We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Stay in Cancun So Far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mia Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mia Cancun
Ranked #99 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Stay in Cancun So Far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This was our fifth and best trip to Cancun we've taken so far, and the staff is great. Humberto at the front desk is very gracious and cannot do enough for you. Juan Carlos, Carlos, Arturo are all so friendly and willing to make your stay one you will not forget. They are always willing to help out with whatever you need. We stayed in a one bedroom suite facing the beach with a terrace and jacuzzi. We had an amazing view of the beach from every window.. This hotel is very unique in that you really feel like you are family. This is not a loud party place, it is very relaxing and the beach and pool are pretty much your own. You do not have to get up at 6 am and claim your beach and pool chairs like at most all inclusives, they are always available; been there-done that. We walked on the beach in both directions and saw the resorts with tons of beach chairs one on top of the other. The pool is really nice and very clean and the ocean is so much fun. The food is good , we had room service several times and we usually had enough left over for lunch the next day.There were quite a few stairs as there is no elevator, but we didn't mind. We will definitely be back and most likely bring our family and friends as well. Thank you again Humberto, Juan Carlos, Carlos and Arturo for an amazing week.

Room Tip: Suites are great, especially 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen from West Islip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    155
    65
    36
    44
See reviews for
79
252
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here for the first 2 nights of my honeymoon and it was great! Very small and easy to find everything you needed. Staff was great, ate all of our meals either here or at the "sister" Avalon about a 2 minute walk for breakfast and at night we would hangout at the small bar with Carlos the bartender and my husband even got him to play some pool with him and exchanged e-mails! We stayed in their honeymoon suite in which had a patio on the East side overlooking the sandy beaches and a patio with a small Jacuzzi on the West side over looking the Lagoon & City. Side notes: there are a lot of stairs (but it was worth it, and the water takes a while to heat up, don't know if it was because we were on the top story but it did warm up!) Would love to stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite was amazing! Great price & privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Just returned from my first trip to Cancun (Jan 27 - Jan 31, 2012). Stayed at the Avalaon Baccara, room 402. Hotel looby was clean and quiet, but could definitely use some updating.No elevator, but we were fine with getting the extra exercise. The room was small, but clean. The mattress was hard as a brick and the TV buzzed everytime we turned it on. Loved the balcony overlooking the city street. Great view of the lagoon which was fine with us.

The staff are very nice and accomodating! We loved Juan Carlos who was our waiter in the restaurant for breakfast. He remembered what beverages we liked with our breakfast!

The pool area and beach was nice and relaxing. Didn't want to do the big resort area - wanted some place quaint and quiet where we could just unwind.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, get a room on the lower levels. Upgrade to an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pincksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews. I picked the studio room because it had a kitchen but did not realize the room would be as spacious as it was. There was a large balcony, king sized bed, dining area, kitchen and a beautiful bathroom. The shower was huge and made of stone. The room itself had a great caribbean feel to it, unlike your standard hotel room. The hotel itself is small, which is nice as there is always room for you along the beach or at the pool. However, because of the small size it doesn't have a store and the restaurant is small, so it may not be my number one choice for an all inclusive. There are many good restaurants located around that we enjoyed and there are two shopping malls in walking distance with a drug/grocery store right across the street. There was two of us, both girls in our mid twenties, and we felt safe the whole time. The only negatives were 1. Our balcony overlooked the street and not the ocean and 2. the balcony doors were not sealed well so at night time the sounds of the street and wind were loud and kept us up at night sometimes. Overall, if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay with a real caribbean feel then this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: Request an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brok3nx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Love the Old Spanish style hotel and decorations! With only 24 rooms, it's unlike the big chain hotels that fill up the Cancun coastline. Staff were helpful. The Standard room with kitchenette (what we booked) is more than large enough for two people -- we didn't really need the kitchen, but we read one of the reviews and it said the standard room might be too small for two adults. And we enjoyed the extra space (although we didn't see the standard room for ourselves). We had the lagoon view room on the top floor -- the staff gave us the top floor b/c we mentioned we were on honeymoon. The view was nice, but I would have preferred the ocean view. You would need to book 1-Bedroom or 2-Bedroom to have an ocean view. None of the standard rooms (with or without kitchenette) has ocean view -- so be aware of this when you book! In short, totally enjoyed our stay there! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Book 1-Bedroom or 2-Bedroom to have an ocean view. The standard rooms (with or without kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ling2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.9 km away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#92 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#67 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.2 km away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.7 km away
Hostel Natura
Hostel Natura
#12 of 114 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.2 km away
Porto Fino Bay View Grand
Porto Fino Bay View Grand
#41 of 114 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mia Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Cancun

Property: Mia Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Avalon Baccara Cancun)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,407 - ₹ 33,785
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mia Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Avalon Baccara Cancun Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing