We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT HOTEL & LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Ranked #1 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT HOTEL & LOCATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I love Mexico City + have stayed at several hotels in town. Las Alcobas is my favorite because of its location - literally in the middle of everything, and also because of the gorgeous design and attention to detail.

The 7-story building's core is a gorgeous curved wood staircase evocative of an Hermés boutique or a yacht, with a fountain that echoes throughout the space. The rooms are very quiet, private, and tricked out with the highest-quality finishes (the entire project was built in Italy + imported to Mexico). I also love the bathrooms, lined in a pale blue marble, with a multi-head shower and jacuzzi bath tub. The rooms are computer-controlled - lighting, sound, curtains. Also - the room service is DELICIOUS, they bake their own bread and you can get more or less anything 24/7. Staff are great, friendly, uber professional.

I highly recommend this world-class hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattmurphy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    60
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
67
296
40
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worcs
Level Contributor
184 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

excellent quality hotel but with no bar,no garden. no pool, no rooftop terrace.Also in easter week the restaurant was shut all week so we weren,t able to try it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

After viewing TripAdvisor reviews, booked this for a week following a two-week stay in Baja California Sur. Initial email exchanges about the room (the on-line booking of a twin-bedded room defaulted to a King) were amicably resolved. I then asked if the hotel could arrange a pick-up at Mexico City Airport. My emails about this were not responded to and I assumed that they could not not, or would not, provide an airport to hotel transfer. On arrival at MEX from La Paz I paid for a taxi to the hotel airside, only to be met by a guy carrying a placard with our name on it as soon as we got landside. We took the hotel car, forfeiting the pre-paid cab, only to discover at check-out that the fare was more than twice price of the unrecoverable taxi fare.

Why they did not reply to repeated requests to confirm, or otherwise, arrangements for an airport pick-up I cannot imagine.

I'll dwell on transport arrangements before moving on to the hotel itself. In initial emails I had asked for driver/guides for several days of our stay. The first driver/guide, hired for 6 hours to take us to Teotichuacan, tied up with a "guide/archeologist" who told us that the temple of quetzlcoatl was closed for renovation (apparently a fib) as was the museum (again not true) but took us to a low-rent tourist trap with "Inca dogs", tourist-tat souvenirs and high prices. We had asked that the trip to Teotichuacan be combined with a visit to St Agustin Acolman and to the Basilica of the Virgin of Guadalupe. The driver/guide said that St Agustin Acolman was miles away from the pyramids -not true- it's about 15 minutes away. We were told that the sanctuary of the Virgin of Guadalupe was closed because of the Pope's visit, again a lie, he went nowhere near Mexico City. Given that you choose to stay in a ***** hotel, you might expect ***** service throughout. The transport/guide services are not consistently *****!

That said, the second guide/driver that the hotel provided, one Jose Luis, was excellent: knowledgeable, personable, a good, safe driver and thoroughly reliable.

As far as the hotel goes, it was well situated in Polanco. The staff were friendly and helpful. The queen double room was large and well-appointed. The decor was "masculine", dark wood, dark wood veneer (beginning to chip in places) and pale leather with an over-complicated control system for lighting and drapes that took days to sort out. The bathroom was similarly complicated with lots of marble, a bath that needed a butler with a key to switch on some of its functions and a lavatory with a seat that offered (inefficient) spray cleaning and air-drying functions. The view from the room was of a roof-top car park and the room was quiet.

The set continental breakfast was pleasant, with a choice of tea or coffee, fruit juice ( not, I think freshly-squeezed) and a fruit plate (better and fresher some days) with "fresh bread", which was a basket of cake-like confections. The various egg options, available at extra cost, were perfectly nice. Toast was sweetened bread.

Room Tip: Twin queen room is quiet but has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Lovely hotel! Gorgeous property. Exceptional staff. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcgirlMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

You can tell that the people who run Las Alcobas are obsessed with getting every detail right. The public spaces are beautifully decked out from the stylish furniture to the stunning central staircase to the perfectly placed decorative objects and flowers. The rooms are a glorious mix of warm woods, crisp whites, and just enough local flair.

No expense is spared in thoughtful design. A bedside control panel offers centralized operation of curtains, telephone, lights, and even my room's privacy status -- and this was even remarkably straightforward to figure out! Cabinetry, drawers, minibar, mirrors, and safe are all delightfully well designed and beautiful.

When you are paying a good price to stay in a luxurious hotel, it is truly nice to feel like the hotel is being generous in return. And las Alcobas conveyed that throughout -- from the extensive amenities in the bathroom to the free WiFi to the wonderful variety of complimentary snacks and beverages in the minibar.

And then there is the bathroom. Extra special amenities, luxurious marbles and woods, and generous space indeed. But the real marvel is the shower loaded with jets, and spraying water in every direction. And yet when I stepped out of that fantastic shower the bathroom floor and the bathmat were miraculously dry. How did they do that?

This was a lovely and memorable hotel, and I truly enjoyed discovering all the special and thoughtful touches in every corner of my room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProNomad33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#6 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#7 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#9 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Alcobas Mexico DF? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Alcobas Mexico DF

Property: Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Address: Avenida Presidente Masaryk 390A | Col. Polanco, Mexico City 11540, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,523 - ₹ 34,347
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Alcobas Mexico DF 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to resemble a private residence, Las Alcobas has unique features that lavishly exude warmth and comfort, hand-selected details to enhance and enliven your senses, and the calm serenity of being at ease in your environment… These are the ingredients to a refined Mexico City hotel experience. For business and leisure travelers, its 35 guestrooms and suites reflect the hotel’s commitment to quality and the highest level of attentive service imbued with unparalleled comfort with luxurious accommodations that await you in Mexico City in state of the arts guestrooms and exceptional bathrooms. Las Alcobas, a small luxury grand hotel in Mexico City, is composed of both architectural as well as aesthetic exquisiteness, while simultaneously offering the utmost service with its symphonic melding of personalized amenities, including two restaurants, and complete attentiveness to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Las Alcobas Mexico DF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Alcobas Mexico Df Hotel Mexico City
Las Alcobas Mexico DF Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing