We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
119
159
53
21
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
159
53
21
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite swimming pool delightful hotel quiet space rooms are small breakfast was included fluent in english walking distance to everything points of interest few blocks the heart of the city perfect location public areas santo domingo convent courtyard remote
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Loved CasAntica!! If you're looking for a unique place to stay and don't want the American hotel experience, this is where to go. Clean, very well maintained, lovely layout in this old convent. Rooms are on the small side, but perfect for us. Beds very comfortable, great daily service. We ate breakfast daily in the hotel restaurant and loved the fresh fruit. Great for families and couples that enjoy being with families. Great location, near the Zocalo but quiet at night. Most of clientele was Mexican, which was a plus for us, and the staff is fluent in English. We would return here in a heartbeat! Highly recommend for a rich local experience.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CACahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We are staying for two nights
Rooms are incredibly small
Changing the towels was more than difficult
There was no hair dryer in the room
Tried to complain to manager and / or owner but they refused to be contacted
They were supposed to have booked a table at a restaurant in town and when we arrived the reservation had not been made
Very good location and good restaurant service. Rest a nightmare
By the way I said I would complain on TripAdvisor and they couldn’t care less
It’s the first time ever I have such a lousy service with complete lack of interest to assist customers

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Miguel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

We were really pleased with the promixity to the zocalo (about a 2 block walk) and old world charm of this hotel. Room was small but comfortable. A good breakfast was included. Enjoyed our 2 night stay and would recommend to someone who wants to be in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkz_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Management and Staff - Poor, lost reservation, poorly managed, bad service

Hotel Grounds and Rooms - DO NOT book the DOUBLE ROOM it is a micro room with a mini bed, not enough for 2 people, instead book the Suite that is actually just a room not a suite but it has a king size bed and more space and better bathroom. It needs maintenance, Hotel is cute and rooms are ok, but our bathroom didn't work, and showers are horrible and old. Hotel is clean and kind of cute though.

Location - Excellent

Wifi - Horrible

Breakfast - Just Average

MOST IMPORTANTLY
the worst thing was SLEEPING QUALITY, and thats why I don't recommend this hotel at all, it is an old mansion restored and converted to a hotel but the main entrance door is super noisy, and disrespectful guests knock regardless of the hour, so every hour or so, the 3 nights we spent there we were waking up because of the loud knocking and loud talking outside the rooms, you can HEAR EVERYTHING that is going on outside, and there were lots of DISRESPECTFUL GUESTS at that time.

There are better hotels for the same price in the area..

Room Tip: Do Not book a room near the main entrance, or the restaurant, and Do Not book the double room it is a really small and uncomfortable room
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank travellistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

This amiable hotel offered spacious comfortable rooms, tranquil outdoor courtyard common space, a small pool, as well as a popular restaurant. We stayed three nights in a Junior Suite and appreciated the quiet space after busy days touring. Our room could have been made more comfortable with couple of chairs and a table, but we located some just outside our room in the wide courtyard hallway and "borrowed" them for a couple of days. The beds were a little too firm for our liking, but not as firm as the other nearby property we stayed at. The bathroom was comfortable and the shower spacious enough for two people.

The hotel offers easy walking distance to several cultural points of interest and great restaurants, including Catedral—a top Oaxacan restaurant across the street (see our review of this lovely eatery for more details).

Be aware of the potential for noise at the swimming pool which opens until 9pm as a majority of the rooms face onto this pool. Most days were fine but one day two children spend their entire day playing loudly making it difficult to find peaceful retreat from bustling Oaxaca.

Tip: Avoid both the Master Suite and the Presidential Suite as they are at the front of the hotel overlooking the main street below and are likely the noisiest.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle not overlooking the pool are quietest.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepid_Pursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews