We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
16
19
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
19
9
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We looked around at 3 or 4 places before settling on Posada Coatepec and I'm glad we did. This is an old coffee hacienda that was converted to a hotel many years ago. We had a king size bed room, way in the back. While a bit dark (maybe they could get some brighter light bulbs), it was a beautiful room, called San Francisco. The bed was big and comfortable, with a nice Lazy Boy chair in the room.

The only complaint is there was no WiFi in the room, only out in the lobby area, which was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

A lovely old building well preserved and presented provides a great contrast to city hotels i usually have to use. Wifi connection was patchy and slow - only just serviceable.
Breakfast was excellent - but slow
Coffee in the old courtyard is lovely.

Room Tip: If you have a room facing the old church - i hope you like the bells - but they do stop at midnight!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB3Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I have stayed several times in this property, but this time the internet was nos available and the personnel could not care less. I think is time to look for an alternative.
The hotel is a very nice property, but customer service had deteriorated over time. There was usually space to park in front of the hotel so the valet could take the car, but this time there was none. Internet was not available in the rooms. The restaurante, though, is a great one with quality food.

Room Tip: If you need internet usually the rooms close to the restaurante are good option, as in the others it is not available. However this las time not even there I had internet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The Posada Coatepec was recommended to us, however, apart from its grand architecture this hotel was completely over rated. The staff were very unfriendly to the point where we felt uncomfortable and the room was very basic for the price. There are much better hotels at a cheaper rate in Coatepec.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Coatepec is what is cold one Pueblo Mágico. The hotel is very well located in front of the Iglesia de la Virgen de Guadalupe and a very short walk from Catedral. A very well maintained house, each room is different. Very ample. The food is incredible, and the restaurant has plenty of art from very known artists like Dr. Atl. Nice decor and good service. Some of the rooms suppose to have ghosts, I have never encountered one. However need updating in the old tv's and in the beds.

Room Tip: The rooms in the interior patio are the less expensive, big enough but not suites like the others. Every room is different and have different names. Las Vigas, Tokio, are ok. Xalapa is a suite, but the internet is not very good at the room, although perfect in the dinning room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews