We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quiet and classic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #6 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet and classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

A wonderful hotel in the middle of the hotel zone. Older guests, or families- but we did not mind that. The hotel is beautiful, and WHAT A SERVICE! We got roses after attending dinner, and they were always making sure we had everything we needed. The room is classic and ellegant, all rooms also have ocean view! If going to Mexico, I would rather go to Playa Del Carmen, we tried both, but if you are a fan of night clubs, big concrete hotels, americans and beach- this is the place for your. Good tip: Go in May\June, the prices are LOW, and there are NO people, no lines- and you get everything to yourself:)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norwaytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,782
    376
    124
    57
    36
See reviews for
610
1,030
74
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

If you and your family enjoy excellent customer service then this is the place for you. Property is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and pleasing. Restaurant entres are plentiful and delicious. Mojitos are even better. Moses and Adaraina should be commended for their superior customer service at the beach front restaurant . They also taught us about the turtles and their plight to hatch and survive. There is plenty of seating at the pool and beach. They are not neurotic about pool towels as at other resorts and that is a relief for those who know !!!! A walk on the beach is refreshing and you can see the hotel zone from the North and South. Especially awsome at night. We enjoyed this property and hope to return again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bahamabreeze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here again, one year later, on May 31st for 6 nights. I can't say enough about the condition of the property and high level of service that you tend to not get in the U.S. It's an older, classically designed property that is very elegant and decorated to the hilt. The pool and beach area is very relaxing with lots of attendants everywhere. We enjoyed a $279 room rate that included a brunch for two and an additional $100 per day resort credit. That effectively made the room rate $100 per night and when you see the brunch spread, you'll agree that it's a good deal. The $100 credit was cumulative, so whatever we didn't spend at poolside or in the five restaurants, we spent on a massage. At this price, the upgrade to the Club level didn’t make sense. We did that last year and were disappointed in the food offerings in the Club lounge. With this year’s deal, we were able to eat in all of resort restaurants (which is the point, of course). Resort-wide, the food is all prepared from scratch and is really good, but the service is superb and second to none anywhere I've stayed in the world. We ate in all five restaurants (Fantino, Club Grille, Lobby Lounge, El Café Mexican and Caribe Bar and Grill) and were satisfied with the experience. However, Fantino is expensive and I left hungry after spending $168 (and no alcohol). The poolside menu was really good. The grilled Mahi-Mahi wraps were the favorite. If you want to go out to eat, two of the better restaurants in the hotel area are directly across the street. Puerto Madera for seafood and Harry's Steakhouse were very good, worth the slightly upscale price and you will not leave hungry. There are plenty of Trip Advisor reviews on them, so check them out. We rented a car from Avis through the concierge for $90 for the day (including all insurance). We drove to the Tulum ruins (1.5hrs) and then hung around Playa de la Carmen for the afternoon on the way back to Cancun. The day trip was ok, but we wouldn't do it again.

One final note: As was the case last year, the resorts in the area appear to be at about 50% or less occupancy during this time. The all-inclusives were somewhat busier though. The Ritz staff told us their peak is generally from Christmas to about April or May. So, if you don’t like crowded pools or long restaurant seating times, this is the time to go to Cancun. And for the price at the Ritz, we couldn’t resist going back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an ocean front room on at least the 8th fooor. The balconies on those rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We just got back from a 3 day stay at the Ritz Cancun on 6/14. I would have to say that it is the nicest hotel in Cancun. We went to just relax and chill for a few days. The hotel is clean and well maintained for the most part. There was certainly a mix of people at the hotel--Business people, honeymooners, kids, older couples. Pretty much runs the spectrum. You can walk to a couple of restaurants and the 2 main malls are just a 10 minute walk away.

The staff was great and I felt that they really did a great job. The rooms are nice, but are lacking an updated style. The bed was super nice, not sure where that criticism comes from on other reviews. We ate at the mediteranean restaurant and really enjoyed it. It was a little formal for our style, but they did a phenomenal job. Breakfast buffet was nice, a little overpriced, but its vacation and expected.

My biggest complaints are the pool and beach lounge chairs and the cost of Internet. The chairs are like 10 years old, look horribly dated and need to be replaced. I just got back from a camping trip in Utah and the motor hotel in Moab had nicer chairs. I got my finger caught in one because the chair's bolt came out. Step up and get some new chairs! Seriously! That is not the staff's fault, probably the owner of the hotel doesnt want to spend the money. The Internet is $20.00 for 24 hours. I assume the reason is that there are so many biz people running around and the companies usually pay for it, so who cares about the $20.00. It is a complete rip off and I dont like to be taken advantage of by hotels.

That being said, it would be a great place to take the kids. I would recommend the hotel even in spite of these shortcomings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oxxousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Loved it ,excellent in all meaning,good service and close to everything walking to our 2 favorite restaurant and Sushi at the Casa Magna(Marriott) Next door.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lubbock54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.0 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,432 reviews
0.7 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
5.3 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.3 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
6.9 km away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Address: Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#6 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,600 - ₹ 90,649
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, the resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing