We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and superb attention”
Review of Galia Chef

Galia Chef
Ranked #474 of 5,770 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: US$ 17 - US$ 35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Roma
Description: French bistrot and wine bar in the most cosmopolite neighborhood in Mexico City. French classic cuisine and more than 50 wines selection from all the world: french, mexican, italian, argentine, west Europe.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Nice restaurant with a good selection of wines and delicious food, the great attention of Angel made our evening special, his recommendation were exquisite, we ate sopa de cebolla, salmón glaseado, Beef Bourguignon and finalize with a lemon pie that was delicious. Good price value relation

Thank Pattypaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaliaChef, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Galia Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Patty, thank you for your comments. We will wait for you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

This is one of my favorite places in town! You have an authentic local french corner restaurant experience. It is small, it is hidden and is located at one of the most beautiful buildings in the area. The food is simple but the ingredients are marvelous! You can also buy cheese, charcuterie and wine!

Thank pnogues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaliaChef, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Galia Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Pedro, thank you so much for your words. Yes, our dishes are traditional but with ingredients carefully and local selected. Please, come back soon, we are ready to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We just had lunch, excellent in every way, with food, wine, atmosphere, and service worthy of any national capitol city. Mine was the ratatouille quiche, my companion's was the salmon carpaccio--each bite sheer pleasure. I asked for Sancerre, not on hand, but the Sauv Blanc was filled with sun and beauty. The service was watchful and unintrusive, quick to apprehend our preferences and helped build a perfect meal. Desserts were the smoothest, custardy-est crème brûlée ever, and a lemon tart with meringue, and I mean tart! Perfect. Can't wait to return to this stylish wine bar, a block from Fuente de Cibeles.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterInTheDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaliaChef, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Galia Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Peter, thank you so much for your comments! We are so glad to serve you again. Please, next time not hesitate to ask for our special selection of mexican wines or french ones from Bordeaux and Provence. Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Classy wine bar
The choice is excellent
But it is so much more
It is almost deli like as well in its food
The cheese selection just staggered me
The cheese and wine combination we decided to try was perfection

Thank davethedrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaliaChef, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Galia Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Dave! Thank you so much for your opinion! We are happy to serve you a next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We have always liked Galia for its friendly and knowledgable waiters, bistro atmosphere and tasty food. Meaning to have tea in next door's Caravanserai tea emporium, we first popped in to Galia to buy some cheeses (which were on offer) but, with the gentle persuasion of Parisian born Sebastien ended up trying various 'maridajes' of wine and mostly french cheeses, leaving with quite a hoard of both and a bity of a hole in the credit card! Whenever we have eaten there the dishes have always been delicious and we will be back for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galia Chef also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Galia Chef? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing