We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, affordable place, not touristy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
Ranked #95 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I suppose there are people who really love Cancun, and probably stay at one of the beach resorts. That is great for what it is, but I have to say generally I am not a big fan of Cancun.

What I liked about los Girasoles was that it was central (only five blocks or so from the main ADO station), but when you are there or on the streets nearby, it doesn't feel like you are in Disneyland Mexico.

It's a comfortable place, with nice, airy rooms, and a number of fun local restaurants and bars nearby (leaving aside the one with donkey saddles for barstools). Very affordable - I think it was 400 pesos a night when I was there, in April 2012.

Beware of all the Cancun cab drivers though - I think most of the ones I had tried to rip me off - "no, not the forty pesos that we agreed on for this (five block) ride, forty dollars!"

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed for one night coming back from Holbox. Room was functional - everything worked. And it was clean. Staff was very friendly, helpful and put up with my spanish. Mattress was average.
We were there Sunday so most of the restaurants were closed on restaurant row - ave Yaxchilan. However, La Parrilla had a buffet. It was comforting see a whole bunch of locals.

The place is a modest, safe and quiet property. They serve no breakfast. However, there's a very nice diner-type place within 2 minutes walking distance.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

When you're two or more persons, travelling Yucatan on a budget, and need a hotel after flying into (or before flying out of) Cancún, Los Girasoles is a great option. It's 400 pesos for a clean, spacious double room with fan, airconditioning, a good bed and a warm shower. The Calle Pina is a quiet street in downtown Cancún, almost no traffic. It's a ten minute walk from the ADO bus station.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My boyfriend and I chose a Cancun city hotel since we arrived late the first night and planned to visit Isla Mujeres the next day before journeying on in the Riviera Maya. The hotel was basic, but very clean and safe. Lots of great local restaurants and bars in walking distance, and easy to catch a taxi nearby. For $30 USD a night, this place far exceeded my expectations. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Must email for a reservation.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank I_Travel917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Ideal for us as a last night before flying out of Cancun. Very clean and well appointed rooms, friendly and helpful staff and very good value. Located in a quiet backstreet, but only a few minutes walk from restaurants, bars, shopping etc. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 km away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#99 of 176 in Cancun
241 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#105 of 176 in Cancun
212 reviews
2.3 km away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#110 of 176 in Cancun
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#74 of 176 in Cancun
239 reviews
0.7 km away
Marazul Hotel Boutique
Marazul Hotel Boutique
#114 of 176 in Cancun
100 reviews
0.5 km away
Rivemar
Rivemar
#126 of 176 in Cancun
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel los Girasoles Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel los Girasoles Cancun

Address: Calle Pina #20 | Sm. 25, centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: ₹ 1,996 - ₹ 2,833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel los Girasoles Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Girasoles propietors and staff, give you a warm wellcome to Cancun, the Mexican Caribean's Paradise. We put at your service our great small hotel that offers you the ideal balance between the comfort and convenient location at a truly affordable price. We count with 17 rooms, where you can enjoy in a friendly environment of Comfort in the facilities and high standars of cleaniness, located in downtown zone in a very safe area, multiple services to facilitate your stay and low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel los Girasoles Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing