We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,540)
Filter reviews
1,540 results
Traveller rating
955
458
82
27
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
955
458
82
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour desk templo mayor rooftop terrace excellent location rooms are clean and comfortable two blocks central location single room zocalo area the hotel staff breakfast buffet historic center hotel restaurant is top floor no air conditioning fresh fruit felt very safe
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 1,540 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

My local friends were dismayed to find that I stayed in the Centro Histórico, as opposed to more modern and nicer neighbourhoods like Condesa, Roma, or Polanco, but I stayed at Hotel Catedral for a week and didn't have any issues with the location. The surroundings are rundown, but I didn't feel unsafe, even alone at night. And Mexico City is so huge that no matter where you stay, you're gonna have to take transport to go to some places.

For the affordable price, my room and bathroom were both enormous, breakfast was included (lots of savoury Mexican food, but also some lighter fare). My only complaint is that all the wifi networks (there were like five of them) would often become unresponsive or unbearably slow for ten minutes at a time, so it took a lot of patience to catch up on social media. Other than that, very recommended.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 216mart_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017


Dear guest thank you very much for taking the time to tell us, we are pleased to have met your expectations, we asked for an apology for the internet since we had a problem with the network, we worked on that and on your next visit we hope you see the result , we hope soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

I stayed for a week at Hotel Catedral and just loved it. If you want to be near the zocalo, this place is perfect. The breakfast is great, and a good deal. The room are comfortable, and the top floor has a great balcony that we sat in every evening as the sun set over the catedral.

Room tip: The room on the front had a balcony that overlooked the street. The rooms at the back had views of the catedral.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear guest thank you very much for taking the time to tell us, we are pleased to have met your expectations and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

The location is good if you want to be close to Zocalo and the Centro Historico. It is comfortable, clean and the staff are very helpful.

We arrived and were assigned a room only to find that it was occupied when we got there! The receptionist was very helpful and upgraded us to a suite for one night. The suite was large but sparsely decorated with a nice bathroom and private balcony. Unfortunately, the other suites had been booked by a group of young mexicans who proceeded to run up and down the corridor all night. Our actual room was comfy and quiet.

We went on one excursion booked through the hotel but it was awful (less than 3 hours of sights on 10 hours with lots of tat shops thrown in).

In short, a decent hotel with friendly staff who speak good English.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidhJ2003NA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear guest thank you very much for taking the time to tell us, we are pleased to have met your expectations and I apologize for the noise and for your tour we will take into account your comment and we will be more aware of these aspects thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times and it never disappoints. This time I was traveling by myself and I wanted to stay someplace familiar. Staff are kind, they serve great cookies in the lobby, and everything and everyone runs with great efficiency. I will be back again, and I will, without fail, recommend this hotel to all my friends. The added bonus is that it is in the center of everything and right next to the Zocalo.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank jillt360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Jill thank you very much for taking the time to tell us it is very pleasant to have fulfilled your expectations and we hope that next time we will choose again as hosts since it would be an honor to return you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

The hotel was clean, the staff was very friendly, the cost was very reasonable especially since their amazing breakfast was included. The location was walking distance to many historical sites one block away from the Catedral church, Templo Mayor and the Presidential Palace.The hotel staff can book tours for you and you can also take a City tour buss that is only a block away. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

Room tip: No AC, ceiling fan only, rooms w/balcony are only available with two full size beds, 5th floor best View of City he city.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank lauraarenas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017


Dear guest thank you very much for choosing us as part of your experience, we are very pleased to have fulfilled your expectations, we are pleased that you have liked our city so much and we hope that you will choose us again during your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews