We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I spent three nights at this charming boutique hotel about a block from Oaxaca's busy main square (Zocalo). My room was spacious and comfortable, and featured air conditioning and cable TV. The hotel, in a remodeled colonial building, is very well maintained, and the staff is friendly and courteous. The breakfast buffet was delicious—the same basics like coffee and oaxacan hot chocolate and fresh-squeezed orange juice, but different buffet dishes every day. Crispy quesadillas with the stringy oaxacan cheese and a bit of fresh epazote. Chewy chicharrón in green sauce. Chilaquiles with black beans. Different kinds of tamales. Dense, rich pasilla chile sauce was the condiment of choice. Friends staying at another hotel decided to join me for breakfast every day. The staff offered special attention for a sick child and made sure that my friends could warm a baby bottle whenever they needed to. The pool looked lovely but we were so busy exploring Oaxaca we didn't have a chance to try it out. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VivaMexicoLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    50
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
47
82
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Hotel de la Parra is a small hotel conveniently located in the centre of Oaxaca, 1 block away from the Zocalo and walking distance from the charming "tourist corridor". The hotel is a colonial house nicely renovated, even has a small pool. While hotel does not have a garage, it has a convenient arrangement with a garage a block away from the hotel. People at the hotel are friendly and helpful, also free WIFI in room is an additional bonus. While rooms were comfortable, they are small for US standards and also a bit dark, both during the day and at night, as windows are small and additional light was not enough. Although breakfast was not included in my room package, it was served daily in the patio for a very reasonable price. Overall, a good stay at the Hotel de la Parra.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie-NYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

The hotel is right off the Zocalo corner (no need to walk more than 5 blocks to visit all the main city attractions), once inside a quiet atmosphere surrounds the hotel, at the back an intimate patio with a small pool, lounges, palm trees a bar with couches, the perfect place to get away, read and take a nap, the staff told me they will be opening a small spa by Christmas, superb idea. Rooms are ok, clean bathrooms, bathrobes, safe in room, buffet breakfast for only $80 pesos, I will definitely stay at DeLa Parra on my next trip to Oaxaca

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester England
Level Contributor
205 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

The hotel is situated in a perfect location just about one hundred yards down a main road off the zocalo where all the life and action in Oaxaca is focused.

It a small but surprising older style hotel. Built around a couple of courtyard one of which has now been turned into a reasonable swimming pool which offers an interesting retreat and a place to relax.

There are only 14 rooms, so no tour parties, and they are spacious and clean. The Staff are very obliging and friendly. You also free wifi connection throughout the hotel. It does not have its own laundry facility but the front desk will make arrangements for you at a very reasonable price. Breakfast is served in the courtyard and is of a reasonable standard.

Oaxaca is a must to visit both for itself and Monte Alban and the location of this hotel alone makes it a great place to stay when visiting.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seebeforeigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiriqui
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

Although we find Oaxaca very expensive overall (compared to Guadalajara, for example), the Hotel de la Parra was nice and convenient...but our room was so small we didn't have room to open a suitcase. No coffee maker in the room, either. Luckily, we were a few days before the Day of the Dead weekend, so I asked for an upgrade and they gave it to me at no extra charge. So we had a Jr Suite for the same rate, but still compared to Medellin (where we recently stayed in a suite with breakfast and interent included for $80) this was a bit rich. I think they should include breakfast in the rate. Staff very friendly, especially Rodolfo who made restaurant recommendations and got us a hotel booking in Puerto Escondido at the Santa Fe which we loved.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCWriterChiriqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 km away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.8 km away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#16 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#24 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique De La Parra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique De La Parra

Property: Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Address: Calle Vicente Guerrero No. 117 | Col. Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#4 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,883 - ₹ 13,187
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique De La Parra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de la Parra is a hacienda-style boutique hotel located steps away from the Zócalo, or center square, of Oaxaca City. We offer rooms equipped with air conditioning, minibars, and all the amenities, as well as a lovely pool and restaurant. Well-situated in the heart of Oaxaca's majestic historic center, Hotel De La Parra is surrounded by gourmet restaurants, beautiful churches, fascinating museums and many other sites of interest.These are the ingredients which make Hotel De La Parra one of the best, most comfortable places to stay in Oaxaca.Welcome to Oaxaca, and to the Hotel De La Parra! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boutique De La Parra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Parra Oaxaca
De La Parra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing