We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the glass doors”

Cathedral of Our Lady of the Assumption
Ranked #20 of 100 things to do in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lavish cathedral sits on the town's zócalo.
Reviewed 14 May 2018

This Cathedral is not as sumptuous as Santo Domingo but it has some of the most beautiful carved glass doors. The glass panels depict religious figures simply using bas relief carving/etching of the glass. The sense of depth of the figure changes as you move. Truly very special and understated.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"side chapels"
in 7 reviews
"etched glass"
in 6 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 14 reviews
"big church"
in 3 reviews
"nice church"
in 4 reviews
"few blocks"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful architecture"
in 3 reviews
"the main square"
in 3 reviews
"oaxaca city"
in 4 reviews
"facade"
in 10 reviews
"saints"
in 9 reviews
"mass"
in 11 reviews
"gold"
in 12 reviews
"catholic"
in 6 reviews
"sanctuary"
in 4 reviews
"mexico"
in 15 reviews
"statues"
in 3 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

This is one of the most important churches in Oaxaca. Besides it’s physical beauty (rivaled by Santo Domingo), what I liked best about this church is that it was in active use. I saw many people praying inside the church. There’s a little museum behind it, but it was closed the day we were there. There is a big square next to it where I enjoyed people watching.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Before we went in we passed this massive but also beautiful Cathedral several times. The facade is beautiful with a lot of great details. The atmosphere in front of the church and around the Zocalo is hectic and sometimes a bit loud but once you enter it all of that is gone from one second to the other. The ceilings are incredibly high and it’s dimensions just let you be amazed. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank rapha_y_nici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This is an amazing cathedral and one that I have a love / hate relationship with. On the one hand the gold leaf, the structure and the location is second to none. But then the poverty outside I find an oxymoron.
So let’s put that aside and give you my noughts on the cathedral rather than what it stands for.
Located in a central part of Oaxaca with the museum attached to the left, its location is perfect to visit and the ground around it are a nice place for a snack or to meet others.
At night this place is well lit and worth a visit after dark.
Inside you’ll find all the usual churchy things including people on tours.
The altar is covered with gold lead as are some of the side chambers. Explore and enjoy.
Make sure you look up. The roof is amazing.
Wheelchair friendly. Kid friendly. Free entry and no wifi.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank thetravellingspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Beautiful old cathedral in the heart of Oaxaca. We visited this cathedral on a Sunday. It is located in the Zocalo, city square, of Oaxaca. What a lively place it was for the locals and tourists alike. The inside of the cathedral was really beautiful with all its ornate statues. Definitely worth a stop if you ever in Oaxaca.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank jefferyp2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral of Our Lady of the Assumption also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral of Our Lady of the Assumption? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing