We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth stay at Lagunamar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Just returned from a week at the Lagunamar which we booked through Orbitz. Upon check in, early at about 2:00, our room was ready. I had requested new section, high floor, closest to the ocean. They were planning to give us new section, second floor, furthest from the ocean. Having been here three previous stays, we knew a second floor room has limited views, and we asked to be changed. The desk attendant said they had no other rooms ready, so we told him we would be happy to wait for a room closer to our requests. While he continued to try to put us in the unacceptable room, he finally said to check back in a haf hour. We went to the bar at the new pool, met William who was a delight, enjoyed a cocktail, and then went back to the desk. Met a different attendant and I explained our request again, thereupon she asked me which building I would like and put us into an oceanfront room... Just beautiful!
We spent the rest of the afternoon enjoying the infinity pool. Later we went to steak night at the poolside restaurant. The atmosphere is lovely, with live music, candlelight, and the sound of the surf... Later punctuated by lightning in the distance! We both had the fillet, cooked perfectly medium rare, but it was a little bit drier than expected, the sauces served with the steak were both excellent. Jim then tried the flank steak to see and he said it was perfect. The buffet salad, breads, and desserts were also good.
Rain followed for the next 2 days but we were able to put on our baseball caps and enjoy the hot tubs, meeting many wonderful people making the most of a soggy situation. The hot tubs were just the right temperature during the rain, though I think too hot for me if it were sunny.
There are now plenty of beach palapas for those who prefer the sand and need some shade. Pool umbrellas are still hard to get after 9:00 in the morning at the main pool. So head for the new smaller pool if you don't want to broil! We also found that area quieter. Pool and beach service is great. Happy hour 2 for 1 is 4:00-5:00 every day.
The marketplace works well for quick sundries, but we took advantage of the cab to the supermarket downtown (Walmart groceries which has most major brands you will recognize) the driver waits an hour while you shop, and brings you back. For our purposes, we like the direct shot to the store, though others use the bus. The steaks we bought were excellent, hand cut for us by the butcher. The veggies are also cheap and yummy. Take advantage of the beautiful grills at the resort, grill up some steaks, roast some veggies, sip some wine and keep costs down. We prefer the lagunamar because of their equipped kitchens where we can have our breakfast, fix a quick lunch, grill a few dinners, and store leftovers from our dinners out.
we took the timeshare tour and as promised they do not hard sell. There is a process they take you through but at the end, we respectfully said no and they respectfully said okay. Much nicer than so many other presentations we have been to.
We will return to Westin Lagunamar again. It is clean, spacious, not all- inclusive, has a great beach and is perfectly situated on the hotel strip.
Ask us anything about this resort!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for optimum views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank debonvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear guest We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar again and for your very nice comments !! We are very glad to know you experienced a fantastic time with us. Please come back soon as we would love to host you again.

Sincerely,The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,842 - 3,846 of 5,410 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

I love it here came here with family and we enjoyed it a lot. The staff is really friendly and helpful. They have two pools one of them is an infinity pool and its huge and beautiful. They even have a slide witch was really fun.the room we stayed at was beautiful,clean and we had an amazing view . We stayed on the newer side of the resort and its was nice we had a kitchen witch was a plus plus because we did use it and it saved us a little bit of money. I mean I would recommend to buy groceries at a nearby market like wal mart but I definitely would not eat in everyday since mexico restaurants are delicious. The only thing I would say about this is that I hate that this resort was so family oriented the bar at the pool closes at 8 or 9 pm witch sucked. And expect to see a lot of elder people with there kids. Oh and the location of the resort is the best the mall is across the street literally. You don't need to walk that much.

Room Tip: stay on the newer side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review of our resort. We hope you have found a new "home away from home" and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

First let me preface this review by saying that this was our first time traveling to Cancun, actually our first time traveling outside the US. We are also Starwood owners. So if those things apply to you too, this review may help you.

Arrival:
We arrived in Cancun around 12:45pm on Saturday, June 16th. Our Westin concierge, Maggie, had contacted us prior to our trip and she arranged transportation for us. It was $35 one way for up to four people. We didn't have to ride with anyone else, our driver was friendly, and the vehicle (a newer SUV) was comfortable and air conditioned. It was worth the money. We were greeted by the very friendly staff when we arrived at the Westin. It was before check in so we met with our concierge and talked for quite awhile. She is a wealth of knowledge and we really appreciated that! By the time we were done, our room was ready, at or a little before the 4pm check in time.

The Room
We stayed in a studio, which was sufficient for our needs because there were only two of us. I believe it can sleep four, but I honestly don't think that would be a comfortable situation. Our room was clean and we were thrilled to be upgraded to the eighth floor. We were told it's because we are Starwood owners. The view was spectacular. We had two small issues with our room. First was that our safe malfunctioned, but someone came up to fix it within ten minutes of us calling the front desk. Second, we had tiny ants in the bathroom, kitchen, and living area. This wasn't a huge deal because we've experienced cockroaches at other resorts so ants didn't seem like a big deal. They did come and spray and that helped a bit but didn't get rid of them completely. The mini fridge is a Subzero and makes a lot of ice and freezes well. 

The Staff
The staff here (and pretty much everywhere) go out of their way for visitors. They work very hard and likely make very little money. Please tip them! We didn't encounter one single employee who was not friendly.

Things to bring
Besides the obvious things, there may be some things you might not think of. Biodegradable sunscreen is necessary if you plan to go to any of the natural parks like Xel-Ha or Xplor. I couldn't find this in my area before our trip so we had to buy it when we got there. We managed to find it at a little grocery store past the hotel zone for under $10. But we saw it for $13-$17 elsewhere. I recommend water shoes for these trips too. For Xplor, waterproof hiking shoes are ideal, especially if you have foot problems. There is a LOT of walking and you will get wet! For women, a swimsuit with swim shorts is ideal for Xplor as the harness for zip lining is quite uncomfortable on bare skin. Bring lots of sunscreen...it's expensive there. Bring a beach bag you can fold into your luggage as well as a small soft sided cooler to bring drinks or sandwiches to the beach if you wish. Bring blister band aids and regular band aids, lip balm with sunscreen, ibuprofen. We through in ponchos at the last second and we needed them! People kept asking where we bought them so apparently they aren't readily available. Bring them!

What not to bring
Don't overpack on clothes. There are washers and dryers in the rooms and they even include laundry soap. I brought dryer sheets. 

Money
Bring single dollars...we brought $100 in singles and that was plenty. Good for tipping. We didn't exchange a lot of money for pesos. We only needed pesos for the bus (7.5 pesos per person) and a taxi ride. Otherwise we charged most everything. You can change up to $200 per day at the Westin, and they do keep track.

Transportation
We had no problem getting around. A few times we took the bus and once we took a taxi. Otherwise we walked or were part of a tour which included transportation. I see no need to rent a car there, and with the way they drive, I'd be afraid to.

Restaurants and food
If you're like us and don't care to eat out every meal, take the bus to the Superama and get some groceries. We went to Oceana on the resort grounds three times We found the dinner to be good, not great. But their breakfast buffet was wonderful. I'd suggest splurging on it once during your trip (it's a bit pricey). We went there for dessert our last night there. It was good but not relaxing because it was very busy due to the dinner buffet, despite the late hour. We also went to Margaritaville. Good burgers but our waitress was far more interested in having fun with her coworkers than in giving us good service. We ate at Jugo de Limon for breakfast one day (at La Iala Mall next to the aquarium). That was pretty good and reasonable. We ate at La Distilleria for authentic Mexican food one night. It was excellent and the service was great. Have your concierge make a reservation and you'll get a free drink. It's small but tasty. We both got a free one, which was nice. They have a mariachi band there most nights starting at 8pm. We also ate at La Europa. Its a liquor store near Dominos Pizza, about a ten minute walk from the resort (go left out of the gate). The liquor prices are much cheaper there ($8 for a big bottle of Kahlua!). They also have baguette sandwiches that are pretty good. You can taste some of the liqours if you wish. Ask for Hugo. He's knowledgeable and very friendly. You can bring two liter bottles of alcohol back to the US in your suitcase (you can buy more at the airport). Tequila is quite reasonable. They will bubble wrap your bottles if you request it. However we bought one bottle that was more fragile than the others and it got broken in e suitcase even with the bubble wrap and extra towels and clothing padding it. I suspect it was searched at the airport and either rewrapped improperly if at all or even purposely broken. 

Many of the day trips have buffets included in the price so keep that in mind if you go grocery shopping. Don't over buy.

Timeshare pitch
This was optional but we chose to do it because we got a discount on Xel-Ha and Xplor plus $100 off Xplor. The guy knew we already own at two Starwood properties. Perhaps that's why he didn't pressure us at all. But it did take the full 90 minutes. DO NOT go on the timeshare presentation next door at Royal. They will promise you stuff and not deliver, plus they are very high pressure. Not worth it.

Wifi
Didn't really work in our room. But you can plug your computer in using their provided cable and that works fine. Never could get my iPad to work. That's fine though. We were on vacation.


Overall
This is probably The best resort we've stayed at and we've owned for 17 years. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ktroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this review! We pride ourselves on creating personable and memorable experience for our guests. We thank you for your loyalty....it means a lot to us and makes us strive even harder to achieve our goals as a company.
We await your next visit !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Were at the resort for 5 days and it was absolutly wonderful! We had a villa with a view of the ocean that was just spectacular. The resort was clean and well maintained. The restuarants had great food that was well cooked and the staff were always gracious and kind. We loved the all you can eat breakfast buffet and we went there every morning for breakfast. The only suggestion I have is to leave the pool and pool bar open to 10pm or 11pm, there are no lounges on the resort and it would have been nice to hang out at the pool and socialize after dark.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view. it is so beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeidreP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar Resort and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Cancun.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We just got back from Cancun. It was an awesome trip. The staff at Westin Lagunamar were wonderful. Can't wait to go back! The view from our room was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaTMasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your vacation experience and your impressions of the Westin Lagunamar. We look forward to welcome you again to our resort.

Sincerely,The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.4 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
2.8 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
3.1 km away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
2.0 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: ₹ 13,008 - ₹ 33,653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun is located directly on a white sandy beach. Our resort in Cancun, Mexico offers spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi, in a perfect setting in the Hotel Zone on Mexico's Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing