We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An Excellent Vacation Option” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sun Palace
Ranked #9 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Lewis Center, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Excellent Vacation Option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

First time to Cancun. Adults only atmosphere of the Sun Palace is awesome! No screaming kids and tense parents. Just couples relaxing and having fun!! There is a quiet side of the resort and one that has more activity -- but still not obnoxious. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. The side excursions are very good also.

Tulum/XelHa is a full day of Mayan Ruins exploration and snorkeling. Jungle Tour is great snorkel adventure. When combined with a ride on the AquaTwister it makes a great time on the water. Swim with Dolphins -- lots of fun.

Ride the city bus to get into the shopping areas of Cancun. It is safe and relatively clean. You can't beat a ride up the strip for just $1.00.

We will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMTaylor3723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Cancun will be very happy to welcome you as many times as you wish with open arms.

It is not your typical Mexican town but rather a modern bustling city. It was well planned for the hotel zone is away from the everyday grind. However, if you are interested in historical Mexico, there are cities in the vicinity which are 4 centuries old, such as Valladolid, and little towns where you can see the rural side of our beautiful country. And if you want to go back further in time there are also the vestiges of the Mayan world..and everywhere you see, the modern Mayan folk, who have settled into cities such as ours but have kept their sweet dispositions and traditions. I guess this is the magic that makes so many come back year after year, as I hope you will.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,191
    1,112
    333
    93
    49
See reviews for
149
4,843
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our second visit to the Sun Palace and our experience exceeded our expectations. This resort is very intimate, comfortable with the highest level of service. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, but thefollowing staff members really stood out to us. Joel helped us with our luggage and settling in our room on the 8th floor. He took time with us to answer all of our questions throughout the week and greeted us by name with his ever present smile. Jaime, the front desk manager made sure we had everything we needed and that we were happy with our room. Manuela the Alamo manager knew us by name and made sure we were happy with the food and service at the Alamo. Our main waiter was Cruz in the Alamo. His smile, bubbly personality and excellent service made our breakfasts an enjoyable experience. Last but not least, Pedro, the pool manager, is one of the hardest working people I've witnessed. With a smile on his face, he worked tirelessly to keep the pool area in wonderful condition and was always willing to move a chair here or there to keep the guests happy. His energy was an inspiration.
We would definitely return to the Sun Palace and recommend this property to couples and adults looking for an intimate, peaceful, wonderfully maintained resort with impeccable service in a great location. Most of the people we met had stayed at the Sun Palace several times previously which says a lot about the quality of this resort.
Rooms : very roomy, clean, comfortable beds, ample storage, quiet, great view of the coastline.
Food: excellent, great variety. We ate breakfast in the Alamo, lunch in the Alamo or Pool Grill
and alternated dinners at all of the restaurants. They were all very good, but our favorite was the Steak which is on an outside pool balcony overlooking the beach. Your steak or seafood is cooked on a large grill and everything else is a buffet. It is very romantic and peaceful and you can eat at your own pace.
Pool: we hung out at the main pool which is very conducive to meeting your new friends and is where the swim up bar and the lunch grill is located. The staff has activities such as volleyball, water polo various games and exercise classes at this pool . Sitting at the edge of the infinity pool overlooking the beach and coastline is very relaxing.
Entertainment: something every night in either the Lobby Bar, the Ballroom or on the beach. The shows and activities were very good and the staff and performers talented and hardworking.
Location: only 20 minutes from the airport on the "quiet" section of the beach (away from the nighttime activities of the strip) with easy access to city transportation to the main strip.
Thanks again to the management of the Palace Resorts for a Fantastic week in Cancun.

Room Tip: Have stayed on the 6th and 8th floors and could not recommend one over the other. Beach front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BudF6F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Why, on the contrary. Thank you for a glowing review!

I am very touched by the mention of several of our staff who indeed do make the difference. As you aptly mention, we pride ourselves in having very many repeat guests. This is one of the secrets to a good resort: Our people enjoy sharing their friendly disposition which in turn garners return customers that eventually become friends of the house. It is very heartwarming to see our visitors come in and be greeted with a smile of recognition and in many cases, an "abrazo", a hug, which in Mexican means: "I'm so happy to see you again!"

With sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Sun Palace is a smaller resort than the other Palace Resort properties, but the overall quality and level of service are well worth trying. The staff are amazingly friendly and seem to truly want to make you happy and comfortable. The food is high quality, fresh, and with a nice presentation. There is a lovely gym and the pools are spotless. The view from our hot tub on the balcony took my breath away. This was our 2nd stay in Sun Palace and we plan on coming back again and again. Out of all the Palace properties, there just seems to be something special about this one that I can't put my finger on. It surely has something to do with the service and the smiles, but seems more authentic here than the others for some reason. Also, it runs like a well-oiled machine. We never have any of the glitches we experienced on both of our trips to Aventura. Love this place...

Room Tip: Become a member!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
I am so pleased with your comments. Thank you!

The fact that our staff does enjoy serving genuinely has been mentioned many times. I honestly do not know what makes the difference because in general Cancun has great service. But indeed, if it is service from the heart, we do have that market cornered.

I've given this issue much thought and am convinced it is in no small part due to the type of guests we have: For the most part genuine people.

What else?

Thank you for your kind words.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March 2012. We are in our mid-20's and it seemed like 20% were young honeymooners and the rest were an average of 40-50 year old couples. We had no real problem with this because we just wanted a quiet place to relax and it definitely was! We recieved $1500 in resort credit but were unable to upgrade to the concierge level because of availability. The concierge level gets you a padded bed on the beach, better liquor in your room and a larger balcony. We liked our superior deluxe ocean view room because it was on the top (8th) floor with a great view. The beds are very hard. There is a gigantic 2 person jacuzzi in every room- slightly awkward because it's right beside the bed. We only spent a few minutes on our balcony with a small table and chairs. We used our credits for $300 (max) at the spa for 2 massages and a deluxe spa manicure. We also spent $350 on the romantic lobster steak champagne dinner on the beach. They provide unlimited Moët champagne and any other drinks you want. The food was average (lobster overlooked) but service and atmosphere was great. Two seatings at 6:30 and 8:30 - book when you arrive with trip planners in lobby. We also upgraded our wine with credits - thankful for the credits since a $22 Robert Mondavi bottle was priced at $220! Overall food was very average but we live in New York City so we are spoiled!our meal at La Trattoria was the best. Every night there is free entertainment - loved the "Carribean Show" and "Fire Show". Staff is very friendly, fluent in English and helpful. Try the bumblebee shots and electric lemonade. Cab back to the airport was $30 and only 15-20 minutes away. Overall a great resort!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoryLTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
If your vacation was great, then we're satisfied. Although there are some points you do mention which will certainly be revised, the fact that you enjoyed your stay is the reason we're in business.

Please let me know before your next visit so that I may tend to your requirements personally.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We went to the Sun Palace based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor and we were not let down. We went for four nights in March and used the resort credits to upgrade the room which was worth it just to have the nicer beach chairs. We also used the credits at the spa although the 80 minutes couple massage we had was very odd, they seemed to not really know what they were doing and overloaded us with lotion. Other than that, the SPA was beauitful. We did use the credits to upgrade the wine at dinner but only because we knew we would leave credits on the table otherwise! The gym was fantastic as well, very large and had all the equipment you would need to stay on your workout schedule. I loved the infinity pool and the restaurants were good. We were in room 405 which looked out onto the sunrise each morning which was beautiful- it didn't have the large balcony's that are referred to in other reviews but we weren't in the room that much anyway. We never ordered room service for food but we did for wine and drinks and they were always very quick. We never had to wait for a table for dinner either. We went during spring break and it was not crowded probably because it is not a party atmosphere at all (which is also why we went there!)

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great - it is worth the effort to upgrade your room to the conceirge floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanG096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for choosing us. I am happy most of your experience was good.

Rooms with ocean view are one of the basics of Sun Palace. Not all are full ocean view because we're surrounded by other hotels. But most will indeed be satisfactory Large balconies are not as many but every room has a balcony where at least there are two comfortable chairs and a small table.
We are not a Spring Break resort, given our ambiance, location and couples only status. But instead of the kids...we get teachers and parents.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
9.6 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,511 reviews
5.3 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
8.1 km away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#20 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,388 reviews
5.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#11 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,360 reviews
5.4 km away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Property: Sun Palace
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,489 - ₹ 43,639
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing