We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was rolling out of bed all night”
Review of Hotel Rioja

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rioja
Ranked #237 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Stayed on the 4th floor, the sides of the bed were so worn that I felt like I was rolling out of bed all night, and I needed a chiropractor the next day to get my hips right from sleeping off balance all night. We booked two rooms, both smelled like old socks, this place is in need of major renovation. Wi-fi doesn't even work well in the lobby, I don't understand why hotels do not invest in decent internet repeaters in this day and age, they are so inexpensive. Front desk staff kept telling me the internet password, and seemed put out when I asked them to write it down because I couldn't understand how they were slurring it, truly not impressed and I've stayed in plenty of budget hotels here in D.F. e.g. next door things were much better.

Room Tip: Book a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We never got to stay here because the desk clerk, (a man) gave us erroneous information. We checked on a Wednesday for the following Friday. The clerk told us there were rooms. We asked to make a reservation and he told us they would not make a reservation, He told us just to come back on Friday and we would get a room. We trusted his information and so did not look for other possibly hotel rooms which we could reserve.
We returned on Friday and the clerk (a woman), told us they were full. When we related the story the previous clerk gave us, she just shrugged her shoulders.

This put us in a very uncomfortable situation of possibly having no where to stay right before a weekend. It was also very rude and inconsiderate, as well as not businesslike. The clerk could have either told us they were full, or let us make a deposit on a room for 3 nights. We would have been happy to make a deposit, but were not allowed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Margi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel is low priced and offers a quite comfortable stay. We looked at other hotels costing one third more and felt what we got at the Rioja was just as good as the higher priced hotels. We took a room on the top floor which meant that we had to walk on one flight of stairs. But it was worth it because the room was very quiet. The hotel is very near the Zocalo and there is a great breakfast restaurant right across the street

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jedastmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This Hotel is a real mexican style low-budget at is best.
Located perfect i calle cinco de mayo and very close to the Zocalo and Plaza Alameda.
Many good places to eat close the hotel - even a 24 hour dinner place opposite the hotel.
The room is basic and simpel - but clean quiet and for the price of 300 pesos its a great deal.
The reception is friendly and very helpfull.
Free internet - and there is tv in the room
If you on a budget this a great place to stay.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank viking0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a few days during Christmas week 2011. It was recommended by some friends who always stay there. You can't beat the price and the location. It's close to the zocalo, transportation, and many restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that our room didn't have a balcony or a window (not even in the bathroom), so it seemed humid and claustrophobic. If you can afford a bit more, go up a block to Hotel Gillow.

Room Tip: If you don't mind street noise, try to get a room with a window or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbarita5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#138 of 312 in Mexico City
265 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#178 of 312 in Mexico City
301 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#80 of 312 in Mexico City
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
San Francisco Hotel
San Francisco Hotel
#266 of 312 in Mexico City
168 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#114 of 312 in Mexico City
207 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Diligencias
Hotel Diligencias
#130 of 312 in Mexico City
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rioja? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rioja

Address: 45 Cinco de Mayo, Mexico City 6000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Number of rooms: 198
Also Known As:
Rioja Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Rioja Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing