We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Great Location”
Review of Hotel Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #16 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2007

We travelled from Sydney to Mexico City and were so happy we booked this hotel for 6 nights. From check in to check out nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We had no problem with the language, our room was clean, we had a balcony with great views and there is even a filtered water tap in each room. The hotel is in walking distance of the major sights in Centro Historico and there are great places to eat and shop nearby. The travel agent at the hotel booked trips to the pyramids/shrine and Taxco for us and we had the best time-very professional. We had breakfast included and the food was delicious and authentic. If you reserve your room using their website, pay when you leave you get a 10% discount by paying in pesos.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 543 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2007

We stayed here for 6 nights while visiting our daughter. The hotel is centrally located to many of the City's sights and the staff, as others have mentioned, were outstanding.
Unless you have the ability to sleep through all kinds of noise, I would strongly advise you to ask for an interior room. We spent the first couple of nights in a room that faced the street and it was really noisy. After switching to a room facing the large interior airshaft (that sounds icky but it really wasn't -- the "view" of the street is actually less attractive than the airshaft) we were rewarded with a truly quiet nights' sleep. The staff was very pleasant and efficient about making the change for us.
The room rate included a choice of breakfasts in the restaurant that were tasty and plentiful and the coffee was great.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DevelopmentGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in Catedral.
It is a nice little place in a really convenient location.

Yes the decor was a bit outdated, but we didn't care. The rooms were spacious, bathroom large. My only comment is that the rooms could have been a bit cleaner. Complaint-- no hairdryer in the bathroom. Reception staff was really nice and helpful. After requesting in advance, we were able to check in really early in the morning. Due to some flight changes, we also had to cut our original booking by one day, which was also dealt with efficiently and with no problems.
Excellent travel agent in the lobby who was able to quickly and efficiently deal with our requests. Internet is also available in the lobby. Location is great for exploration of the city. If necessary there is also a small store nearby where you can buy some necessities.

The reception staff advised us on using other registered taxis for transfer to the a/port, which were much cheaper than the aiport ones. The hotel books the taxis for you. We took their advice and there we absolutely no hassles.

If I ever went back I would def stay at this place again..

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank banika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Very nice hotel. Great location, helpful friendly staff.
The included breakfast was very good, lots of choices. Will return here or the companies other hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blurkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Catedral for one night, prior to taking an early flight the next morning.
Although it was impossible at the time for our cab to approach the hotel any closer than the corner, due to the crowds of ambulant vendors (since removed, I read), it was only a short walk to the door. We were greeted by smiling bellhops, to whom we gladly gave our bags.
Check in took a few minutes, with a 10% discount applicable if paying in "efectivo" —cash. Service was professional.

We were escorted up to an attractive room on the 6th floor, in the center of the hotel, well away from the disco. The room had a window onto an airshft, which was fine with us, as we were there to sleep before our flight.

We went down to the bar to unwind, and had a beer and a Tequila a la bandera, at reasonable prices. We didn't try the restaurant.

The bath in the room had the aforementioned purified water tap, of which I was a bit leery, but all was well. The shower was great, with hot water at decent pressure arriving quickly. The wi-fi worked well and without interruption. The beds were comfortable.

We'd stay there again. In our more youthful travels, we'd stayed at cheaper, more "atmospheric" places, but the comfort gained now was well worth the added cost.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,476 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#35 of 312 in Mexico City
953 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#137 of 312 in Mexico City
265 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: ₹ 4,651 - ₹ 8,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing