We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst ever, watch out!!”
Review of Hotel Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Emilia
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The room was not worth it: it is small, uncomfortable and noisy at all times. It is true that the hotel is in the center of Taxco, but that is not enough. I was expecting a place to relax at night, but the hotel does not offer that. I would not recommend it at all. The hotel is beside a restaurant and you hear pretty much everything: music, the valet parking, customers, the fridge and dishwasher 24/7!! What is even worse, is that the staff is already aware of all this and they trick customers saying that everything is quiet after 9pm, but that is not true. It is something permanent and there is nothing they can do about it. Be very careful if you are planning to book this hotel, you would be paying way too much for an awful experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are small, uncomfortable and noisy at all times. Apparently I was offered the "best&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faby Edyht P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I visit this hotel in early january for a weekend stay.
Every thing looks clean and Mexican Style decoration. Very close the main square which is perfect for Taxco.

But...when we got our room, # 26, I notice a low frequency vibration and a noise. I ask for an explanation or room change. The receptionist said that It will stop at 10 pm.
It did at 10:30pm and started back at 4 am! Figure it out, we had a horrible night.

Next day, since I advised of the issue I demmanded for a compensation, which resulted in a small discount only, from a RACK level.

Summary unless they dont fix the Fan issue, do not take the back and higher room at and price.
They can not rent those room with that issue.

Hope they do!!!


Stayed: January 2014
Thank Descartes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Whilst we didn't actually stay at the hotel, I wanted to write a review about the hotel's excellent Sushi restaurant. The food was authentic, fresh, delicious and inventive (the tempura ice-cream is to die-for!) The chef clearly takes great pride in his cuisine and the staff were very attentive. So, if you're looking for an alternative to tacos, quesadillas, pizza and pasta whilst in Taxco, do yourself a favour and head to the Emilia Hotel for some very yummy sushi :)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Farah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Hotel Emilia Castillo, and Taxco in general, were quite charming. I had never been to Taxco before so I only had to go on recommendations from some Mexican friends, but it was a great trip.
The staff here, like most Mexicans in general, are warm, helpful and friendly. I had many questions about shopping, parking, eating and lots more, and they were always helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for anything you want to do in Taxco. There is the Zocalo around the corner with restaurants, cafes, street markets, a cash machine and a quickee-mart (Oxxo). Along the side-streets and alleys around the hotel there are people selling everything from handmade hats and wooden items, to ceramics made from clay (barro)...and, of course, silver. There are lots and lots of silver shops.
I needed some laundry done and asked the staff where I could do it, Since i only had a few
pieces, they arranged for the housekeeper to do it for me for 5 persos each.
The rooms were very basic, but clean and perfectly adequate. There was no A/C, but a fan was provided. The bathroom was also adequate and clean but nothing fancy. The towels could have used some updating. They were frayed and threadbare.
As others have reported, the VW bug-taxis are extremely loud and if you have a room on the street, you may have trouble sleeping and may want to ask for a room in the back. (But you will be glad the taxis are loud when going around a sharp corner in Taxco because you will know they are coming!) They do die down after 1AM or so, but the noise never stops altogether.
There is only one negative thing about this hotel--and is the reason why this is not a 5-star review--and that is that the wifi does not work in the rooms; only in the lobby. In this day and age, wifi is not a nice-to-have; it is pretty essential, especially for travelers like me who depend on it for everything in a foreign country. For it to work only in the lobby is pretty disappointing. If in-room wifi is important to you, you may want to try another hotel.

The only other tip I can give is that the parking garage (estacionamento publico) is down the street and around the corner and there is a very convenient elevator from the garage, through the little mall (plaza commercial)...to the street where the hotel is. I did not realize this elevator was there and ended up walking out the front of the garage, all the way to the hotel each day. Investigate and ask about the shortcut through the mall. It will save you a lot of time and frustration lugging your cases up steep Taxco streets!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A little noisy but a great choice for a fast weekend visit to Taxco, an amazing city. Be prepared for lots of stairs, no restaurant in location but a very good one at Agua Escondida hotel, a venue owned by the same group. The hotel is absolutely basic, don't expect much except for the central location.

Room Tip: Rooms face a covered inner patio. Noise guaranteed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMexicoOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taxco hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#4 of 24 in Taxco
331 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
533 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 24 in Taxco
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Mi Casita
Hotel Mi Casita
#5 of 24 in Taxco
166 reviews
0.3 km away
Santa Prisca
Santa Prisca
#6 of 24 in Taxco
88 reviews
0.2 km away
Posada de San Javier
Posada de San Javier
#10 of 24 in Taxco
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emilia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emilia

Address: Calle Juan Ruiz de Alarcon No. 7 | Col. Centro, Taxco 40200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Price Range: ₹ 2,388 - ₹ 3,292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emilia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Emilia Castillo is a quaint hotel in the heart of Taxco, Mx. known as "Silver City". The hotel is a short walk to safe parking and major sites in Taxco. As you enter the lobby you are surrounded by beautiful artistic creations. Emilia, The owner, is a second generation silversmith and jewelry designer and her unparalleled creativity abounds as you walk through the hotel. A helpful staff is always there to answer your needs. We feel that you will be more than comfortable and you will want to come back again. So come join us at Hotel Emilia Castillo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emilia Castillo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing