We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their Breakfast was amazing, great selection, delicious food and wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #16 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2017

The hotel was clean, the staff was very friendly, the cost was very reasonable especially since their amazing breakfast was included. The location was walking distance to many historical sites one block away from the Catedral church, Templo Mayor and the Presidential Palace.The hotel staff can book tours for you and you can also take a City tour buss that is only a block away. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: No AC, ceiling fan only, rooms w/balcony are only available with two full size beds, 5th floor best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank lauraarenas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear guest thank you very much for choosing us as part of your experience, we are very pleased to have fulfilled your expectations, we are pleased that you have liked our city so much and we hope that you will choose us again during your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Nice rooms, great location, friendly staff for English speakers with little Spanish, concierge service excellent, and included breakfast far surpasses anything we've experienced in North America. Only small complaint was Wi-Fi dropped out periodically.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeGowrylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing us as part of your experience, we are very pleased to have fulfilled your expectations and we hope that you will choose us again during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Whenever I stay in Mexico City, I always stay at Hotel Catedral, not only because of its central location near the Zocalo, but also because it is a modern, newly renovated hotel at a price that is hard to beat. It was only $66 per night for a double room and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful - from the desk staff to the concierge to Augustin in the restaurant. (Only complaint: the hallways can be a bit noisy at times.) Many historic sites are within walking distance e.g. the Cathedral, the Aztec pyramid excavations, museums and restaurants. Give it a try the next time you are in Mexico City.

Room Tip: 7th floor gives access to the roof top patio and grand views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revlko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to comment, it is a pleasure to have you treated and we are very pleased to have been able to meet your expectations, we will take into account your observation about the noise in corridors and I assure you that we will improve in that aspect, with great pleasure We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This is an older hotel that has been updated. The location in the Centro Historico is excellent. There is a terrace on the 7th (top) floor with excellent views and food delivery. Bring the menu from your room.

The rooms have AC and ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, programmable safes and real coffee makers. There is password-protected wi-do. Bottled water is provided. The bed is comfortable and the shower is hot with good water pressure.

Bicycles and board games are available for guests, and the hotel puts out snacks like peanuts and fruit in the lobby.

The breakfast buffet is expansive and open until 11:30 am. I do not recommend the restaurant for other meals.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gabrielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment, it is a pleasure to have met you and we are very pleased to have been able to meet your expectations, we are looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed here many years ago and returned in August 2017. We were not so keen on our first room so they changed our room so that we were facing the street (not Cathedral) and it was great. It had a little balcony and it was very comfortable and quiet. The beds are amazing. Nothing like finding a reasonably priced hotel, right in the centre of the city, with fantastic beds. This hotel is old school and it is so nice. They put out all these snacks for you (guava, peanuts, cookies, chips...too many chips)...like, who does that. So many great restaurants in Mexico City, but we did have lunch in the restaurant and it was excellent. Loved this hotel. Loved Mexico City. We will return. ALSO, there is lovely rooftop sitting area.

Room Tip: I think facing the street was best for us. It does have Cathedral view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mareli704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment, for us it is a pleasure to serve you and we are very happy that our work is recognized by you, since this is for us first, thank you for sharing this experience with us and we hopefully with Much pleasure in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,481 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#33 of 312 in Mexico City
953 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#134 of 312 in Mexico City
265 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: ₹ 4,578 - ₹ 7,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing