We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time at the Royal Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #22 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Satrasota
2 reviews
“Wonderful Time at the Royal Sands”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had a great time at the Royal Sands and actually spoke to someone this morning about our experiences. We would highly recomment it to others. The people are very friendly and courteous. Our personal concierge Edwardo was extremely helpful with offering services with the golf packages. We were able to extend our stay one more day with no problem with the help fo Valerie. We enjoyed the Salsa lessons with Felix and the Spa was wonderful. We would definitely consider coming back to the Sands or trying one of ohter resorts in the complex.

Room Tip: Higher levels offer great views of the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngcarla09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,734
    951
    339
    129
    81
See reviews for
1,896
1,306
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great place to enjoy a week of relaxation. Great food onsite and near by. We love Harry's, Puerto Madero do not eat at new restaurant Cincola Mare across the street $200 for pasta and red sauce and a little bit of Lobster.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddampier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Between the ahhmazing views, personal conceirge (Raquel) and the whole entire staff. Its an amazing and relaxing vacation, it can be all on the go for excursions or just rest and relax by the ocean (with personal palapas) or a chair in the water at the pool.
The cleaniness of the beach, no seaweed to step around.
I love the extra step in recylcling as well having a special team to protect the tortuga (sea turtle) eggs..And then to be able to release them back to the ocean in late summer months..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifesascrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masssapequa, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I just returned from the Toyal Sands, Cancun. I have been there at least 10 times, not as an owner but as a renter. This time I was very disappointed. The Villa I had was perfect, right on the beach. The most convenient room in the entire coplex and that convenience was great. This time though,ithere were big disappointments. First the quality of the food has gone down tremendoudly. I was very disappointed and altough I had lunch there I found the breakfast and lunch disappointing and went out for dinner every night. Even the drinks, although were good I was surprised there was no fruit. I guess the cut backs are in place.

The biggest issue was the towels. I guess I am spoiled and I like to shower and use 2 towels. When I asked for extra towels I was told I would have to pay $5.00 per towel.. Are you kidding me. Is this a 2 star resort. I can understand that if towels are stolen you should charge but this attitude was horrendous. Is'nt this a good property. Then for beach towels you are only allowed one per person. I guess I looked upset and he let us have 4 towels for 3 people which was duly returned. This kind of think is a big turn off. I have never stolen a towel becasue who would want them. I only want to use them. If this is such a big propblem advise people they have to accountfor their towels but they can use as many as they want.

WHile I was there My friend had a time share at the Melia and I went to visit there. Now I am not sure they are anywhere comparative from a star rating. I would assume not. But the difference wasso huge. For the same money it is unbelieveable what you can get and the quality and royal treatment. If the Sands wants to keep up I suggest you make some significant changes unless you are sold out and don't care.

Room Tip: The first floor, facing the beach near the pool is Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elainequigleymet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm sorry to read that you felt that the quality of food and drinks has gone down. I've already passed a copy of your comments to Food & Beverages Management in order to follow up on them.

Regarding the towels, the reason we limit them is in order to help the environment: The less towels we need to wash, the less detergent and other chemicals that will be used; not to mention the less water required to wash them as well.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Royal Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharinea
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We rent villas from owners a few times a year because we love staying at the Royal Sands. Since we rent, not own, we were approached by our conceirge to meet at the sales office to discuss the changes that would be "affecting us" in the future. We met with "Liza" who proceeded to tell us that in Oct, all renters would be expected to prepay on arrival 185UDS/day/person for the mandatory all inclusive package that was being instituted. She told us we would continue to have maid service but in an effort to give owners more privledges than renters, renters would have to pay for towels, shuttle service and snorkle equipment etc. So, actually they are not giving owners anything they dont already have. She defined a renter for us as anyone, even a member, occupying a week they did not acutally own ie renting an extra week from another owner to extend a stay or if an owner makes an exchange to a different week with the RS. This sounded absurd but she assured me, these changes were member driven. She told me that I come to RS "for the service" (actually its the beach and the villa; service is good b/c we tip in cash) how much I pay to rent a villa (she over estimated by $1300/wk and when I corrected her she said "that's all going to change the American Economy is booming again") and guessed at our air fare (again over by $500pp) and said this new AI plan would be a much better deal financially than booking at other all inclusives. She proceed to tell us that we could avoid the allinclusive fee if we became an owner by buying a villa. When I made it clear that wasnt going to happend the meeting was over. Liza told me how much they charge but having visited them myself I knew she really didnt have a clue as to cost. I could get a nice AI trip (including air and hotel) for what the RS proposes to charge for mandatory AI alone.
Further, as guests of the owner, we were not welcome to the Sunday "welcome party" as this was reserved for members only. We spent about $1700 at the resort over the 2 weeks of our stay. I noted the resort was happy to charge and collect that amount from a non-member, a bottom-feeder, such as myself and my husband. They sure wont be getting the 185USD/day from us when that starts. Sheila Krekorian and Joe Skura

Room Tip: all have the same set up and all have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm sorry to read that you feel this way, but I'd like to make it clear that the information you got from the concierge is actually incorrect.

We still haven't realeased the official pricing for our AI plan. Said information will be published on July. Until then, please disregard any pricing info you might get from any sources.

Our welcome party is a members-only event, as part of the perks our members enjoy.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Royal Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
5.3 km away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
2.0 km away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.4 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#15 of 175 in Cancun
3,958 reviews
3.1 km away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#35 of 175 in Cancun
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,541 - ₹ 28,109
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing