We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
82
45
12
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
45
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area yogurt eggs cooked to order morning noise hectic city tea and coffee minute walk eggs any style hot water beautiful pool restaurants and bars the main house loved staying here spent three nights simple breakfast pay cash few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

When we first arrived we were not greeted with a smile. Guests were making questions at the lobby and we were ignored for a few minutes. -Oh, oh-, I thought, -we're in for bad service-. On the contrary, the staff takes such good care of their guests, that they look after them and are eager to answer your questions and please you (that's exactly what they were doing with the guests at the lobby).

The hotel is pretty nice and the pool area & garden are a delight. The breakfasts are good too.

As for the noise, the other reviews are spot on: you can hear EVERYTHING happening outside your room. It can be very disturbing, especially if you are in a heavily walked area (as we were). On the other side of things, the hotel was full, and we had a very difficult time getting hot water to our shower. We had to shower off-hours to get some hot water.

Other than that, it is a comfy 10 minute walk to Santo Domingo, we were said goodbye with a hug from the staff, we would return.

Room Tip: Upper floors to avoid the movement in the lower floors.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

lovely place,
good and rich breakfast included
quiet
nice location
helpful staff
convenient parking
the beds are short and not very comfortable, but all the rest is charming
lovely place,
good breakfast included
quiet
nice location
helpful staff
convenient parking
the beds are short and not very comfortable, but all the rest is very good

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martino P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

I just spent a week in Oaxaca and cannot be happier about the hotel choice.

The place is simple, pretty, impeccably maintained. There was always a person in the front office or nearby available to help, answer questions, give directions. Rocio and Estevan are incredibly friendly and helpful and with me were endlessly patient. They booked a day trip for me, arranged a taxi for a day ($10 an hour) and a taxi to airport ($10). From airport, thou, I took a minibus – collectivo – for $4.50 that also drops people at their destinations; you only have to wait a little until the minibus gets enough passengers.

My room was on the second floor of the house (as opposed to rooms around the pool), comfortable, clean, nothing fancy, but had everything needed. The sound does travel easily from ground floor up so that I could hear people downstairs, but at night the place is quiet. Ceiling light is not bright, but night stand lamps give enough light for reading. Shower takes up to 5 min to warm up and then has a lot of very hot water.

The property has charming sitting/resting areas. Pool area is super inviting, I spent some time there every day, reading or talking to people, and a pool was warm enough to swim.

Hotel’s location cannot be better: quiet yet central, just five minutes away from the main avenue – Calle Alcalá, which goes from Cathedral of Santo Domingo to Zocalo, with abundance of shops, restaurants and art galleries. If you go left from the hotel, on the next block you will find a tasty and cheap restaurant – Saint Sabor, but it is not open late; farther along the street there are more restaurants, bars, amazing art galleries, little “holes in the walls” selling snacks and water, pharmacy on the corner with Calle Alcalá; and if you go to the right from the hotel, you will get to a big market at the end of the street where you can buy any food or eat there. I was determined to find a supermarket, which was not easy; there is one at the end of Calle Independencia, I went there after visiting gorgeous Basílica de Nuestra Señora de la Soledad.

I loved my stay in the Casa.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NYAnatolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a perfect location. Its a 5 minute walk to the centre of town. Great breakfast, friendly & helpful staff and a very nice little pool area.
Tea, coffe and water available all day. We loved staying here even though the bed was a little small (we stayed in the matrimonial bed) but they also offer rooms with king size beds.
We would def stay there again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anmue1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for seven nights and unfortunately would not recommend staying here. The double and king sized bedrooms all face into the dining area for breakfast, so you hear every single noise where breakfast is served (at 7:30am), as people’s voices and the grinding sounds of moving chairs echo very loudly. It woke us up every morning! We met a couple on the floor above us who wore forced to wear earplugs every night. To add to this the bed was rock hard, VERY uncomfortable.

When we tried to discuss the noise issue with reception, we were given the runaround for three days before we were able to speak to the manager! Instead of upgrading us to a quiet room, the manager did not care at all, he actually insisted that WE would have to pay for the upgrade to the bungalows at the back of the hotel where it was less noisy. So, instead, we requested to cancel and get a refund of the remaining nights we had already paid in advance. They once again did not care and refused to refund the money so we could stay somewhere else.

We called Expedia and they said that it was up to management whether or not to give us a refund. In fact Expedia even rang the hotel to request management refund our advanced payment and management REFUSED to do so, thus forcing us to stay or lose all our money. So if you prefer to actually be able to sleep when you stay at a hotel, and not be disregarded by management, we suggest you consider another hotel in Oaxaca.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adventures4LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews