We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
254
47
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
47
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homeowner janelight supperfresh fruit and juicesarts and craftsfelt very safeoaxacan artminute walkan oasisbusy cityan amazing citycommon roombarking dogsa special placeexploring oaxacaspent a weekinner courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

The Casa Colonial is an amazing place, as you come through the door, the world slips away. Having made numerous visits over the years, I have come to think of Casa Colonial as a haven. The city of Oaxaca offers unending beauty. The Casa extends this beauty and magnifies it within it's walled courtyard. It is a joy to sit and watch the birds and butterflies on the lawn, surrounded by tropical plants, flowers and trees while peacefully dreaming of the day to come. Everyday is an adventure in Oaxaca. The staff of the Casa will make your stay exceptional. Amado, the manager is welcoming and always happy to help, he will always go that extra mile to make sure your stay is a great one. I am always so pleased to see the staff who make the Casa feel like a home away from home. Year after year their dedication and hospitality contribute so much to the spirit of the Casa Colonial. The morning breakfasts are always delicious, fresh fruit and juices, granola and yogurt, a choice of eggs as you like them and a daily special of local flavor starts the day, in the beautiful art and light filled dining room. The owner Jane is a good friend, and she is at the heart of the Casa. I am already dreaming of our return to the Casa Colonial.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Betsy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

This was our third stay and each time we book a longer stay. we want to allow time to just relax in the shady gardens at “the Casa”, in addition to the myriad things there are to do in beautiful Oaxaca. The location is convenient and the zocalo can be reached with a 15 minute walk, or taxis are easy to hail and cost only 50 pesos (about 2.50 US) to go anywhere in town. The staff is friendly, helpful, and efficient and most of them have been there for many years. There is no need to lock room doors, or worry about leaving valuables in the room. The manager, Amado, is completely bilingual and can help in many ways, including arranging drivers, tours, etc. the Casa is owned by an expat American, Jane, who seems to know everything and almost everyone in Oaxaca. The guests are frequently very interesting, especially in the arts, and the big breakfast table allows for chatting with others. In summary, the atmosphere is tranquil and garden-y, the owner and staff are friendly and helpful, and there is opportunity to relax and socialize or just lounge and read alone.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jillben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

I've lost count of how many times we've returned to this place. Yes, we're close friends with Jane WITH, but, it's more than that. The place has a cozy vibe that makes you want to just hang around. The staff are wonderful and accommodating. We've met some interesting guest, who we 'overlap' visits now. I have found th noise, an everyday part of life in a city in Mexico, what you get with aa ever facsinanating city. If you want quiet, stay home. But, if you are seeing incredible food, arts and crafts,and place with important history ,this is it.

Room Tip: This is an older building, so it can be a challenge. when booking, talk to the manager, Amado.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

I resided at Casa Colonial for one month. The owner, Jane, and the manager, Amado, were welcoming and warm-hearted and were available to offer tips and advice re: exploring the city and surrounding countryside. A full, warm breakfast was provided each morning which included fruit and fresh squeezed juice. For weary travelers, a cena (light supper) was also available in the evening. The 7-person Spanish-speaking staff are wonderful people and our needs were always met despite the language difference. And it was fun to engage in pantomime as needed! The biggest selling point for me was the gorgeous inner courtyard with its trees, flowers, birds and water features. What a lovely respite after a long day of sightseeing! The library is also a restful place with a wonderful variety of reading material. There can be barking dogs, fireworks, and some traffic noise at night but this is a big Mexican city, so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

There are many things to like about Casa Colonial. The interior courtyard and grounds are lovely, the library and common room are wonderful, the breakfasts are delicious, and the Casa dog - Durango - is great. However, the Casa sits on the very busy corner of Miguel Nigrete and Division Oriente - which is one of the main routes out of town. (See attached photo - the Casa is the turquoise building on the corner to the left.) Unfortunately our room was near the corner, and it was very noisy with street traffic all day and all night. We are used to sleeping in Mexico and understand that it is not necessarily going to be quiet, but this was LOUD and it was difficult to enjoy the many wonders of Oaxaca on a week of sleepless nights.

P.S. The final night I paid for an additional room deep in the courtyard (none were available sooner) and it was a bit quieter.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatMar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews