We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,801)
Filter reviews
3,802 results
Traveller rating
3,333
297
91
32
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,333
297
91
32
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand buffet le chateau wellness pool awe spa day club bumper cars los tacos moon palace family pool cielito lindo cusco restaurant jade restaurant la tavola peruvian restaurant diamond pool steak stayed in building
Filter
Updating list...
2,552 - 2,557 of 3,802 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I am currently staying at The Grand which is part of Moon Palace in Cancun Mexico. Avoid coming to this resort during prime time unless you are a Diamond club member. These members have priority and many of the restaurants that require reservations are booked at least 1 week out. If you are not a member, you can’t make reservations until you get to the resort. By that time, most of the restaurants are completely booked.

We spoke to public relations and management with no resolution. We ate dinner at one of the restaurants that didn’t need reservations but had to wait 2 hours because the resort is full to capacity.

Completely unfair to people who aren’t “members”. There is a bowling alley at the resort, I couldn’t make reservations by phone unless I was a diamond member. I had to wait for a golf cart to take me to the lobby to make reservations. The whole process took at least 30-45 minutes. Not what I really want to do while vacationing.

I will not be coming back. Too crowded and the are unable to accommodate a full resort. High priority to their diamond members leaving others to feign for themselves.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
10  Thank marlak727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrand_GM, Manager at The Grand At Moon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear marlak727,

Please be sure that nothing is more important to us than exceeding your expectations and providing an incredible stay with us, hence our concern regarding the comments you are bringing to our attention regarding the inconsistencies you have been experiencing. We definitely would like to improve your current visit and kindly invite you to please refer to your private messages as we have sent contact for attention and definitely provide the amazing experience you have come to expect from The Grand at Moon Palace Cancun.

We remain at your service.

Sincerelty,

Cesar Fallardi
Operations Director
The Grand at Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The Grande lived up to our expectations! Absolutely marvelous hotel. The staff was so professional, and friendly. The service was top notch. The food in all restaurants was excellent. The spa was a dream.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chantal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrand_GM, Manager at The Grand At Moon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Chantal D,

We are here to serve our guests and create a vacation like nowhere else. Thanks to the constant preparation, training and enjoy what we do is that we achieve these incredible experiences as was did on your most recent stay with us. We hope to see you soon to enjoy another dream vacation.

Kind regards,

Cesar Fallardi
Operations Director
The Grand at Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We love the Moon Palace and especially the Grand. They always make us feel special. The staff is so very nice, helpful, and do it all with a smile. We just returned from there and are heading back again in June with the whole family.

Room Tip: We always get the Jacuzzi room. Rooms are large and clean.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ruth Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrand_GM, Manager at The Grand At Moon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Ruth Ann C,

We believe that there is no better place to enjoy than where you feel at home. Where every time you visit the staff makes you enjoy and pamper you so much without needing to worry about anything. Thanks to guests like you is that day by day we focus on giving the best of ourselves to create experiences in you. With the great service that Palace Resorts is accustomed to provide as well as the care of our guests is that we get comments as positive as yours. We will be waiting for you with open arms in the month of June to enjoy another pleasant experience.

With pleasure,

Cesar Fallardi
Operations Director
The Grand at Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Please consider my comments, based on extensive travel to all-inclusives in D.R. and Mexico. I will provide brief and bulleted comments. This is my opinion....candid and direct....

So, let's start with the positive comments:
- Overall, very nice facility....nice lobby
- Nice greeting upon arrival
- Baggage taken quickly and readied for transfer to room
- Easy check-in service
- Ability to make and deviation to exact reservation is not possible. We booked together with another couple - only to be placed buildings apart. Requested that we be placed in same building / maybe same floor - Not possible
- Pool areas nice, with lots of options
- Service was GOOD, very GOOD - Team goes out of their way to assist you in ALL WAYS - This would be a good reason to return.
- This was very consistent, across complete resort.
- Food was very good - Meat, Fish, etc....all very good.
- Buffet and restuarants, all very good with great service.
- Middle Eastern - Habibi - AWESOME - Ate there twice (yes, at 6:00 pm...as we could not get reservations)
- Food was fantastic....
- Order donuts and ice-cream for dessert - best ever....
- Grill for dinner - Very good, with nice breeze off ocean
- Could not get into many other restuarants....
- Los Tacos pool area and restuarant was Fantastic - Great service by all and a nice place to hang out and swim.....
- Bowling Alley and Theatre are great....
- Fitness facility is awesome
- Bikes are available...and great to use
- Golf Carts around complete resort and adjacent resorts are good...
- Coffee Bar area....great service, great Lattes, great Nutella Crepes - Yummy.....
- Very clean restrooms, general area....
- Again, service was fantastic - Bar, Pool, Everywhere

Negative feedback:
- Placed in building 91 - very far from everything....with a view of NON-Working Waterpark
- I have attached picture of layout of Grand Moon for your review
- Let's talk Waterpark - Of course, it was clearly noted that Waterpark was not fully functional...After we had made reservations and paid....
- Overall, the Waterpark is a joke, with a lazy river that floats through a Waterpark that is not operational...there is a small splash pad for 5 and under, plus a small wave pool for 8 and under, but for any older kids, a waste of space.....
- So for our duration, our total view from our room....was the pretty-much, non-operational Waterpark - The other view, well, just some swamps, pathways, etc.
- Reservations at Restuarants is a joke - We typically waited in line, starting at 5:15/5:30 pm to actually get into the restuarants....Some, were FULLY booked - You could not even wait for a table. Diamond members (who have purchased into Hotel Club) can make any reservations, basically anytime - I guess they paid for it, but it very much limits availability for others. Diamond members also get first on most Cabana's and have private pool areas (they paid for it, so deserve it)
- If you did not see the bartender pour in a "Called Liquor" into your glass, you are probably getting low, plastic bottle crap....I observed this many times...so I would just go to the bar myself and observe.
- Check-out is confusing, as they did not explain how it works - Separate area, etc...note this.
- Seaweed at Beach is worst I have ever seen...really, first 2 days it was 2 to 3 feet HIGH, with the smell killing the atmosphere....you could not walk the beach.....They eventually cleared some.
- You CANNOT swim in the ocean - PERIOD - This is mis-represented by the Grand Moon Palace - Pictures are mis-represented. This was a HUGE dissappointment, as our 10 year old and 15 year old boys love being on the beach and swimming in the ocean.
- Snack delivery daily was NON-Existent...Even when you called, they forgot....this is a simple fix....leave more snacks, or just tell the truth....no snacks....
- They have these stupid alcohol dispensers in room, for hard liquor....why?
- Signage could be improved...some misdirection, etc....could be easily fixed.

- 3rd day of visit, provide survey to fill out - I responded quickly with some points. Email from Sharon [-] - Quality Assurance Monitor providing me feedback / BUT in reality, just a bunch of excuses, reasons, etc...to not deliver the best service.

Some advice:
- Definitly bring a Yeti type beverage container....
- Hangout at Los Taco's pool area - Quiet, Cabana's available, nice pool - GREAT SERVICE.
- No real need for bugspray - Not really any bugs
- Bring inflatables....and lots of things to throw to each other

So, my 2 out of 5 is critical, but paying $1,300 per night, having stayed for years at very good all-inclusive resorts, plus listening to Grand Moon Palace's Self Opinion / Web-Site, well, I expect much more.

I would not return. Thanks for listening, Mike

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GPFarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrand_GM, Manager at The Grand At Moon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear GPFarms,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. While we are greatful that you have selected our resort as your ideal destination for this vacation, we regret the fact that your experience was not as you expected where you encounter certain challenges that affected your voerall stay. We would like to hear more about this and take the opportunity to contact you. Therefore, pelase refer to your private messages as our E-Concierge team will be providing you assistance.

Sincerely,

Cesar Fallardi
Operations Director
The Grand at Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Always a good time at the Grand. There are some staff at the Grand that would draw you to where ever they work. At the Diamond Level, Edwardo is king, he can get it done. On the beach, Adrian, Arian and Israel are supper, very attentive. Beach waiters Christel and Darius have personality to spare. Charlee and Brian from the club management group were always there when you needed them. The addition of the water park is great for families, not quite for relaxing couples. Great place, but getting to big, loosing sight of the upper buy in crowd.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank bguaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrand_GM, Gerente at The Grand At Moon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear bguaps,

Having hosted you for was undoubtedly a great pleasure since you were able to enjoy the great benefits and amenities that The Grand at Moon Palace Cancun offers to its guests and above all, our team members contributed in this marvelous experience since they were taking good care of you and pampering you at all times. We anxiously await your return visit as we would love to create another extraordianry holiday for you.

Sincerely,

Cesar Fallardi
Operations Director
The Grand at Moon Palace Cancuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews