We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #10 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cameron, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We went to Cancun for surgery and our stay at the Lagunamar was included in the package. Service was amazing and the rooms are very modern, clean, and spacious. They also store your luggage if you need to check out and back in. Check out Mercado 23 while you are here and stay away from Mercado 28. 28 is way overpriced. My only complaint about the hotel was the vendors on the way to the beach try to high pressure you into buying their crafts and goods. Just ignore them or bypass them and you will be fine!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room. It is worth the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar Resort and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,345
    1,132
    284
    114
    71
See reviews for
2,071
1,910
84
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,680)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife and I visited for a week for our 22nd Anniversary. It was our first time in Cancun. The staff was very friendly but everyone is trying to make a tip. The actual resort is awesome and the pool is huge and just perfect. I didn't like their fitness center since it was small and down below looking out at nothing. They should relocate and redesign it so that it looks out at the ocean while running on a treadmill. I do work out and was looking forward to it but was not impressed with it so I skipped it. The location of the hotel is next to a ruin which was cool and across the street from a upscale outside mall with familiar state side restaurants and 2 hour speed boat and snorkeling excursions. Time share stalkers are everywhere and will harass you. We stocked up on our adult beverages and snacks at their local Wal-Mart which is very easy to get to via a bus. We filled our travel water containers with our beverage of choice and hung out at the pool. You can fill your containers with ice at the pool side bar for free. They charge to use the miniature golf course which I found to be ridiculous considering that it isn't attractive at all and if anything should be free to bring attention to the resort since it is in front of the complex. I never saw anyone play. Other than that it was cool and good times.

Room Tip: Most rooms look over the pool but ask for one that faces the sun so that you can catch the sun rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SlikLatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest Thank you so much for all of that wonderful feedback. We listen to every piece of feedback our guests provide us. Our highest mission is to provide the exact service and facilities that our guests want, deserve, and expect. We also, would like to inform you that we will share your comments with the team and followed up internally.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Westin Lagunamar in a near future. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

The hotel has everything you would need. Great customer services, very clean, very fresh. It has a small market for shopping. The pool is amazing! and they even had beach volleyball! I really recommend it, especially considering the price!!!

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ricci1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy creating life-long memories for our guests, and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We are Westin Lagunamar owners and this was our first time at the resort. I have to say I was greatly disappointed. Here are my gripes: 1. We had a full week stay in a studio villa and they cleaned our villa only ONCE for the whole week. Said it was policy to only do so. 2. Having to show a voucher for cheap pool towels seems simply cheesy for a resort. 3. Poolside restaurant closes at 6p, that seems way to early for an ocean view restaurant. 4. The layout of the hotel is simply not well thought-out - it can take you a very long walk in an un-airconditioned hallway to get to your room. 5. Directions to the on-site market are often mis-marked in the elevators so you end up walking aimlessly around. 6. We were there a full week and not one staff member made us feel at home. All in all, this hotel does not seem warm and personal. I suppose it would be fine if you were there as a family and self sufficient, but any kind of first rate service is truly lacking. Unless they want to sell you a message or a time share - then they are relentless.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcgeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The service you received is certainly not indicative of what we want to provide to each of our valuable guests. We would be delighted to welcome you back so you may experience our true and renewing Westin service. Please contact the Executive Office directly (lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com) for future reservation requests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

When you go to Cancun, chances are you're going to spend a lot of time in the sun beside the pool, or on the beach. This place has a great pool, has a great section of beach, and a decent beach volleyball net!

As everyone else has said, the location is great as it's literally over the road from a shopping centre, and you can either get a taxi, or a bus (very cheap) into the local nightlife.

We hired a car and did Chichen itza, Tulum, and then went down to playa del carmen for a few days which I highly recommend ( a bit less commercial than cancun so you'll find some more authentic restaurants).

Oh, only downside was when we were there, they were doing building works, and people abseiling in front of the balcony when your likely to be walking around in the nude isn't cool. It was very noisy early in the morning as they were building, which threw off the whole relaxing time vibe. Went to ask for the manager and because I understand spanish didn't take kindly to being called a gringo (i'm from New Zealand but regardless, its offensive) and the manager made sure to sort the situation out!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you so much for choosing Westin for your vacation. We would love to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.4 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.7 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,514 reviews
2.8 km away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
3.6 km away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,641 - ₹ 34,764
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing