We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada del Abuelito
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bo(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$ 275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Parador Margarita(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$ 43
US$ 42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casavieja(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$ 70
US$ 63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guayaba Inn(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansion del Valle(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$ 52
US$ 47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$ 46
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Villas Casa Morada(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$ 125
US$ 120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Guadalupe by Inmense(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$ 79
US$ 77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nuestras Raices(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$ 56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
280
43
9
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
43
9
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomhot watermayan medicinehomemade marmaladebreakfast was amazingcorn flakeswell equipped kitchengreat kitchenfree drinking waterstayed longerbeautiful hostelroaring firefive nightsnice gardencommon areas arefelt like homegreat wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I absolutely loved this hostel. The rooms are really nice, it’s very clean, breakfast was wonderful and the common areas and atmosphere was awesome. The location was good, not too far from the ADO bus terminal, only 10 minutes from the center and close to nice bars and restaurants. It felt like « home » and I can only recommend it !

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel definitely belongs to the best ones we‘ve ever been to! Very friendly staff and so helpful, they‘re lovely! The breakfast is great with best homemade jam & bread and fruits and cereals, perfect start into the day. The beds are very comfy with a lot of blankets if needed, most stable bunkbeds ever (we slept like babies and were very relaxed). Shower is hot & everything clean & well kept. There are many options to sit or to talk all over the place, just beautiful to sit in the patio or the library. Wifi was also fast, cañon tour good and fairly priced. Location calm & easy walking dist. It’s the perfect place for us and has literally everything a traveller needs. Party can be found in many other places in town, this oasis is wonderfully relaxed.

We highly recommend this nice little hostel and would definitely come again! Thank you so much for this great experience!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rapha_y_nici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

This hostel is one of the best I have ever had the privilege to stay at: the beds were Good (in the dorm), the communal area nice & thoughtful; and it has many secret places inside as well if you search, one with a fireplace for the cool-some evening.!
The breakfast is also good, in a great kitchen with a great message for 'huespedes' (guests) on the wall...
Not only is it the place, but the staff ~ William, Nili, Rodrigo & Pedro (and there are more...) are truly great : when I stayed here I succumbed to the almost inevitable tommy-trouble for Europeans/Gringos and Nili and also Rodrigo looked after me with real humanity and help- even taking me to their other 'place - being renovated at the time ('La casa de Juan' I think it as called) -to recuperate in private.
Highly-recommended :)

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulianJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Hands down, this is one of the best hostels I've stayed at. It's charming, clean, has plenty of common areas as well as private spaces, a fantastic kitchen, wonderful breakfast, a cosy library with a fireplace and computer station, as well as a printer which you can use for free. For those who don't know San Cristobal very well it may seem a little out of the way, but as soon as you get your bearings you'll probably realize that this place is one of the very best.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laurence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I was there with two friends for new years eve. We had private room which was really comfortable. The staff is super friendly and helpful, the location is perfect (close to the centre) and the hostel itself is very cosy. Also the breakfast tasted good and there is a cleaning lady every day (if you need).
I would definitely recommend that hostel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews