We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveller rating
1,109
40
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,109
40
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests garden room house dog wine hour mexican specialty place to stay the penthouse condesa neighborhood main building every morning every evening interesting people churros home away from home breakfast and happy hour b bs other travelers
Filter
Updating list...
961 - 966 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Other reviewers have pretty much said it all, and Red Tree House really is as wonderful as everyone says. Mexico City can be a big, overwhelming city, but our hosts at Red Tree House welcomed us into this quiet little oasis and were always so helpful with tips and practical suggestions on getting around and making the most of our time. Abril the labrador was also always on hand to make the welcome even warmer.

We especially liked all the restaurant recommendations in La Condesa within walking distance -- we really got into the habit of taking comida in the afternoon and then dinner late at night, and trying excellent places where locals eat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinsarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

This was the best find ever. We only stayed here overnight because it was a layover from Acapulco back to the states, but I was not ready to leave. It was, hands down, the BEST hotel (not really a hotel, but bed and breakfast) experiences I have ever had. The value is superb, the service is out of this world, the breakfast was delicious, and the other travelers were delightful. These, of course, are understatements. There are not words to describe the experience here. The rooms are beautiful and the rest of the house is very comfortable and beautifully decorated as well. The location is in a safe area of Mexico City as I felt safe walking around the neighborhood even at night (accompanied by my boyfriend).

Craig (one of the owners) recommended Lampuga to eat dinner and it was fantastic. When we returned from dinner many of the guests and Craig were sitting in the living room enjoying a bottle of wine. We joined them and the wine was free flowing as long as we wanted. The conversation was lovely.

To talk about the service received there I must mention that we had difficulty getting to the House because we failed to print the directions for the cab driver before leaving. We assumed that he would know how to get there (do not make this assumption). We ended up paying a bit more than Craig had anticipated that it should cost so he sent us back to the airport the next day with one of the employees at the House. He charged us a reasonable fare (1/2 of what the cab driver charged us). He drove us directly to the airport and helped us with our luggage to the curb. The service was way above and beyond what was expected.

DO NOT miss this place. It is the ONLY place to stay if you are planning a trip to Mexico City.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nashzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The Red Tree House is one of those small hotels that one dreams of discovering in a large city. It's an old town house, lovingly renovated, with fine furniture, stylish bedrooms and great bathrooms. The place has a spacious, luxurious feel, lots of windows, interesting art works, and a contemporary, architectural quality. The staff were always warm, helpful, and highly personable. Breakfasts, either in the dining room or lovely open courtyard, were great- generous, with a good selection of fresh fruit, breads, and a daily Mexican speciality. The neighborhood, La Condesa, is filled with good restaurants and tree-lined streets (not typical in Mexico City) and small interesting parks within walking distance. All of the guest seemed to be having a wonderful time. Our own home is very attractive and comfortable. Usually, when we travel, we feel that we have to settle with something not quite as fine as home. But, in this case, we can truly say that we felt right at home.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camerabuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Its simply a perfect place to stay. Everything about it, from the beautifully appointed rooms to the delicious breakfasts to the helpfulness of your hosts makes this the best place to stay in Mexico City. Dont look any further, just hope they have a room for you.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

There is little I can add to all the other glowing reviews except to reinforce what wonderful generous and warm people Jorge, Ernesto, and Craig are.
We stayed for 3 days at The Red Tree House and loved it all. The location is terrific - so easy to use the subway from there, they provide you with any maps or info you may ever need, delicious red wine and great breakfasts, rooms are well appointed and very comfortable.
Most evenings a very friendly and eclectic mix of people gather in the courtyard and recount their adventures in the big but not at all bad Mexico City. Our hosts would join us at breakfast or evening drinks and offer any support needed. I was also amazed that they would remember everybodys name perfectly..' We also loved having Abril around the house willing to have a pat and a cuddle.
We think the Red Tree House is the perfect place to stay in Mexico City and look forward to staying there again on our next trip

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootznall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews