We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #2 of 304 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Outsinding property for 5 nights, the room, the service, the location and everything was all one could wish for.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by street noise, request a room away from the street, but do not expect a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wallysaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
It was our pleasure to attend you. We hope that we had the chance of also receiving you in one of our different restaurants. The Terrace restaurant is an excellent choice for people who wish to enjoy the beautiful Zocalo view at the time they savor one of our Mexican cuisine courses. At our “Café Ciudad de Mexico” you will find different breakfast options designed for every taste, including a wide variety of prepared eggs and the classical specials like chilaquiles and hot cakes. Finally, our lobby bar is the ideal place to enjoy a drink and have an appetizer while you admire the beauty of our Tiffany stained- glass ceiling and our classical panoramic elevators. It will be our pleasure to receive you at any of these places so please consider them for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,756
    423
    90
    24
    28
See reviews for
622
908
158
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Located in the heart of the historic Zocolo neighborhood, the hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants, shops, and tourist attractions. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are large and very well maintained. We had a wonderful view of the main plaza from our room, where we watched the raising/lowering of the Mexican flag ceremony each morning and evening. There is also a great view from the rooftop retaurant, however, the food is just ok. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the guided tour to the Teotihuacan pyramids (included in our room price!) was amazing. We will stay here again on our next trip to Mexico City!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your recent stay with us. It is also a pleasure to know that you had such a good impression of our “Leisure Package”, which is part of our special lodging experience offered exclusively by our website. This special package includes the room rate + American breakfast + the tour of your choice (either Teotihuacan Pyramids or City Sightseeing tour). It is a very popular choice among our foreign guests since it offers the chance of acquiring all the options at the same time and avoids the process of booking each aspect individually at the different departments of the hotel. Knowing that you enjoyed it, we also suggest the Romance or Leisure packages for your next stay. They are also complete options focused on specific stays which makes them an excellent choice for other types of visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the hotel! Even got upgraded to a room facing the Zocalo! The location is as central as you could ever want to be. 20 min from the airport and walking distance to most of the significant sites of the city. Metro also only a 2min walk away. Beautiful views over the zocalo and the flag raising ceremony every morning. When the foyer of the hotel is filled with tourists taking pictures of the hotel, you know you are staying in a special place! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about us. We feel very pleased to know that you enjoyed the daily flag ceremony that our guests who stay in Zocalo view rooms have the opportunity to witness. We hope you consider to visit us in patriotic Mexican dates such as February 24th (Mexican flag day) or our very special September 16th (Mexican Independence Day). In this last date, we organize a special event that includes the room, that day´s dinner and entrance to our very patriotic and special party. Apart from all the decorations and special aspects organized by the hotel; what also makes this event special are all the fireworks and decorations that garnish this special event in the Zocalo, turning it into a memorable experience for all the guests we have the privilege to attend on that date. If you liked the daily flag ceremony we definitely recommend you visiting us on that date, we are sure that it will be an experience you will never forget!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The location is great, the colonial building wonderful.
Rooms were large and very nice.
Terasse on roof has great view, food is ok.
We got a special rate by booking early - with that rate it was really great value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nh9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for your comment about us; it was a pleasure to attend you. It is also very good to know that you were able to take advantage of the excellent rate deals we have posted on our official website. Such specials include the “Early Booking Bonus”/“Web only Special” which are excellent options; moreover, from time to time, special promotions or packages are displayed for a limited time and our guests who book at this time end up with an excellent booking deal. Due to this, we often encourage our guests to be pendant of the content displayed at our website because you never know when a fantastic offer is going to appear (such as a last minute rate). Please visit our website again for a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Wonderful week-long stay at the Gran Hotel in late March to early April. From the moment we arrived and the formally dressed porter escorted us to the reception area, where we were offered Mexican treats to the time we checked out, we felt enveloped in the elegance of another era. The art deco lobby with its exquisite Tiffany ceiling and the old birdcage elevators were only overshadowed by the great service we experienced throughout our stay.

We found a great room rate online, with breakfasts included. The rooms are lovely, marble bathrooms, antique reproduction furniture, and the ac/heating works fine. Beds were a little hard, but to me that is much better than the alternative of sagging mattresses found in some hotels.

The hotel's location, right off the zocolo, was perfect. We walked to many of the museums and other sites we wanted to see, and the metro (safe and easy) stops right across the zocolo from the hotel, so getting around the city is a snap. It's only 30 pesos (25 cents USD) to get anywhere in the city.

There are shops and good restaurants within easy walking distance. We liked La Casa de la Sirena (tucked away behind the cathedral) for an upscale dinner. Calle Madero is a great pedestrian walkway that takes you all the way to Belles Artes. So much to see and do - even with a week of busy days, we still had more on our list.

Next time ...

Room Tip: Rooms on the zocolo are beautiful, but can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trencita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
It is a great pleasure for us to know that you had such a wonderful time at Mexico City and that you were able to enjoy different touristic activities every day. It is also very nice to know that you liked the hotel, our rooms and most importantly: our service. As a hotel which is committed to our guests satisfaction; we put a lot of effort in giving our guests a service that is as elegant and fine as the hotel itself.
We also try to orientate our guests so they can take advantage of the privileged location we have; just such as the Madero pedestrian street you kindly mention, which has always been one of the most popular and lively streets since colonial times. It is also of the first streets to be drawn in the origins of the City; built above the ruins of the pre-Hispanic City: Tenochtitlan. Nowadays it is an ideal trip our guests are fond of taking because they can find a number of interesting touristic places and shops over there, taking the trip at their own pace.
Please be sure to ask our concierge for this and other interesting touristic alternatives on your next trip; we are sure you will always find something to do at Mexico City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 304 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 304 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 304 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 304 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#5 of 304 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,958 - ₹ 14,307
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TravelClick so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing