We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No hot water ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Ranked #8 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No hot water ...”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had a one night stay there in Oaxaca on my way back from Puerto Escondido. The hotel property is nice and the location is good. However, compared to the cheaper and just as pretty B&B's which I stayed in, both in Oaxaca & Puerto Escondido, the management seemingly did not give a hoot about the quality of your stay. This became evident during my checking in when the room was not ready as was promied, and further cutting out the hot water (I don't know if to my room, the whole 3rd floor or the entire hotel) in the morning of my departure. That did not help the sore throat I was nursing, which then turned into a something far more onerous thanks to Aeromexico turning an 8 hour flight back to the US into a 24-hour nightmare in Mexico City airport... There are so many nice B&B's and hotels in Oaxaca, I am sure you can do much much better. My 2 cents ...

Room Tip: Avoid room 306 which has no light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hojat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parador San Mig... O, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We are really sorry to hear that your stay with us was not of your total satisfaction, our most sincere apologies because you had to wait for a room due to our hotel was complete the night before your arrival and our guests leave rooms about 12 pm, we had have to let you know about this circunstance when you did the booking. the Check in time is at 3pm, sometimes we can give to our clients rooms before that time but depending on our availability.

About the fact you did not have hot water early in the morning, there is not excuse! that should not happen, me and my staff feel very ashamed and promise you to work harder to avoid future problems with our next guests.

Sincerely, we appreciate you comments to give a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    115
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
58
164
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife and I just returned from six nights at the Parador San Miguel, and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was diligent, friendly, and hard-working. The place was very clean. The best aspects of it are its wonderful restaurant--we didn't find a better one while we were in Ciudad Oaxaca--and its terrific location only steps from the zocalo, or town square. I will caution that this is not a place to lounge around and watch the surf. Our room did not have an exterior window that opened to anything but the hallway, and we could always hear noise from the street. On the other hand, because of the interior courtyard, we were able to lounge under open sky, and we felt sufficiently sheltered from the street not to be stressed by it. Besides, Oaxaca is a place to get out and DO things, not sit around in a hotel room. Having a clean, safe refuge only steps from the action was priceless.

Room Tip: Ask for a top-floor room, away from the street if you are a light sleeper. I AM a light sleeper, tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SneedCollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We felt the value was excellent; AC, king bed, location right in the middle of the centro (noisy but we wear earplugs and slept like babies); big shower; very helpful staff when we had questions; and the attached restaurant provided great variety and excellent Oaxacan specialties. We would also recommend the guide services of Juan Montes-Lara. We spent 4 days from 8 - 6 with him and really felt we'd learned about the history, culture and people of this area -- very fluent/nuanced English (as well as French and German!) and someone you felt you became friends with by the end of our short 5 days in Oaxaca. His email contact is: Juan MontesLara [juanmonteslara@gmail.com]. While we were there, we were also able to "participate" in a calenda for the Virgin of Solitude and Juan also brought us along as "family" to his neighborhood posadas -- moving and welcoming.

Room Tip: If you don't wear earplugs, ask for a room at the back/ off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpokaneJan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Arrived after 5 hour trip and Reception not overly welcoming; told that breakfast was not included in the relatively expensive price. Room was very quiet, clean and sufficiently expansive albeit no coffee/tea and TV impossible to function. Interesting courtyard with birds in cages. Large somewhat hard bed but dark room brightened by plentiful lighting. Location to Cathedral and Zacola was good. Strongly recommend the covered markets, great fun especially the milk shakes.

Room Tip: We had a suite which was lucky in that it put us at the back of the building. The front rooms are ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed here for Muertos for 4 nights at end of Oct.-early Nov. For Mexico and for Oaxaca, this place is a bit pricey, but worth it. We asked for and got a room on the 3rd level in the back of the hotel, furthest from the st. It was quiet. We did have to ask for a fan, as there was no ceiling fan, and they brought us a fan right away.

The room was smaller in real life than in the pics online, but size was adequate w/king bed and a small equipale sofa and chair. Nice flat screen TV mounted up in the corner. Nice that they give you free bottles of water each day in the rm. The restaurant is good for breakfast and even better for comida - actually one of the better places we ate for comida. Front desk staff are nice but they leave you alone unless you need something. Excellent location, one block off of and behind the cathedral and zocalo.

There are a lot of other places to stay in Oaxaca but for our 25th anniversary I was not going to chance staying somewhere else. This place is nice. And they do cover the bird cages up at night to keep the birds quiet. It is a non-smoking hotel but my husband did smoke a cigar or two up on the big open balcony that overlooks the street in front of the hotel.

One other hint. We used Linda Hanna, who owns a local B&B and it very involved in the folk art scene in Oaxaca, as a tour guide. She took us on a great tour of the towns and artisans in the valley, and took us out to a cemetary for Muertos. Very good experience with her, and we are not ones who usually use tour guides.

Room Tip: When you email with them, if you are concerned about st. noise, ask them for a quiet room in the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileend10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parador San Mig... O, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
We would like to thank you for your confidence and for let us be part of your anniversary celebration, Congratulations!!!!! I'm sure you'll have unfforgetable memories of Oaxaca as well as our Hotel.
All the best, Judith Ilescas - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 km away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 113 in Oaxaca
510 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
1.1 km away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
158 reviews
1.1 km away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 113 in Oaxaca
144 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 113 in Oaxaca
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca

Property: Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Address: Avenida de La Independencia 503, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oaxaca
#7 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,442 - ₹ 10,755
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, 20 minutes from the airport. In the historical downtown area, only a half block from the Central Alameda. The beautiful colonial-style building has three floors with 23 rooms, including four suites.Located on one of the main avenues in the city, the facade had a grand entry door of carved cedar, opening to a lovely porch with a statue of St. Michael the Archangel.A wrought iron gate opens to the hotel vestibule, where walls of ochre, terra-cotta, beige and cream combine with dark green ironwork and green granite columns to provide a dramatic backdrop for the brilliant bougainvillea and geraniums that thrive in the home's central patio. From here you can catch a hint of the spellbinding flavors of our Oaxacan kitchen. In "La Cocina" you can choose a magical dish to your specifications.Small gardens lead to the first level rooms. A majestic green granite stairway crowned with glorious stained glass leads to the second and third levels. On the second level terrace, you could relax or sunbathe accompanied by canaries in a kaleidoscope of multicolored flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Parador San Miguel Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing