We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL, AMAZING PEOPLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sun Palace
Ranked #10 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL, AMAZING PEOPLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Vacations are supposed to be fun, relaxing, filled with great food and wonderful memories....and then there are some vacations that exceed ALL your expectations and more! That describes the Sun Palace. It is an absolutely beautiful hotel filled with kind, generous and hard working employees! Everyone is truly vested in making sure that each and every customer has an "experience of a lifetime," not just a beach vacation.
When people ask us why we go to the same place, we say, "how much time do you have." We could talk for hours about the Sun Palace because there is no place in the world like it, and we have traveled a lot. The leadership is outstanding and Mr. Winkler the General Manager along with his dedicated team puts the Sun Palace guests priority #1.
To all of our friends at the SP, thank you for another fantastic vacation!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cbwellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
I have no qualms in saying openly that both of you are precious.

Even though this time we really did not give you the service we want for you and you expect from us you still wirte a raving review.

It is, if I may be so bold, the magic of extraordinary Guests in an excellent resort.

That's all it takes!

With my deepest gratitude and sincere admiration.

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,255
    1,141
    337
    94
    50
See reviews for
151
4,934
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lindenwold, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Had a great time. The only complaint was making spa appointments with my points. Very slow!!! The new computer system wasn't that good. Not enough vacation planners at the hotel.
Food, beach service, rooms, housekeeping, concierge and service staff was outstanding. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your very kind words.

I agree about the delay in booking services and we're doing away with a very defficient system. Wasn't cheap but there is nothing more expensive than our Guests' satisfaction.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsley, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I went for a much needed get away. We spent 5nights at the Sun Palace and really enjoyed it. After 4 kids and 11 years of marriage it was just what we needed. We did upgrade to concierge, which means you get not only a better view but a manicure, pedicure and 2- 25 minute massages. Currently the resort is offering a $1500 resort credit- don't expect to be able to use it all, then you won't be disappointed:) We did manage to use ours up on upgrading rooms, upgrading wine lists and a facial at the spa. My advice is to book your spa, lobster dinner etc when you get there. We initially avoided the welcome representative and later wish we had heard about the credits earlier. I was unable to get into the Sun Palace for a facial but they were willing to book me at the Moon Palace (awesome spa!) on the day we planned to travel there. Overall we liked the Beach Palace best- and actually ended up buying 200 weeks at the Palace Resorts. Apparently they are no longer including the Cancun Palace or Aventure Spa, which was disappointing to find out after the fact. Rooms at Spa Palace could use some upgrading- I think it must be difficult to keep all of the windows clean 100% of the time. The housekeeping staff was awesome and little things like champagne and dessert kept "showing up" in our room. The food at all of our meals was incredible.

Room Tip: Upgrade with credits to concierge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bainbraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Indeed after four kids you did the right thing! I have two and when they were growing up they were quite a challenge.

It is then a very special honor that you bestowed upon us to get your batteries recharged and we thank you for placing your trust in our resort.

I hope you won't wait too long before returning!

Our best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

No greenery. Small pool. Surf to rough to play. Food choices minimal and quality just average. Beef too tough to eat. Good if you love mexican food only. No shuttles, just the city bus or taxi service. No much to do on property. Definetly does not compare to couples only resorts that we have stayed in Negril or DR. (only in price).

Room Tip: use points to upgrade. can use them for little else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cksunlover2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
I wish you would have had a better experience because I know we don't come cheap.
I do apologize for this. Our aim is to give you the satisfaction of a well worth expenditure and it is always very frustrating that we can't be all things to all guests. I sincerely wish we could.

I am at your service,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The best things about staying here are no kids, the rooms, room service, the in-room liquor dispenser and the ability to enjoy the sister hotels. Our favorite was Beach Palace due to the location, SkyBar, and the food.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Your pleasure is our pleasure.

That you enjoyed your stay is the only thing we need.

That you will be coming back is our best compensation.

Our heartfelt gratitude,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
9.6 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,628 reviews
8.1 km away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,683 reviews
5.3 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,737 reviews
5.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
0.6 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Property: Sun Palace
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,532 - ₹ 41,229
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing