We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent mid-range option.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Golondrinas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Las Golondrinas
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, Reino Unido
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent mid-range option.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I recently stayed here on my first visit to Oaxaca after years of travelling in Mexico. It's a beautiful little hotel in a colonial-style building about 5-10 mins' walk from the main plaza. All of the rooms give onto leafy patios where you can hang out after a long day. The rooms are pretty, very Oaxacan, and come with bathroom, bottled water and fan, but no TV (wireless Internet is included in the price). My only complaint would be that breakfast - delicious as it was and served outside on the patio - was not included in the price of the room; yet there were a good choice of options on the menu. The staff can speak English and were very friendly and helpful, and cleanliness was superb. The guests here tend to be older, middle-aged North Americans and Europeans, or families, which keeps the atmosphere pretty tranquil. Overall, highly recommended if this is what you're looking for.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chilango_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    73
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
79
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We spent 3 nights here right after christmas. The staff was really friendly and the roooms nice and clean (somewhat basic, but we didn't mind). Breakfast was ok (not included) and served in one of the nice patios. The hotel is really close from the zocalo and santo domingo. The one downside we found is that they have no parking space.

Room Tip: I'd try to avoid rooms nearby the breakfast area (we didn't stay in one, but I guess the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

The back rooms are small but fine but the front ones including AA are dark and noisy. For the money the hotel is not a patch on Las Mariposas where friends have been staying. The garden is sweet. Breakfast service is very laid back but I have found that pretty much everywhere ( except Cafe Brujula). I wouldnt recommend LG for single women travellers and the walk up from Alcala is a little dark

Room Tip: at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewtLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Breakfast in the garden is a joy!
The rooms are pretty standard and characterless but clean and big.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We were in Oaxaca for Day of the Dead rituals, visiting ruins, artists, weavers and wood carvers. It was a remarkable experience, all nested in lodging at Las Golondrinas. The staff were exceptionally kind and helpful; the breakfasts were delicious and wonderfully situated in a lovely garden; the room had the ambience of Oaxaca, was very spacious, comfortable, and clean. I appreciated having access to a safe, as well as the convenient location of the hotel for walking about Oaxaca. We highly recommend this hotel for staying in beautiful Oaxaca, and would certainly return.

Room Tip: In the center of the courtyard, away from the street....feels very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiousadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#23 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#34 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#20 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#18 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#21 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Golondrinas

Property: Las Golondrinas
Address: Calle Tinoco y Palacios 411, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,006 - ₹ 3,008
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel Oaxaca
Las Golondrinas Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing