We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 356
US$ 347
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 262
US$ 254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 100
US$ 95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 107
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 357
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 159
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Las Alcobas(Mexico City)
US$ 481
US$ 344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 142
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 393
US$ 276
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 494
US$ 411
Stregis.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveller rating
1,081
40
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,081
40
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsplace to staygarden roomthe main househouse dogwine hourmexican specialtythe penthouseinteresting guestscondesa neighborhoodevery morninginteresting peopleevery eveninghome away from homechurroswonderful hostsbreakfast and happy hour
Filter
Updating list...
789 - 794 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The RTH is fabulous. My partner and I stayed here with my parents. The hosts were wonderful. The rooms are very comfortable. THe breakfasts are delicious. THey have wine many evenings during time to get to meet other guests. I would definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karpjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

What more can I add to the hundreds of glowing reviews of the Red Tree House? This was our first trip to Mexico City. Our flight arrived late at night but someone was waiting to carry our bags and escort us to our room. The Lafayette Suite is spacious, beautifully decorated (as is the entire house and garden), and was beyond our expectations.
The folks who run Red Tree House (Victor, Jorge, Ernesto, and Craig) were all so enthusiastic and helpful, so informative and sharing in their knowledge of the city that I'm convinced staying elsewhere would have been an altogether different and less positive experience. In short they are all wonderful hosts.
Mexico City has over 20 million people and is spread out in all directions but the Red Tree House is conveniently located close to subway and buses in the pleasant district of Condesa. In general we didn't take taxis (though they are priced reasonably) because I am now convinced that one of the best ways to experience this grand city is by walking or taking public transit as much as possible.
Whether it's getting your new SIM card from Telcel (222 Reforma in the mall upstairs) or you're hungry for tacos el pastor nearby, (El Califa) or if you're feeling more adventurous chiles relenos (Grande Gus-ask Ernesto) the folks at Red Tree House are always there to help. And if this is your first trip to Mexico and you really want it to be rewarding by all means learn a bit of Spanish. It allowed us to explore more of the city without the fear and confusion that can sometimes occur when one is not understood. As well there are many good books and blogs about the city and novels and films that are set in Mexico City that certainly enriched our trip.
We only left the city for half a day to see the Pyramids and hired Victor who not only drove us there and back but was able to answer all our questions whether they were about crime, food, upcoming elections, the people who live on the outskirts of the city, even Mexican Cinema. Did I leave out anything? Oh yes, the breakfasts are delicious and will keep you going until long past lunch.
This is really a beautiful and restful place to come back to after a long day of sightseeing.
More like home.
Hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelling_with_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was our second time staying at the Red Tree House. It is in the upscale La Condesa neighborhood. It is a short walk to the metro which gets you almost anywhere in the city. The neighborhood restaurants are great and you can count on Jorge and the staff to give great restaurant recommendations. The rooms are small but adequate. Most rooms face a lovely courtyard, a great place to relax after a hectic day of sightseeing. The breakfasts are varied and always delicious and wine is served most evenings allowing guests to mingle and share travel tips. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Red Tree House and the folks who own and operate it have the #1 B&B Mexico City rating for some very good reasons...service, comfort, cleanliness, food, friendliness and decor...all spectacular! Our "main man" for our stay was Ernesto, who was extremely friendly and helpful (all the staff were just great)!!
This wonderful oasis was a hive of activity in the mornings and evenings as many folks from all over the world call this "home" while visiting Mexico City. The Condesa district is a great area to wander, shop and eat in...cool, quiet, lots of trees. All sorts of daily travel plans were sorted out at the breakfast table over delicious FULL plates of Mexican specialities or more "gringo" type food if that was our choice. Fruit and fruit juice a plenty. Then in the evenings, in the lovely sitting room (with fireplace), over complimentary wine or beer (WOW!...how often do you get this in a B&B) the days events were debriefed.
RTH has very reliable guide services that they will arrange if requested. We used the services of Carmen Mendez (husband guide is Fernando) for a day trip to the Church of Guadalupe and Teotihuacan. This was a wonderful day and Carmen was very knowledgeable and took us to some out-of-the-way sites that we would not have seen on our own or in a bigger group tour.
If you want the top end in a B&B the Red Tree House is the place to stay and would be our choice on return to Mexico City!

Room Tip: We peeked around and they all looked wonderful! All very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbw2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

What an amazing place. The staff really go above and beyond to ensure you're comfortable and looked after. The location is excellent. The buildings, garden and rooms are 5 star. This place is definitely deserving of the number 1 rating.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fi-kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews