We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
53
16
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
16
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pan dulce chilaquiles within walking distance pedestrian street four nights first floor ac historico noise block city mezcal
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We went to Oaxaca for the first time to attend a wedding. This is the loveliest hotel that we have stayed at. The personnel is amazing. Zenon, was one of the person's there. He was very well informed on most of the city's attractions. He even found a beauty shop for us to get our hair done. I felt like royalty there. Oh, almost forgot, they wait up for you at night to see if you need anything!.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leticia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orieta1967, Gerente at La Catrina de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Ms. Leticia:

It was a pleasure to have you here in CATRINA DE ALCALA. All the staff will be happy to receive you here again very soon.

Happy new year ..

Orieta Ballesteros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for the week of the day of the Dead. We travel half the year and the service from the staff here is the best we have enjoyed in years. Clean ,quiet but within a block of the center. The restaurant is very good as well. We will be back!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank edwards572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orieta1967, Gerente at La Catrina de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Mr. Edwards:
It was a pleasure to have you in CATRINA DE ALCALA, I am glad to hear that you love it the service .
Hope to see you very soon.

Best Regards

Orieta Ballesteros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

This hotel is conveniently located very close to Santo Domingo and all the main attractions in the Centro Historico. There are multiple dinning options from street food to formal dinning places.
The rooms and premises are clean and the beds are comfortable, shower head has good pressure. They offer "continental breakfast" but is only coffee, fruit or juice and a piece of freshly baked pan dulce. If you want something from the menu is an extra charge but prices are very reasonable and the food is delicious, you should try anything in the menu.
The down part is the noise coming from the restaurant early in the morning, if you are a light sleeper (I am), it might be a problem, but after a couple of nights you'll be fine.
The staff all of them are super friendly. I most definitely come back to this lovely little hotel.

Room tip: No lift in this hotel and seems like all the rooms are located in the second floor, but they will bring your luggage up.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Izzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orieta1967, Gerente at La Catrina de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Miss Izzy:
Tankyou very much for your commets at CATRINA DE ALCALA HOTEL. We are glad to hear that you have a great time in Oaxaca and in the hotel.
We will take care about the noisy comming from the kitchen.
Hope to see you soon in CATRINA DE ALCALA.

Best Regards
Orieta Ballesteros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We stayed at this lovely hotel for four nights in early July. The location is prime, right on the Andador Turistico and less than three blocks from the Zocalo. The hotel is two stories, with a central courtyard used for the restaurant. We stayed in a room with one king bed on the first floor. Both the living space and the bathroom were spacious, well-decorated, and very clean.

The staff was super-friendly from check-in to check-out. Zenon was very nice, helping us with restaurant reservations, loaning us an umbrella, setting us up with a table and chairs on the roof for watching the several pre-Guelaguezta parades, and speaking with us slowly in basic Spanish and helping us learn new words and phrases.

We ate breakfast at the hotel three of our four days. Coffee, fruit, and house made (and delicious) pan dulce were included in the price of our stay. Additional options, such as omelets, chilaquiles, and Oaxacan specialties were available for a reasonable price and very tasty.

We would not hesitate to choose this hotel again for another trip to Oaxaca.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orieta1967, Gerente at La Catrina de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Mr. Jaime:
It was a pleasure to serve you in CATRINA DE ALCALA. Thank you for your nice comments, we are glad to hear that you have a wonderfull time in Oaxaca and wiht us.

hope to see next year of before that time.

Best Regards
Orieta Ballesteros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

My wife and I stayed four nights at this quaint and quiet hotel in the heart of Oaxaca City. The staff is very helpful and kind - they offered a complimentary mezcal on our arrival. Our room was very spacious - I mean it was perfect for practicing yoga. The evenings were very quiet, the beds were extremely comfortable, and the AC was perfect. The bathroom was very big and shower was amazing! Breakfast is served in the morning - chairs are very comfortable unlike most of the chairs throughout Oaxaca City. I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler who would want to spend a few nights in Oaxaca City. The hotel is on a pedestrian street so there's no noise from traffic - what a delight! No complaints from us! Perfect o!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikeycee0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orieta1967, Gerente at La Catrina de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Mr Mike:

We love to serve people that enjoy the hotel and the city of Oaxaca. It was a pleasure to have you with us, thank you for the nice comments of your hotel CATRINA DE ALCALA.
Hope to see you next year or before.
Best Regards
Orieta Ballesteros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews