We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely! ”
Review of Casa Comtesse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Comtesse
Ranked #7 of 161 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Staff is amazing! We rented the whole place and used it as home base while in Mexico City with a large group of family and friends. Great location and perfect for our mixed group. Breakfast was perfect every morning and the reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. Love this place!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank rowena6869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alterfrida, Director de Recepción at Casa Comtesse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hi Dear guest!

We really appreciate your staying and enjoying the privacy of our Casa.
It is particularly satisfying when our guests decide to share special ocassions with us and it's our privilege to supply you with all you need to make that moment unforgettable. Casa Comtesse is not just a hotel but a real home to all those who come and stay and leave nothing but good souvenirs to all of us!

Hope to see you soon!
Casa Comtesse Staff and Rosy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

We stayed here because Lonely Planet give it one of only 3 stars as a place to stay in Mexico City. It was terrible. Here are the reasons:

1) It is not in the Condessa Neighborhood but a 15 minute walk. Plus, it is directly in front of a bus-station and busy street. We were kept awake all night in our room, La Malinche.

2) It is advertised as a bed and breakfast with breakfast included in the rate. Yet, we were charged for breakfast, which was very bad.

3) The hotel employees were unattentive. Although we told them about our arrival in advance, they kept us waiting on a busy street for 5 minutes before opening the locked door. This was disconcerting, as I was traveling with my wife and teenage son, and the cab driver had to be on his way.

4) The hotel employees liked to hang-out in the hotel courtyard, making it inaccessible to the guests.

5) We asked the front desk the night before our departure to arrange a cab so we could get to the airport. This wasn't done, and I had to have the morning help set it up at the last minute. Just by luck that I asked.

Room Tip: forget it. i'm sure the buses can be heard at the back of the Casa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casacomtesse, Propietario at Casa Comtesse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Hi Cynthia,

I really feel sorry that you had not the stay you wished in Casa Comtesse. Let's clarify your comments. 1) Condesa is a neighborhood in México City, and Casa Comtesse is in a street (benjamin franklin) that belongs to that neighborhood. This neighborhood is famous for its nice streets, parks, restaurants and bar. At less than 5 minutes walking from the hotel, you reach the "Parque México" that is the main park in Condesa, at one block, you reach the "Felina Bar", a wonderful mezcal bar and two blocks from here, the "Califa" restaurant with one of the best tacos in town. (check googlemaps)
2) Indeed the room Malinche is facing the street, but we installed a double glazed window. For people very sensitive to the noise of a big city, we recommend rooms Jaguar, Oriente, Cocada, Charamusca or Piruli. 3) Casa Comtesse is indeed a Bed and Breakfast, and the price anounced in your booking, includes the breakfast (no aditional cost). For taxes reasons, we do a breakdown in the invoice of the price of the breakfast (less taxes for food in Mexico than lodging) so consumers can be assured about what they’re being charged for. But it is not an increase, it is just a breakdown (check your booking mail and your note) 4) Ambient in Casa Comtesse is relax, but we have employees 24hours to attend you, even if we are in the courtyard, don't hesitate to ask us whatever you need wherever we are :-) 5) taxis booking are checked the same day, even if they were booked the day before, so you would have anyway got your cab. In anycase, they arrive in less than five minutes when you ask one.

I hope we will have the joy to receive you again, and make this time a great experience for you.

Saludos,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Casa Comtesse is a small, classy B & B close to Historico Centro but out of the thick of the touristy areas. Our room (Oriente) was spacious, beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful and the staff went above and beyond with every request we made. Walking distance to the metro and all the lovely restaurants of the Condesa and Roma areas. We will stay there again next time we visit DF.

Room Tip: Oriente had windows that opened into the courtyard and away from the street. It is also a very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tennisNEwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casacomtesse, Receptionist at Casa Comtesse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thanks so much for your opinion! It's a pleasure to read that you had a great time at our house, we always try to make the people feel in home. It will be a pleasure to receive you in your next trip to Mexico City. Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening but were greeted by a warm and friendly member of the night staff, who took us to our room and arranged check in for the morning. We had a room at the front which did suffered from the road noise, but this did stop around 1am. If you like quiet, ask for a room over the court yard. The room was large and clean the bed was very comfortable. breakfast was great, fruit, bread and a special for each day all served with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble and we got good advice on places to visit. There is a fridge in the kitchen for guest to use along with microwave etc. Although just walking around the area you come across some great cafes, we were recommended El Califa, a tacarea place, for the Arrecheta. and we're not disappointed. The metro is close by and easy to navigate amazingly cheap. We hired guides through Casa Comtesse for a few trips and the two guys we had Roger and Abraham spoke excellent English and were extremely knowledgeable, We asked to experience some traditional Mexican food and were taken to some amazing eateries. So if you want a warm friendly authentic stay in Mexico city we would recommend Casa Comtesse. If you want a guide ask for Roger or Abraham. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casacomtesse, Responsable réception at Casa Comtesse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear guests
In Casa Comtesse we really enjoy when our guests achieve what they search for in their trip to Mexico City. As we have eight rooms only we have the chance to supply our guests with personal attention and a warm environment enhanced by works of art all around the house. Metro and metrobus stations nearby the house make our situation ideal for everyone.
We also look after what we recommend in terms of guided tours and sightseeing since we really care about what our guest get as an experience in our City.

We will be delighted if you come back and let us host you in the best terms...

Best regards
Casa Comtesse team & Rosy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Situated in a very nice part of Mexico City in Condesa we really enjoyed Casa Comtesse. The staff were very helpful & friendly. Our room looked out over the north courtyard and was quiet, comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were lovely and plentiful and we enjoyed talking with other guests. The casa is close to public transport and excellent restaurants. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maxwellfamily14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casacomtesse, Responsable réception at Casa Comtesse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Maxwellfamily
In Casa Comtesse we really enjoy supplying our guests with a comfortable, cozy stay, surrounded by a vintage environment and, at the same time the best of Mexico City's cultural offering. Our geographical situation is ideal for those who search for a good lodging along with nearby sistem of transport.

Don't hesitate to contact us if you want to enjoy this beautiful area again!

Thank you very much for staying with us!

Kind regards
Rosy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Maria Condesa
Maria Condesa
#29 of 312 in Mexico City
346 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
168 reviews
Condesa
Condesa Haus
Condesa Haus
#5 of 161 in Mexico City
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Distrito Condesa
Distrito Condesa
#12 of 161 in Mexico City
148 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
#10 of 161 in Mexico City
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Comtesse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Comtesse

Address: Esq Con Ometusco Eje Vial Eje 4 sur (Avenida Benjamin Franklin) 197 | Colonia Hipodromo Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: ₹ 5,051 - ₹ 7,958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Comtesse, a great Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Condesa's trendy neighborhood, a perfect play to stay (parks, restaurants, bars, trees in the street...). Thomas will receive you, friendly, with his advice, tips, and great knowledge of the city speaking French, English and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Comtesse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Comtesse Hotel Mexico City
Casa Comtesse Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing