is from an all inclusive perspective when rented from the Solymar as a hotel. There is only one restaurant and bar. Renting the penthouse from the Cousins was perfect for us, we cooked breakfast every morning had lunch on their private Terrace which you are given full access to and has a BBQ and patio furniture to lounge on. This private terrace was also perfect to enjoy the last few hours of the sun every day! It is just steps away from our room so it was so easy to refill our drinks and grab snacks from our fridge!!

A few suggestions of places and things we did on our trip that we enjoyed were:
- Wet and Wild Water park ( go on weekend HALF PRICE ) thirty dollars per person includes unlimited food booze and pop. We had a blast! (we're big kids 27&35)  The park included a Lazy river , beach and water slides. Good bang for buck for sure. A quick bus ride going towards the airport
- Caminero's is a little patio/restaurant right in the heart of the local night life area. It's across from the well known 'Taco Factory'. We went here every second night at least! The service and mexican food is phenomenal. And the people watching was super fun! A must go place!

The easiest part of planning our trip was dealing with Nancy Cousins. She was so helpful and informative. Always quick with responses from email, even during our stay. They have very helpful onsite management (Carolyn and Alejandro) who can answer any questions you may have or book any excursions your interested in!
This trip was everything and more we were hoping for, thanks to Larry and Nancy Cousins. Their condo was great for us as a couple or a family!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awillyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I went to Cancun recently with a three friends. We're all girls in our 20s. Went for a nice relaxing and a bit of a party holiday and we definitely got that.
The hotel is so close to the beach, well its ON the beach. Its a 30 second walk from the pool down to the beach and beach bar. A bus ride to town for just under a dollar or 9 pesos. Ps- take pesos and dollars to make life a bit easier.
Firstly, we were all inclusive. But I have to say, the food at Solymar was not great at all. There were random combos of meals and also sometimes really undercooked meats. Not much variety in the food choices, and we ended up eating out a lot, basically meaning we didn't get a lot out of our all inclusive package.
The hotel surroundings are nice, staff are generally okay except they don't all have basic English skills so it can be hard to communicate. Even front desk staff which becomes annoying.
Cancun itself was a lot of fun, we arrived towards the end of Spring break, so if thats your thing its a right laugh. A bit annoying after a while as the clubs tend to play the same music, but some of the clubs are AMAZING, (eg, cabana beach, mandala, the city) Really lively, and memorable nights we had there!!!
I'd recommend buying tickets for nights out from the approved promotors in the city centre, as opposed to hotel entertainers, cos it works out about 10-20 dollars cheaper per night.
We did find the hotel entertainers a bit intense and annoying after a while as they sat by the pool and sang and screamed for most of the day over their microphone system.
The hotel itself is nice, I had a lovely ground floor room with views out to the pool and it was just fab!! The cleaners are a bit lazy you need to pretty much ask them to change your sheets daily or they will just re-lay the same sheets again!!
There is lots to do, loadssss of fun excursions, as long as you have enough money for them!! They cost anything from $50 to $150. So bring ample money depending how many you'd like. Things like jungle tours, swimming with dolphins, horseback riding, zip line, swimming in cenotes etc etc.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank folagiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews