We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accommodation, great city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 141 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation, great city!”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed there for five nights in October.
The room was not so spacious, but nice and clean. Had own bathroom and hot shower. Room service each day except Sunday. Nice Mexican food with freshly squeezed tropical fruit for breakfast.
Hosts were nice, David gave us a map and instructions what is advisable to visit in Mexico City. We had a lot of questions regarding the city, the people, the culture and he was very keen on answering them at the beginning but somehow I got the feeling that he got sick and tired of our questions afterwards.
When we asked for a favor (like calling the bus station for the schedule of buses to Oaxaca), he said he'd call them, but we had to remind him a couple of times. Not really a kind of a host I was expect him to be.
Sleep quality was generally good, exception was one night when guests arrived in the middle of the night and woke us up slamming the door of their room.
The living room was very pleasant, warm looking, many social games available, it was a place where you can meet other travelers and exchange experience. Coffee and tea were available all the time.
We really had a nice time there!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buketcicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmarino, Owner at Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
First of all thank you very much for your review

I just want to reply about the two lines where you talk about a poor service from me (David)
concerning the amount of questions and information, I'm always available to ANY number of questions about anything that can make your trip a pleasant and safe one. I have never got sick about any guest, ALL of you are very important for us.

About the call to ADO (buses) please remind that the call WAS NOT for schedule of buses (already told you that you had a bus to Oaxaca every hour all day long ) instead of that, you have asked me to call the reservation center and make a reservation in Spanish for you, (yes you remind me once, and I apologized for the delay) then, after I made the call to the call center, and asked for your credit card details, you told me "Im not giving my credit card details by phone to that operator" so the whole operation was cancelled.

again thank you for being our guests
kind regards

DAVID MARINO
Owner
Chillout Flat B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    58
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
158
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We spent one week at Chillout Flat in April 2011 and, should we come back to Mexico City, we would surely go back there!
Perfect location, ideal base to explore the city (Calle Bolivar, 8 - about 10 min walk to the main square). Simple, spacious, clean and quiet room, with toilet and shower. Daily room service. 24 hours reception service. Free Internet access. Excellent Mexican breakfast (every day a different recipe!!). The B&B owner, David, is a very nice guy, excellent cook, and always available to give advices and suggestions.
Considering location and service, room rate is very convenient!
Rich&Ire

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_74_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at Chillout Flat at the start and end of our trip around the south of Mexico, in August of this year. We highly recommend Chillout Flat, it's wonderful. As mentioned in many other reviews, David and Elouisa are great hosts, friendly, helpful and a great source of information. Chillout Flat is a clean, warm place, and a great place to meet other travellers. Breakfast is fantastic. The location is perfect, right in the middle of it all and very close to the Zocalo. And after a long day walking around bustling Mexico City, a 'chillout flat' is indeed exactly what this place is... some peace and quiet in a homely environment. Especiially when you're travelling with young children, this is a great place to return to at the end of a long day.

Couple of tips for Mexico City:
1) Wake up early on Sunday, rent a bicycle from the booth at the Zocalo and join the crowds of jogger and cyclists on the traffic free Paseo de la Reforma
2) Eat cheap but good local food in the great local atmosphere of Café El Popular.
3) Eat at El Café de Tacuba, just around the corner of Chillout Flat; the interior is fabulous, the waitresses are great. And most importantly, treat yourself to a selection of their incredible desserts; try the 'typical' local dessert made of corn, which they heat up and serve with vanilla ice cream... best dessert I have EVER eaten ;-)

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, really. If you're a light sleeper, you may ask for one of the rooms awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakooandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is really centrally located, less than a 10-min walk to the Zocalo. The rooms are lovely and, as stated in a previous review, they've recently installed a 2nd set of windows to soundproof things - making it pretty quiet. We stayed in a large room with ensuite & balcony (Kundalini) and the bed was super comfortable, and the room very spacious. The balcony was fantastic to stare out onto the street and just people watch. Everything went smoothly in terms of booking, directions, payment, etc. Brekkie was delicious, and David's advice was invaluable. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

David and Elouisa were fantastic hosts. The chill out flat has an excellent set up. The breakfast was delicious and varied. David gave us alot of help and advice on Mexico City. Thanks.

Room Tip: some of the rooms on the city side have a balcony but the two rooms off the hall way have a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biddy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
638 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
1,308 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
2,427 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#37 of 306 in Mexico City
839 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Bolivar Apt 101, Centro Historico 8 | Between Tacuba & 5 de Mayo Streets, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,368 - ₹ 6,737
Hotel Class:3 star — Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born right in the heart of Mexico City, and its relaunched Centro Historico, our 2 Flats are located at main Bolivar street just around the corner to the enigmatic Tacuba street. Chillout Flat is an urban oasis, a bed and breakfast with an unbeatable homely atmosphere, 7 rooms and a Mystical soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chillout Flat Bed And Breakfast
Chillout Flat Hotel Mexico City
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing