We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
29
26
16
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
26
16
15
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great base for us to explore Guanajuato. It is across the street from the Diego Rivera house and close to the main square and dozens of restaurants and bars.

It's a beautiful hotel with a lovely feel to it. We had rooms 9 and 10 for our group of 5 with enough space for luggage. The view is amazing - the rooftop terrace would have been awesome for sunset drinks overlooking the opposing hillside if it wasn't raining while we were there. The staff were also lovely and the rooms were well looked after.

The downsides were that it was noisy at night time, the shower temperatures took a bit of getting used to and the wooden bathroom doors didn't close completely - probably due to the heat from the showers. In reality, I think the downsides were outweighed by the other things the hotel has to offer.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Liiizzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Location is good. Breakfast voucher for small restaurant across street. 1/2 block from the Diego Rivera museum. 3 blocks to Union Square. A very basic hotel: room was clean, but no cups, Kleenex, etc. It was about $70. The hotel needs some TLC and could be more like some of the small hotels nearby. Close to the market, and restaurants.

Room Tip: we had no. 5. On front with a sitting/eating room also. 2 sets of double doors open to outside. One with balcony, no chairs, but nice view. It was called a single/double room. Maybe their best. This is a very basic hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is very well located and the staff is very nice. The room are pretty nice too, but there are no facilities such as restaurant, kitchen...
The only complain we like to make is that when people come in the middle of the night, nobody at the front desk tell them to be quiet, therefore they was a lot of noise during the 3 nights we were there. But that's Mexico and you have to expect that sometimes...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Great place, wonderful location, there is a coffee shop next door and a great little breakfast place across the street. The hotel is very clean, traditional and comfortable. There are a lot of stairs and no elevator, but is totally worth it. The view from our large room (room 10) was perfect and sitting in the terrace was nice. Don't expect a fancy place, it is not, but it has all the services at a great price. The only negative was parking, There is no hotel parking, but free street parking. although the parking guy was very nice, I don't understand why I have to give him my keys, he scratched one of my tires. Aside from that I'd stay there every time if I get to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We arrived in Guanajuato on March 29th with no hotel booking. My daughter left me on a park bench and set off to find a hotel....we were lucky to get one, as it was Good Friday on a holiday long weekend. She found us a room on the top floor of Hotel Real Guanajuato.

The walk to our floor took us up several steep staircases, but we were very pleased when we opened the (short) door to the room. There was a lovely mural on the wall and a comfy looking bed in an alcove.

Everything in the room was compact, including the bathroom, but we enjoyed the quaintness of the experience. A trip to the rooftop terrace gave us an amazing view of the city and the hotel was perfectly situated for us to explore great restaurants, the Diego Rivera Museum and some excellent gift shopping.

Room Tip: The higher up your room, the warmer it is!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Islander280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews