We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 245
US$ 239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca(Oaxaca)
US$ 105
US$ 92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 67
US$ 55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 279
US$ 270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Andaina Hostel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
US$ 22
US$ 17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 90
US$ 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 66
US$ 53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Azucenas(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
US$ 64
US$ 50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 83
US$ 78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
306
143
20
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
143
20
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager carloshi expressbreakfast staffthe hotel managerminute walkrefried beansjunior suitebusiness centerbreakfast roomsanto domingo churchcomplimentary breakfastevery morningevery guestexcellent place to staychilaquilesthe entire hotelwalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

We spent four nights at the Holiday Inn as part of our visit to Oaxaca. We arrived late in the evening and were pleasantly greeted by the staff.
I was initially worried when our room was right by the elevator, but our room was quite sound proof.
Our room was spacious and we had a king bed and a sofa. There was enough seating that we could visit with our friends.
The bathroom sink was separate and the toilet adjoined the shower. We had plenty of towels.
There was a coffee maker in the room and they used Blason coffee, which was tasty.
The breakfast buffet was very good, with fresh fruit, yogurt, a variety of baked goods, eggs prepared in different ways, and other hot items. Try the hot chocolate! The wait staff were very helpful.
We found the pool warm, but it was nice to relax in the water after a full day of sightseeing. Fresh towels were promptly provided for our swim.
We found the location of the hotel quite convenient. A Pitico grocery store was two blocks away, a park was across the street, and it was a comfortable walk to the zocalo, restaurants and sights.
Taxis were readily available.
The only thing we would have liked was the use of a small fridge.
Special thanks to Manager Manuel who greeted us every morning. He takes obvious pride in his hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank digitalcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFF HOLIDAY I... E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca Centro Historico for your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff.
With regard to your comment about the small fridge in the room, please be advised that unfortunately our standard and junior suite rooms does not have small fridge, only our suites with King Size Bed has a small fridge for you consider it when you make your next reservation with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca Centro Historico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

My Husband and I left Casantica without a refund as we had a crummy room and worse service. We moved into Holiday Inn for the next 4 days. Wow,great crew,super customer service at all levels, wonderful location, comfortable beds.....It is a big thumbs up.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank alvinalvinalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFF HOLIDAY I... E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property here.
We are pleased to hear everything exceeded all your expectations and we were able to make your stay a memorable one. I will share this with all departments and they will be absolutely delighted. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely
Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca Centro Histórico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 3 nights of our ten nights in Oaxaca in mid-April. The hotel conforms to an American style, AC, first floor pool, small gym, carpeted halls, and so on. That can be a respite from deep immersion in a new culture. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood with a nearby Italian restaurant that is passable, and a fine wine store, La Contra Oaxaca, just 2 blocks away. Even farther north is likely the best wine shop in Oaxaca, called the Prissa Oaxaca Gourmet.

The room we had included breakfast which was served as a buffet and tasty. I prefer a sit down restaurant and ordering off a menu as many of the hotels in Oaxaca offer. But this was decent food, and as we found everywhere in Oaxaca, the salsas were noteworthy.

The hotel is on the northern edge of the "tourist district." The Zocalo and Benito Jauraz markets are about a mile south, and maybe even a little farther away is the shuttle service to Monte Alban. The first class bus station is a short distance away from the hotel. The Museum of Cultures, Santo Domingo, is 1/2 a mile south.

During breakfast one morning the manager stopped by our table to see that all of our needs were met. It was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFF HOLIDAY I... E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you for sharing your brilliant review of your recent stay with us and your recommendation to fellow travellers. It is incredibly rewarding to read that the room met your expectations and that our location was convenient to you. I will pass on your compliments to the entire team who I am sure were delighted to assist you.

Thank you again for your kind review and I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely
Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca Centro Histórico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Small (for Holiday Inn) hotel tucked into a quiet corner of central Oaxaca. It's only a few blocks to the nearest markets, groceries and so on. Small pool, shaded for most of the day. Breakfast is varied and good. Soundproofing could be a little better (especially from the pool courtyard) but overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dbaaronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFF HOLIDAY I... E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us after your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca Centro Historico. We are delighted to hear the hotel as well as service from our team met all your needs and expectations and it is comments like this that they strive towards every day. We could not agree with you more that our location is perfect for our guests to explore the city.

We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca Centro Histórico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We have been going to this hotel since it opened. It continues to be an excellent, well managed place to stay. The management continues to go the extra mile to make everyone`s stay a good one. The building itself is attractive and perfectly maintained including the swimming pool. Breakfast is excellent. The location is in quiet street with two parks nearby, yet still walking distance from the main attractions e.g. Santo Domingo, San Pablo Cultural Centre, Zocalo etc.

Room Tip: Request a room facing courtyard or garden in hotel next door.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _kennethsmith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFF HOLIDAY I... E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us after your recent stay. We are delighted to hear the hotel as well as service from our team met all your needs and expectations and it is comments like this that they strive towards every day. We could not agree with you more that our location is perfect for our guests to explore the city.

We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca Centro Historico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews