We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
107
47
15
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
47
15
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant hot tub first floor beautiful altar fresh flowers minute walk relative term mexican choices plastic waste small pool gave us great tips plunge pool quieter neighborhood santo domingo hotel is situated good size nice bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

This was a wonderful hotel, very clean, fresh flowers everywhere, comfortable room and spacious shower. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. If you're in the mood for Italian food after a while, the upstairs restaurant was delicious. Overall, a great stay! Recommended!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank blucas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosPilaresHotel, Director de Recepción at Los Pilares Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you very much for all good comments from the characteristics of the hotel, thank you also for the comments about the staff that we work in the hotel and the personal way we treat each guest. it was an honor to have served his visit to the city. We hope to return soon to the city and allow us to be part of your stay.

Regards

Elías Geovanni Peláez / Los Pilares Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We needed a room for one night, and it was pretty last minute so we didn't expect much. But it was better than expected, although the only thing was that our room didn't have any windows to outside. It was on the first floor looking into the common areas so there was less privacy, and you have to keep the curtains closed all the time. Otherwise, the hotel was nice, it was pretty clean and the little pool upstairs at breakfast was pleasant. They also let us park in the property and locked the gate when we arrived late.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosPilaresHotel, Director de Recepción at Los Pilares Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you so much;

We hope that at another time you will allow us to be part of your visit to the city and we will gladly look for ways to grant you another room. We appreciate the good comments made about the service we offer.

regards

Elías Geovanni Peláez / Los Pilares Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is set in a beautiful courtyard. Nice spacious rooms with windows facing the courtyard. One downside is that curtains need to be kept shut for privacy, so the lights in the room always have to be on. Great location - it took less than 10 minutes to walk to town. There is a restaurant with a nice city view. For the price it would be good if a basic breakfast was included. The breakfast was good but pricey! Only other downside was that our room was very noisy. From about 6am noise from the restaurant disturbed us. We mentioned this to the reception who were not very sympathetic and unfortunately no other rooms were available. Aside from that we enjoyed the hotel and found the staff helpful.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kkeenan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosPilaresHotel, Director de Recepción at Los Pilares Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Good morning;

We appreciate all the good comments about the hotel, and we will take into account your recommendations to seek to improve our service for our clients, we apologize if it was not possible to change your room for the holiday season. We hope you will soon return to Oaxaca to continue enjoying everything the city has to offer.

Respectfully.

Elías Geovanni Peláez / Los Pilares Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in Los Pilares and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
The hotel is just outside the hustle and bustle of the town and feels like a calm retreat. Like everywhere in Mexico calm and silence is a relative term and the noise from the street is still around you. We stayed in room number 1. The room doesn’t have exterior windows and the benefit of this is that it reduces the noise level but it did feel a little claustrophobic and cell like as well.
The restaurant serves fantastic breakfasts with a wonderful variety of choices. In the evening it specialises in Italian food and given that the chef and manager are both from Italy you can rest assured that the quality is very good indeed.
All staff were enormously friendly and helpful, we were made to feel like valued guests. The public areas are filled with fresh flowers and the whole place feels very loved and well looked after.
One small grumble I have is that given México is the biggest consumer of plastic bottles it would be good to have water coolers in the lobby rather than giving everybody small water bottles every day. Recycling plastic is inefficient and expensive and still harmful to the environment. Better to avoid using it in the first place. Apart from this Los Pilares is a great stay and I hope to come back soon.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sibrijns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosPilaresHotel, Director de Recepción at Los Pilares Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your visit to Oaxaca.

It is very good for us to know that we have fulfilled the expectations of the hotel, we will make the annotation of the comment made about the use of platicos in the rooms.

We hope to see you soon here.

regards

Elías Geovanni Peláez / Los Pilares Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

This hotel is in a great location to experience the historical center of Oaxaca while slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the Zocalo. It's a short walk to Santo Domingo, the Zocalo, El Llano, etc, but it feels a bit removed. It's a short walk from a bunch of great restaurants and coffee shops too.

The hotel itself is small and intimate. The fresh flowers everywhere is great, the staff are friendly, and everything is spotless.

I highly recommend the restaurant for dinner. It may feel silly getting Italian food in Mexico, but this stuff is legit. We watched the chef hand make the pasta and everything was on point. It's a beautiful location eat, the food was amazing, the prices more than reasonable, and the staff were great.

A few small complaints:

-The front door is locked after a certain hour. This is fine, except when guests get back late and have to ring the doorbell multiple times to get in. I'm sure it was a bummer for the guests, but it was also a bummer for me trying to stay asleep at midnight.
-The pool area is only really good for a couple people at a time. There are two lounge chairs, and if they're taken you're out of luck.
-The internet is a bit spotty at some locations
-There is no easy place to refill water bottles. They give you two small bottles in your room, but given all the concerns about tap water in Oaxaca, it would be great if there was a place to fill up your bottles before heading out for the day. Would also cut down on plastic waste of tons of 16 oz bottles.
-The double bed rooms are a bit small. Fine for couples, but traveling with a family might be tight
-Check with hotel about if there are weddings or other celebrations scheduled. Talked to one guest who was there during a weeding who said things got pretty noisy.

Room tip: Avoid rooms on first floor facing street. Rooms also pick up noise from patio/pool area.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trustyrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosPilaresHotel, Director de Recepción at Los Pilares Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

We appreciate all the comments made about the facilities, the service and the staff.

Each of the details will be considered to always seek to give the best service to our guests.

We hope your early visit to the city and consider us as your option.

regards

Elías Geovanni Peláez / Los Pilares Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews