We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The worst start to a great trip.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Ka'beh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Ka'beh
Ranked #7 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst start to a great trip.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The reviews about the Hostel Kabeh made us desperate to stay there but the reality was distinctly unpleasant. The two dorms are miniscule and uncomfortable, with barely enough space to move around. I understand that the Kabeh is a microhostel, but when i woke up and hit my head on the ceiling, i was less than understanding then. The hostels communal areas are almost non existant, and the tiny lounge and kitchen were both dirty and untidy. The one bathroom we were allowed to use was small but bearable. There were several good options for breakfast but we were put off from cooking by the unclean kitchen utensils and cooker. We have since moved on from Cancun and found other wonderful hostels, so it was so disappointing to have got our trip off to such an unenjoyable start. To rub salt into the wound, the Kabeh Hostel is overpriced for the service you receive. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Room Tip: You have the choice of two cramped dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    20
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
2
11
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

They have just replaced all their airbeds for real mattresses. Now they also offer nightly fun activities - Movie Night, BBQ, Guacamole Night, Game Night. Good deals booking tours to surrounding attractions. Transportation to airport available at a charge.

Room Tip: 10 bed dorm has large ensuite bathroom. It is also in the back so better for those that like to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Was comfortable stay. Airbeds unlike many hostels but still slept well. Breakfast was good, you make it yourself with what's provided. Could be a bit cleaner in the bathrooms but hey ho.After the frosty welcome it was quite nice. A bit like staying in someones house which is a bit weird but if you make yourself at home it's fine. Nice hammocks outside, close to small market and a short walk from the bus stop to take you to the hotel zone and beach.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lucysibbick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Marco, the owner, was so nice person and friendly to local backpackers like me; Lina, a lady from Lithuania and member of his staff team, was nice and quiet; Geörg, a staff member from Germany, was serious but nice after knowing the guests for at least one day after. The roommates that I met were so friendly, like Jennifer from France or Fernando from Brazil; except for the annoying woman from Argentina, everything else was great!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chirriakaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
global
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Location - a short walk from the bus station and close to restaurants. Staff - friendly, helpful, wonderful. Sleeping - A/C at night made sleep comfortable and lockable space is provided. House rules are enforced which makes the visit enjoyable, and quiet after hours for sleeping. Bathrooms and kitchen are clean. My husband & I traveled with our grandson who turned 7 on the day we arrived. The guest and staff made him a cake with candles and had an impromtude birthday party he will always remember. We will stay there the next time we are in Cancun.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrasurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.3 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 km away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
0.6 km away
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
ibis Cancun Centro
ibis Cancun Centro
#79 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.5 km away
Mezcal Hostel
Mezcal Hostel
#1 of 111 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 km away
Orquideas Hostel
Orquideas Hostel
#2 of 111 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ka'beh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ka'beh

Property: Hostel Ka'beh
Address: Alcatraces 45 | SM22 Mza 10 L26 Retorno 5, Cancun, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,502 - ₹ 4,643
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Ka'beh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing