We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Romantic Dinner in Casita - Great Engagement Proposal!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, FL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most Romantic Dinner in Casita - Great Engagement Proposal!!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Ritz Carlton Cancun is still a great member of the brand. Don't let anyone fool you in their comments... it's The Ritz! If you're looking for a hotel with incredible service, don't look any further. My son took his girlfriend to the Ritz for a special dinner... in their private Casita on the beach. The way it is set up and decorated with candles, flowers, stars glowing in their table cloth, and the elegant service of food along with it's incredible presentations... cannot be beat! And if that's not enough, between courses, they have a king-size lounge/bed set up outside the Casita facing the beach so you can relax and enjoy some champagne while you await your next course. Willy, the catering specialist, inquired about my son's girlfriend's favorite flower which was the Dragon Lily. He made sure to have them, along with fresh roses throughout the Casita. And then... at the end of the meal, when they took pictures of my son and his girlfriend, my son proposed to his girlfriend. Following her response of "YES!", the waiter brought out a beautiful designer plate of special desserts, flowers, and designs in chocolate, and the plate had the words... "I love you Alicia". Well, my son and his new fiance could not have been happier, and the entire night could not have been more romantic! Special thanks to Willy and Sergio, the Director of Sales, who made this wonderful memory happen... from beginning to end. There's nothing like the service you get from a Ritz Carlton!!!!! NOTHING!!!

Phyllis - Naples, Florida

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPadolsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,119
    423
    138
    63
    41
See reviews for
724
1,187
78
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

everything is overpriced ridiculously, except the rooms. DRINKS, WATER, HAMMOCKS, ANYTHING BUT THE ROOM.....
THE LOCATION IS GOOD, WE COULD WALK TO PLACES, THE CONCIERGE IS AWFUL WITH REGARDS TO RESTAURANT RECOMMENDATION AND FINALLY THEIR SPECIAL EXCLUSIVE RIDE TO AND FROM AIRPORT AGAIN IS 4 TIMES THE REAL PRICE!
That was not Ritz ! i had to pay to set up chairs on the beach , 250US dollars for two chairs and hammock for a day! are u kidding me???
they dont have infinity pool either , which is a must now days! and their housekeeping service wont replace shampo and soap if there is still a drop left !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gipsygirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We mainly booked the Ritz Carlton in Cancun because of the brand name Ritz Carlton. We were very surprised when we arrived to see a VERY outdated hotel. My wife asked me after we checked out what I thought the Ritz could do to improve the hotel, and I could only come up with blow it up and start over.

At every turn the décor was 20 to 30 years old, it would have made sense if the hotel USED TO BE a Ritz and someone else bought it, and is just taking money out and not reinvesting anything into the property. My wife and I like to take the stairs, and the stairwell’s here make you feel like you are at a Motel 6. The stairwells are used for dirty towel storage, roll-away bed storage, and it is really pretty nasty back there, again, you would never expect something like that from a Ritz Carlton hotel.

The hallway on the guest floors are not air-conditioned, so it was probably north of 90 degrees in the hallway.

The swimming pool is an uncomfortable temperature (hot), not sure why this is, and it makes the pool very undesirable in 95+ degree weather.

Service was very good.

The only thing that I can think of is the Ritz corporate approach to this property is there isn’t one. Sad really, I think this stay officially kills our impression of the Ritz Carlton brand as a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkerBeachLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just returned from spending 5 nights at the Ritz. The property is lovely and makes a good first impression with opulent decor - grand chandeliers, ornate fixtures and furnishings, although it looks somewhat dated. The staff are friendly, welcoming and very accommodating - couldn't be nicer. The rooms are nicely appointed. One of the nicest features is that each room has a patio with seating for two - a nice place to watch the sunrise or have a cocktail in the evening. The only drawback is that the patios are very close together. A confusing aspect of our stay was that the hotel only had 20% occupancy, however, they put guests in side-by-side rooms. On the first day, we heard the children next door. Two days later, a guest moved into the same room and was smoking on the patio next door. The patios are so close together that the smoke came directly into our room. We spoke to Monica, the manager, and she was kind enough to move us to a different room with a nicer view. I would not want to stay at this property during high-season. Also, we are Platinum members of Marriott Rewards and we were disappointed not to be upgraded to club-level, given that the hotel was not fully occupied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main tower, which have unobstructed views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Wow! We just returned from our second stay at the Ritz Carlton - Cancun. The last time was seven years ago when my wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary. This time was to celebrate our 27th anniversary.

We stayed in a beautiful oceanfront guestroom on the Club Level. The room overlooked both the pool and the ocean and provided for a breathtaking view of the turquoise blue waters at the beach, The room itself was a nice size, modern in it's decor. The all marble bathroom was perfect for us. Marble on the floors, shower, walls around the tub, and counter-tops. And it had two sinks so that we could both get ready at the same time. Bvlgari toiletries, shampoo, lotion, etc. to use. The bed was very comfortable .... high thread-count sheets, lots of pillows, the mattress was both firm enough for my back, but soft enough to be relaxing. They also offer free pressing of a couple articles of clothing each day, and free shoe shines. So if you have some items of clothing that need some help from being packed in suitcases, take advantage of that.

The five food "presentations" provided each day on the Club Level were great. Well prepared, lots of selections, delicious and saved us time and money. Drinks, alcohol or otherwise, are included as part of the deal. I highly recommend staying on the Club Level.

Besides the "presentations", we also visited several of the restaurants on the hotel property. All excellent, not a bad item to report of the food that we tried. One night we made reservations at Casitas for one of their beach cabanas. It was so romantic and the food was delicious. Between courses, my wife and I laid out watching the stars, listening the waves, on one of their two person lounge chairs they was set up just outside the cabana.

We didn't have a chance to check out the Club Grille this time as it was closed. The other AAA five star rated Fantinos is fantastic. Another one we tried was the Sushi and Ceviche Bar. Reasonably priced with delicious seafood.

The staff everywhere on the premises, from housekeeping, stores, food servers, to the beach, made us feel right at home, were attentive to our needs and requests. They each went out of their way to make our stay feel special.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbeck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.9 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,836 reviews
5.3 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
7.2 km away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 175 in Cancun
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
0.7 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,995 - ₹ 62,302
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, EaseMyTrip, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing