We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cultural time travel in Sierra Norte”

Pueblos Mancomunados
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 349.00*
and up
Oaxaca Adventure Tour: Traditional Mexican...
Ranked #8 of 101 things to do in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pueblos Mancomunados of the Sierra Norte of Oaxaca constitute one of the most outstanding examples of community social organization in Mexico. Their Nature trails integrate a network of more tan 100 kilometers of rural footpaths and country roads suitable for hokers and mountain bikers of all abilities, designed to show its visitors the most relevant aspects of this exceptionally beautiful natural area. This is an intercommunity cooperation initiative which promotes the communities preservation of natural and cultural heritage through the promotion of responsible tourism of high quality, linked to the natural environment, traditions and customs of the pueblos. Please, help us to improve our services and complete our Satifaction Survey (only in spanish, available on our facebook page.Thank you!
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We contracted w ESN fora package of one overnight accomdation, all meals and spanish speacking guide for three tours in two days. We were amazed by the lifestyle fo hteinhabitants of the pueblas, their artisanl farm to tabl efood, and thier beauitful vistas and pine forests teeming w orchids and bromilaids..

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank skephaniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expediciones S, Gerente at Pueblos Mancomunados, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear traveler and client
Thank you for give us a perfect score and recommend visit our communities. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Pueblos Mancomunados.
We hope have the opportunity to receive your visit again!.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"expediciones sierra norte"
in 30 reviews
"benito juarez"
in 25 reviews
"tourist office"
in 6 reviews
"day hike"
in 15 reviews
"community service"
in 4 reviews
"hiking routes"
in 2 reviews
"extra blankets"
in 2 reviews
"starting point"
in 3 reviews
"live at sea level"
in 2 reviews
"village life"
in 5 reviews
"high altitude"
in 4 reviews
"cloud forest"
in 5 reviews
"long days"
in 2 reviews
"oaxaca city"
in 11 reviews
"second half"
in 2 reviews
"year olds"
in 2 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 5 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2017

We went to the pueblos in the Sierra Norte last weekend (during the early part of January). We had heard it was cold but weren't quite prepared as the temperatures dipped all over the region that weekend and it was very cloudy, cold and wet. Still it was a wonderful trip as the hikes were great with a wonderful 74 year young guide who showed us lots of plants, flowers and trees, including medicinal ones. We hiked the first day from Llano Grande to two different waterfalls and then spent the night in Llano Grande. The second day we hiked to Cuajimoyolas where we ate lunch and then headed back to Oaxaca. We booked our trip through the Pueblos Mancomunados agency, Expediciones Sierra Norte, in Oaxaca (they have a website too) and the prices were very reasonable and included the guides, the meals, entrance fee into the area and bottled water. The food was great and they accommodated our preference for vegetarian meals. It's not anything fancy but is filling and hardy. The cabin was nice but like most cabins is not very well insulated so we spent the time in the cabin in front of the fireplace. Things were clean. We would love to come back here in the summer when there is more in bloom and the temperatures are warmer. Our guide told us there are more than 200 varieties of edible mushrooms that grow here and they have a festival of mushrooms during the end of July/beginning of August when you can go on mushroom collecting hikes and then return to classes that show you how to prepare them. I highly commend this community effort to provide sustainable ecotourism and definitely recommend going here. And if you are a mountain biker, we saw tons of jumps they have constructed on the mountain biking trails that look fun to try for the adventurous.

Date of experience: January 2017
2  Thank MarkinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expediciones S, Gerente at Pueblos Mancomunados, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thank you for your reviews!
Is great to read that enjoyed the trip to Pueblos Mancomunados. We hope to see you on July in the Mushroom Fair!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

had the best hike of my life! and also the zipline! everything was awesome beginning from the people working there!

Date of experience: November 2016
2  Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We went up to the village of Benito Juarez on a private tour. Signed up for a Car and driver for eight hours and we picked the destinations. It would have been much cheaper to rent a car, though neither of us were interested in driving anywhere near Oaxaca city, so the private car for the day seemed like our simplest option.
The drive is about an hour and a half from Oaxaca city, up into the mountains. Temperatures are much cooler and excellent for incredible hiking. Just above the village is a mirador(view point) and an interesting suspension bridge. The hiking through the pine forests was a great getaway from the heat down in the valley. Lots of pine, fir, and Madrone trees, filled with bromeliads and all kinds of flora and fauna I can't identify. There are a few zip lines next to the suspension bridge but unfortunately not open while we were there. We were told of a waterfall that is on a well marked trail but the three hour hike would have taken more time then we had. Some Spanish will be needed if you intend to go here on your own, English will get you nowhere. There are accommodations up in the villages and you will likely save a lot of money if you drive up and book directly rather then booking through the Oaxaca office.

Date of experience: November 2016
6  Thank 244miltonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2016

I went with some friends from Mexico City on a mountain biking trip. We had high expectations, and they were all highly exceeded. The views, the people, the food, the housing, everything is perfect. Safety is no issue, as this place is well taken care of and far away from any trouble in Oaxaca City. I contacted Expediciones Sierra Norte and they were really kind and professional at all times. We spent three days at Llano Grande, a local village in Sierra Norte. We went on different bike rides each day and they were all astonishing, the trails perfectly built and the views amazing. Highly recommend it for anyone who wants to go hiking, biking, or just looking for some time to relax in the mountains.

Date of experience: November 2016
2  Thank AlvaroG556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pueblos Mancomunados also viewed

 

Been to Pueblos Mancomunados? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing