We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 62
US$ 60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 160
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 62
US$ 60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 58
US$ 49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 59/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Taxco(Taxco)(Great Value!)
US$ 55
US$ 50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 54
US$ 51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 59
US$ 51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 69
US$ 67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Casa Taxco(Taxco)(Great Value!)
US$ 30
US$ 26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
16
47
33
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
47
33
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I visit this hotel in early january for a weekend stay.
Every thing looks clean and Mexican Style decoration. Very close the main square which is perfect for Taxco.

But...when we got our room, # 26, I notice a low frequency vibration and a noise. I ask for an explanation or room change. The receptionist said that It will stop at 10 pm.
It did at 10:30pm and started back at 4 am! Figure it out, we had a horrible night.

Next day, since I advised of the issue I demmanded for a compensation, which resulted in a small discount only, from a RACK level.

Summary unless they dont fix the Fan issue, do not take the back and higher room at and price.
They can not rent those room with that issue.

Hope they do!!!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Descartes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Whilst we didn't actually stay at the hotel, I wanted to write a review about the hotel's excellent Sushi restaurant. The food was authentic, fresh, delicious and inventive (the tempura ice-cream is to die-for!) The chef clearly takes great pride in his cuisine and the staff were very attentive. So, if you're looking for an alternative to tacos, quesadillas, pizza and pasta whilst in Taxco, do yourself a favour and head to the Emilia Hotel for some very yummy sushi :)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Farah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Hotel Emilia Castillo, and Taxco in general, were quite charming. I had never been to Taxco before so I only had to go on recommendations from some Mexican friends, but it was a great trip.
The staff here, like most Mexicans in general, are warm, helpful and friendly. I had many questions about shopping, parking, eating and lots more, and they were always helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for anything you want to do in Taxco. There is the Zocalo around the corner with restaurants, cafes, street markets, a cash machine and a quickee-mart (Oxxo). Along the side-streets and alleys around the hotel there are people selling everything from handmade hats and wooden items, to ceramics made from clay (barro)...and, of course, silver. There are lots and lots of silver shops.
I needed some laundry done and asked the staff where I could do it, Since i only had a few
pieces, they arranged for the housekeeper to do it for me for 5 persos each.
The rooms were very basic, but clean and perfectly adequate. There was no A/C, but a fan was provided. The bathroom was also adequate and clean but nothing fancy. The towels could have used some updating. They were frayed and threadbare.
As others have reported, the VW bug-taxis are extremely loud and if you have a room on the street, you may have trouble sleeping and may want to ask for a room in the back. (But you will be glad the taxis are loud when going around a sharp corner in Taxco because you will know they are coming!) They do die down after 1AM or so, but the noise never stops altogether.
There is only one negative thing about this hotel--and is the reason why this is not a 5-star review--and that is that the wifi does not work in the rooms; only in the lobby. In this day and age, wifi is not a nice-to-have; it is pretty essential, especially for travelers like me who depend on it for everything in a foreign country. For it to work only in the lobby is pretty disappointing. If in-room wifi is important to you, you may want to try another hotel.

The only other tip I can give is that the parking garage (estacionamento publico) is down the street and around the corner and there is a very convenient elevator from the garage, through the little mall (plaza commercial)...to the street where the hotel is. I did not realize this elevator was there and ended up walking out the front of the garage, all the way to the hotel each day. Investigate and ask about the shortcut through the mall. It will save you a lot of time and frustration lugging your cases up steep Taxco streets!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A little noisy but a great choice for a fast weekend visit to Taxco, an amazing city. Be prepared for lots of stairs, no restaurant in location but a very good one at Agua Escondida hotel, a venue owned by the same group. The hotel is absolutely basic, don't expect much except for the central location.

Room Tip: Rooms face a covered inner patio. Noise guaranteed.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMexicoOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Overall it is a very nice hotel "Taxco" style for an "ok" price. The lobby is welcoming, the hotel staff was very friendly and the location is perfect. One block from the main square with the Santa Prisca church, yet accessible with a bigger car! Beware that to some hotels you can't get with a minivan because of the narrow streets of Taxco. To this one you can (we had a Sprinter which is even bigger than minivan).

The street was quite noisy, but that is how the Taxco center is overall.

The rooms are very nice with wooden heavy doors and tasty decoration. But while the room could easily fit a 4 stars hotel, the bathroom was very disappointing! Old, ugly and with broken tiles.

Room Tip: My room was interior and I felt there was a lack of fresh air. Next time I would probably go for the rooms with a street view, although the street is quite noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews