We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great property, and great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Westin Lagunamar as an off season getaway from Interval. We had a 'lock off' room which cost us around £275 ($440) and when you consider the room had a large bed (not superking), sitting area, sea view, decent kitchen area where we prepared breakfast most days, good sized bathroom with spa bath and seperate shower, quiet aircon, and the invaluable washer and dryer, this was an absolute bargain.

We were in block 10 which has a view of the sea and the smaller pool area. I suppose our only complaint was the building work but we expected this and with the patio door closed we could hardly hear a thing. Outside the room the main pool area got busy after 10am so if you want a pool day by the infinity pools get there early but don't just stick a towel down because you deserve to have it removed in line with hotel policy. We'd have early swims in that pool then if we were around later we'd go to the smaller pool for 'happy hour' at 4pm and have a few 2 for 1 cocktails. The drinks were always good, and every other day we'd be offered a 'free' back massage which were genuinely good.

On the final day, we went for the full body couples massage in one of the 'huts' by the sea and I can honestly say it was one of the best I've had and just listening to the waves crash on the beach just made it pretty much perfect. We also had an a la catre breakfast on the last day which was also very good but tended to go to La Isla or Captain's Cove for meals. We loved the fish at Captain's Cove, and a couple of crocs came along one of the nights. We'd also recommend Chilli's at La Isla for simple relaxed and less expensive more local food.

We never ever got hassled for tips here, and unless you want a cheap trip or like being spoken to like you have a very low IQ, avoid the timeshare presentation. We did so just to save a fortune on our trip to Xel Ha which we'd recommend. The trip cost us £22 ($34) each so it was worth a couple of hours out of the midday sun for us pale skinned Brits.

Room Tip: Depends if you're an owner but we liked phase II.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarryDryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest, We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar. We hope this experience with us is just one of many you will have for many years to come. Thank you again and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,780 - 3,784 of 5,483 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is a huge property, but they somehow make it feel cozy. It is what you would expect from a Westin -- excellent service, all amenities -- and two of the biggest, most beautiful swimming pools I've ever seen. We ate "in" twice and enjoyed both meals. A large, attractive shopping center directly across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPINDOCDENVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review of our resort. We greatly appreciate your comments about our service. We hope you have found a new "home away from home" and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is a really good resort.the service is great,the rooms and hotel are very clean and it's located in a great location.hector at front desk was very helpful as well as lomali the lifeguard/bellboy.really nice employees.this hotel is very well maintained.hope to be back soon

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar!! We are very glad to read that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations.Thank you for sharing your experience and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We went to Cancun for surgery and our stay at the Lagunamar was included in the package. Service was amazing and the rooms are very modern, clean, and spacious. They also store your luggage if you need to check out and back in. Check out Mercado 23 while you are here and stay away from Mercado 28. 28 is way overpriced. My only complaint about the hotel was the vendors on the way to the beach try to high pressure you into buying their crafts and goods. Just ignore them or bypass them and you will be fine!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room. It is worth the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar Resort and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Cancun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife and I visited for a week for our 22nd Anniversary. It was our first time in Cancun. The staff was very friendly but everyone is trying to make a tip. The actual resort is awesome and the pool is huge and just perfect. I didn't like their fitness center since it was small and down below looking out at nothing. They should relocate and redesign it so that it looks out at the ocean while running on a treadmill. I do work out and was looking forward to it but was not impressed with it so I skipped it. The location of the hotel is next to a ruin which was cool and across the street from a upscale outside mall with familiar state side restaurants and 2 hour speed boat and snorkeling excursions. Time share stalkers are everywhere and will harass you. We stocked up on our adult beverages and snacks at their local Wal-Mart which is very easy to get to via a bus. We filled our travel water containers with our beverage of choice and hung out at the pool. You can fill your containers with ice at the pool side bar for free. They charge to use the miniature golf course which I found to be ridiculous considering that it isn't attractive at all and if anything should be free to bring attention to the resort since it is in front of the complex. I never saw anyone play. Other than that it was cool and good times.

Room Tip: Most rooms look over the pool but ask for one that faces the sun so that you can catch the sun rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SlikLatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest Thank you so much for all of that wonderful feedback. We listen to every piece of feedback our guests provide us. Our highest mission is to provide the exact service and facilities that our guests want, deserve, and expect. We also, would like to inform you that we will share your comments with the team and followed up internally.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Westin Lagunamar in a near future. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.4 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.8 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,074 reviews
3.1 km away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
1.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
2.6 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: ₹ 13,492 - ₹ 38,399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun is located directly on a white sandy beach. Our resort in Cancun, Mexico offers spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi, in a perfect setting in the Hotel Zone on Mexico's Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing