We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,503)
Filter reviews
1,503 results
Traveller rating
923
454
81
27
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
454
81
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour desk templo mayor rooftop terrace excellent location main cathedral great bargain two blocks single room breakfast buffet rooms are clean and comfortable zocalo area historic center central location top floor hotel restaurant no air conditioning desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,503 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This is an older hotel that has been updated. The location in the Centro Historico is excellent. There is a terrace on the 7th (top) floor with excellent views and food delivery. Bring the menu from your room.

The rooms have AC and ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, programmable safes and real coffee makers. There is password-protected wi-do. Bottled water is provided. The bed is comfortable and the shower is hot with good water pressure.

Bicycles and board games are available for guests, and the hotel puts out snacks like peanuts and fruit in the lobby.

The breakfast buffet is expansive and open until 11:30 am. I do not recommend the restaurant for other meals.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gabrielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment, it is a pleasure to have met you and we are very pleased to have been able to meet your expectations, we are looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed here many years ago and returned in August 2017. We were not so keen on our first room so they changed our room so that we were facing the street (not Cathedral) and it was great. It had a little balcony and it was very comfortable and quiet. The beds are amazing. Nothing like finding a reasonably priced hotel, right in the centre of the city, with fantastic beds. This hotel is old school and it is so nice. They put out all these snacks for you (guava, peanuts, cookies, chips...too many chips)...like, who does that. So many great restaurants in Mexico City, but we did have lunch in the restaurant and it was excellent. Loved this hotel. Loved Mexico City. We will return. ALSO, there is lovely rooftop sitting area.

Room Tip: I think facing the street was best for us. It does have Cathedral view rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mareli704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment, for us it is a pleasure to serve you and we are very happy that our work is recognized by you, since this is for us first, thank you for sharing this experience with us and we hopefully with Much pleasure in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The staff are very welcoming and helpful. Rooms are kept very clean. Breakfast is delicious, location ideal, and the price is great. Also, don't forget to check out the view from the terrace--stunning.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

dear guest thank you very much for taking the time to tell us it is very pleasant to have fulfilled your expectations and we hope that next time we will choose again as hosts since it would be an honor to return you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

My family recently spent four nights in Hotel Catedral near the Zocalo (town square) in Mexico City. Our stay could not have been better. The hotel was clean and modern yet drenched in antiquity being that it was right around the corner from the actual Mexico City Cathedral and government buildings, a perfect location. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Most of the desk persons spoke good English, and when we needed special assistance, they were extremely attentive. The breakfast was almost worth the price of our room. There were several main dishes and lots of sides and sweets along with a choice of fresh fruit juices. One of the kitchen ladies noticed that our daughter was a picky eater, so she made some quesadillas just the way our daughter liked them. They became fast friends. At the top floor of the hotel is an outdoor balcony with a partial view of the cathedral and the Zocalo. It was a perfect place to relax in the evening or catch a sunrise. The opposite side had a smaller balcony with a west-facing view. All in all, Hotel Catedral was an excellent experience.

Please be advised that while walking along the Zocalo and on Ave. Francisco Madero, we encountered a few unsavory types, but the vast majority of folks we ran into were courteous and friendly. Mexico City, like any large city, is a place where common sense and reasonable caution should be exercised.

That said, it is an amazing destination with artwork and monuments at every turn. We did a tour of Paseo de la Reforma and the Castillo de Chapultepec, as well as the Sun and Moon Pyramids. They are not to be missed. Hasta la vista.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to comment, for us it is a pleasure to be able to assist you and have complied with everything you need to cover every aspect of your comfortable stay, we hope that on your next visit you will choose us again as hosts and for us It would be an honor to come back to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I spent only 2 days at Hotel Catedral. We chose this hotel based on value and location, and wow...was it well worth it.
The room was very nice - everything I am accustomed to in the US.
There is a very nice restaurant too, food was very good (I had the mole enchiladas and they were bomb).
But the two things that stood out... (1) the breakfast and (2) the staff.
Breakfast was amazing. Both days were a little different served buffet style. But we also were offered cook to order items - eggs, pancakes... whatever! The cook was so sweet and the presentation of two eggs over easy was just beautiful (with a little scoop of refried beans, two tortilla wings, and some queso fresco which was mmmm good). The breakfast attendants were so on top of things - coffee, juice... even special orders (one of the kids wanted a special liquado and viola...done!
And the service - staff were so perceptive of guest needs. If I looked like I was lost, I was immediate helped. Staff went out of their way to make the hotel stay enjoyable.
I even loved the snacks that they put out ... chips, fruit... believe me the kids were amazed by it and loved to help themselves.
Overall - yes, I loved it. It was my first trip to Mexico City - and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment, for us it is a pleasure to serve you and we are very happy that our work is recognized by you, since this is for us first, thank you for sharing this experience with us and we hopefully with Much pleasure in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews