We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Hotel Principal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Principal
Ranked #132 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our first visit to Mexico City & we wanted an affordable place that was both close to the Zocalo and not too close due to noise. Hotel Principal was a fair place on both counts. I reserved online through booking.com a king room w/ private bath for under $40/ night. When we got to the hotel and showed our reservation, the desk clerk first gave us a tiny windowless room with only a double bed & a bathroom down the hall; after one glance at the room we went back and insisted on the King w/ private bath and were given one without argument. The bed was clean & firm, there were 2 old night stands & a desk w/ chair.

The location was pretty perfect: 4 blocks from the Allende Metro stop (& Cafe Tacuba!) and about 5 blocks to the Zocalo with all its busy-ness, culture & charm. Hotel Principal is across from the Supreme Court, on Bolivar, which is a semi-busy street (as are most streets in Centro Historico) and we endured jack-hammers in the middle of the night on 2 occasions (Sat 4am & Mon 1am). The windows & walls are thin & we had an unhappy baby next door. Earplugs recommended. Saturday night they had Bolivar restricted to bicycle traffic, which we thought was great: thousands of cyclists pedaling around for hours!

The free wi-fi was pretty sketchy, sometimes non-existent, sometimes fair if one sat in the middle of the bed & pointed the computer in the right direction. They provided 2 bottles of drinking water & glasses in the room (no coffee or fridge).

The cleaning staff uses some very potent toxic cleansers to which we had an allergic reaction so we taped a note to the door asking them to not clean the room during our stay due to allergies and, though they still made up the bed, we didn't have any further issues with the toxic bathroom problem.

Security was somewhat of an issue: the room safe had no locking device on it; also while we were expected to leave our key at the desk while out of the bldg, we did so only once because upon our return at midnight the desk was unmanned and there were all the keys for anyone to take, so we took ours and kept it with us from then on.

Over all, we got what we paid for: a clean, cheap place to sleep, close to the action & public transportation. This is a good hotel for travellers on a budget who don't mind a very basic room.

Room Tip: Be sure to see the room they offer before paying. Rooms on Bolivar will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

Although you don't hear street noise, one crying baby really disturb your sleep. Staff was very nice and room was clean. Price was great - small room with 2 people costs only 370 pesos/night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motohachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

It's in a great location, near the Zocalo, metro stations, lots of food & restaurants around. The room we stayed in (king bed room) was really nice, clean & modern. Included was a bottle of water each per day, shampoo, soap etc. No fridge or breaky included. The restaurant was overpriced, but there's lots of food around to choose from. The main problem was the noise from outside. Our room faced the street & It was unbelievably noisy all night (I think it might be the case at most places in Mexico city on a busy road?). They have free internet & computers. No tour ideas from the front desk & not any atmosphere. Nice hotel for the price & good location.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pjreddot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Positives:
- 5 minutes walk from the zocalo
- 3 minutes walk from the nearest metro (Allende)
- 2 minutes from main shopping street/Starbucks:) and bars
- nice staff - helpful and English-speaking and patient with our attempts to speak Spanish
- basic, but clean rooms, with a daily cleaning service

Negatives:
- rooms have windows to the main hall - this is not a problem privacy-wise in terms of what you see (curtains), but a big one in terms of what you hear. Rooms are separated from the hall with the some kind of an open window. BRING YOUR EARPLUGS - that way you can have a peaceful night. Otherwise you will be forced to listen to the drunken songs of other guests, the hotel staff does not seem to care much.

Room Tip: Hard to say how to pick a room - both were clean, but the one on the second floor seemed to be relat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ewa_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The bigest advantage of this hotel is it´s location - 200 or 300m west from the Plaza Mayor, close to several Metro-stations, lots of shops and eating possibilities within short walk-distance.
The rooms are basic but clean, hot shower, TV and even safe represent satisfactory equipment for this low-price category of accomodation.
The main problem is the construction of the hotel (majority /if not all/ room-doors lead to the same huge "quasi-atrium" whereas the doors allow the noise to come out or in. Due to that you can share for free all imaginable TV programs (at the same time) and later on (espetially on weekends when many couples use the rooms for few hours only) judge the quality of sexual life of your twenty "nearest neighbours".

The hotel is a good choice for people who primarily intend to enjoy the night life of Mexico city and bad option for those who want to rest after strenuous day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cimicak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#169 of 312 in Mexico City
298 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#60 of 312 in Mexico City
309 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#103 of 312 in Mexico City
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sevilla
#197 of 312 in Mexico City
231 reviews
Hotel Panorama
#211 of 312 in Mexico City
31 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Dos Naciones
Hotel Dos Naciones
#263 of 312 in Mexico City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principal

Address: Calle Bolivar 29 | Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: ₹ 780 - ₹ 3,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Principal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Principal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principal Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Principal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing