We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Barcelo Mexico Reforma(Mexico City)
US$ 94
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 172
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 114
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 163
US$ 159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 125
US$ 96
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 630
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 345
US$ 336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 183
US$ 179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 269
US$ 213
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,468)
Filter reviews
1,468 results
Traveller rating
897
447
79
27
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
447
79
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour desktemplo mayorrooftop terraceexcellent locationmain cathedralgreat bargaintwo blockssingle roombreakfast buffetrooms are clean and comfortablehistoric centerzocalo areacentral locationtop floorhotel restaurantinternet accessno air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 1,468 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2007

We stayed here for 6 nights while visiting our daughter. The hotel is centrally located to many of the City's sights and the staff, as others have mentioned, were outstanding.
Unless you have the ability to sleep through all kinds of noise, I would strongly advise you to ask for an interior room. We spent the first couple of nights in a room that faced the street and it was really noisy. After switching to a room facing the large interior airshaft (that sounds icky but it really wasn't -- the "view" of the street is actually less attractive than the airshaft) we were rewarded with a truly quiet nights' sleep. The staff was very pleasant and efficient about making the change for us.
The room rate included a choice of breakfasts in the restaurant that were tasty and plentiful and the coffee was great.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DevelopmentGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in Catedral.
It is a nice little place in a really convenient location.

Yes the decor was a bit outdated, but we didn't care. The rooms were spacious, bathroom large. My only comment is that the rooms could have been a bit cleaner. Complaint-- no hairdryer in the bathroom. Reception staff was really nice and helpful. After requesting in advance, we were able to check in really early in the morning. Due to some flight changes, we also had to cut our original booking by one day, which was also dealt with efficiently and with no problems.
Excellent travel agent in the lobby who was able to quickly and efficiently deal with our requests. Internet is also available in the lobby. Location is great for exploration of the city. If necessary there is also a small store nearby where you can buy some necessities.

The reception staff advised us on using other registered taxis for transfer to the a/port, which were much cheaper than the aiport ones. The hotel books the taxis for you. We took their advice and there we absolutely no hassles.

If I ever went back I would def stay at this place again..

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank banika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Very nice hotel. Great location, helpful friendly staff.
The included breakfast was very good, lots of choices. Will return here or the companies other hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blurkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Catedral for one night, prior to taking an early flight the next morning.
Although it was impossible at the time for our cab to approach the hotel any closer than the corner, due to the crowds of ambulant vendors (since removed, I read), it was only a short walk to the door. We were greeted by smiling bellhops, to whom we gladly gave our bags.
Check in took a few minutes, with a 10% discount applicable if paying in "efectivo" —cash. Service was professional.

We were escorted up to an attractive room on the 6th floor, in the center of the hotel, well away from the disco. The room had a window onto an airshft, which was fine with us, as we were there to sleep before our flight.

We went down to the bar to unwind, and had a beer and a Tequila a la bandera, at reasonable prices. We didn't try the restaurant.

The bath in the room had the aforementioned purified water tap, of which I was a bit leery, but all was well. The shower was great, with hot water at decent pressure arriving quickly. The wi-fi worked well and without interruption. The beds were comfortable.

We'd stay there again. In our more youthful travels, we'd stayed at cheaper, more "atmospheric" places, but the comfort gained now was well worth the added cost.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Loved this place. We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend we met on the road. It was our very first time in Mexico City and had read all the horror stories in the guide books about how dangerous it was. We were so paranoid we literally grabbed our bags and RAN from the taxi into the lobby. Once our paranoia had subsided we relaxed and enjoyed this hotel as much as we enjoyed Mexico City. The room was spacious. The bathroom was brilliant. The staff were friendly and helpful. It really was our safe haven and we were disappointed when we couldn't get a booking on our way back through DF three weeks later. I guess that in itself is a testament to a good hotel. It's popular! It's also really close to the Zocalo which is handy.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p1ggyw1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews